We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Country Pub and No More” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lamb Inn to your Saves list
The Lamb Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   High Street, Hindon SP3 6DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hindon B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Country Pub and No More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed one night. The staff looked extremely tired when we arrived at 4.00 pm. So the welcome lacked real warmth. The room was quirky but very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The room had all the amenities required including good quality shower gel and shampoo and tea making facilities.

The evening meal was fine. Good value for money. Posh pub food. However, there was only one staff serving and the dining room was full. We were not in a hurry which is just as well.

Breakfast was again served by the same girl. She really does work very hard. The actual cooked breakfast was good but the choice apart from that was poor. We again waited quite a while before being served and before we actually got our breakfast.

I had a high expectation of my visit after viewing the web site video. The Lamb Inn does not come up to that expectation. However, as a quirky old pub it is fine if perhaps a little expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    42
    42
    22
    12
See reviews for
27
89
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Booked via late rooms last minute. When we arrived welcome was spalling , we were told we've spoken to late rooms about this before they shouldn't have booked you in! Handled very badly and we felt a bit embarrassed. After we were about to leave manager said he could make a room up for us if we sat in the bar .
Stairs to room need vacuuming and room needed a deep clean.
As did the downstairs bar area.
However we decided to stay nice bathroom with freestanding bath, but no accessories to wash you hair!
Ate in restaurant , service very slow , painfully slow and we were told they were understaffed due to sickness. One waitress on duty did her best and worked very hard. We ordered dessert and waited over half an hour for it so we got up, left and went back to our room.
Mattress needs replacing as very uncomfortable and you could feel every spring.
Again like a previous reviewer we were awoken early morning by an intruder alarm, so obviously a reoccurring theme here !

Over all , lovely area and would be a lovely hotel with investment and attention to detail!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We are staying in a nearby b&b for a wedding and in the visitors folder was a selection of sample menus for various pubs and restaurants in the area.
We chose the Lamb as the menu looked interesting and good value, we were not disappointed.
We had my niece with us and they took her order immediately and her food arrived very quickly which was great.
All of our meals were lovely, it was very difficult to choose from the menu as everything appealed.
The staff were very friendly and the place had a lovely atmosphere.
Great value for money, sensible portion sizes, would definitely recommend.
Amazing whisky selection to if you like a tot!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I am very cynical of bad reviews written by people who have in fact done very few reviews. I always suspect their expectations are greater than their sense of reality. Most of the poor reviews of this place seem to fall into this category. You have to judge it by what it is. It is a country Inn and it is not and does not pretend to be anything else.

As such it is very good and does it very well in my view. The rooms are adequate and you are provided with everything you need including ironing board, hair dryer, tea, coffee and a great range of toilet products. The layout of the hotel is so typical of country inns with “meandering” corridors and staircases leading to more corridors but this adds to the quaintness of the building. At full price, around £120 for a normal room, it may be reaching its limit but the average cost seems to be around £90 and this is very good value. The restaurant has a sensible menu, what you would expect from an Inn restaurant and sensibly priced. The service and attention could not be faulted and at £111 for a nights stay, pre- meal drinks and a meal for two, I think that was great value. You could do it cheaper too. If you need a place to “stop over” you will be well served by these people.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at the Lamb Inn for one night in March 2014. We travelled with our dog who was very welcome at the Inn. We stayed in a suite room, which was lovely. The rooms aren't luxurious, but they are well decorated and clean. We also ate dinner, which I had high expectations for since the Lamb Inn is owned by Boisedale, but found a bit disappointing compared to the food at Boisdale locations in London. Good food, but not great.
The staff were absolutely wonderful; very accommodating and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I visited today with a friend for coffee then lunch. Due to the inclement spring weather outside we chose to sit by the open fire. This inn has two and both were lit, giving a really comfy and welcoming feeling. Our lunch was well presented, tasty and a good portion & very reasonably priced. The service was friendly and efficient but not intrusive. I have stayed at this hotel earlier in the year and enjoyed my stay, not having any issues with the room. What I think is interesting about staying at the Lamb is that because it is such an old building each bedroom has it's own identity. Looking forward to my next visit, when the weather is warmer to sit outside and enjoy this lovely village.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

This website shows these wonderful chic bedrooms with fabulously modern decor .......oh really . On arrival we were ushered to our allotted room ...where was the chic tartan you are lured by and promised ,instead we were given a rather lacklustre dull room with the addition of a broken headboard ,hair on the bathroom floor ,dusty furniture and in the corner was a massive cobweb complete with occupants .a glass of dry White was needed to decide what the plan of action was .......move or stay .I played it down and we were moved to an outside addition ,obviously a 'spare' room .Was it of the tartan variety ? Yes ...quirky? Yes .... Small? Yes......grubby? Yes.... Damp? Yes . A huge puddle formed in a hallway at the base of the stairs leading up to the room ........ I did say quirky !!
On the plus side the staff are delightful and the restaurant is good but don't be tempted by those fab upmarket rooms ....... What fab upmarket rooms ????
I think some care to attention is needed ,a jolly good clean and then maybe it will retain it's obvious former glory

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Address: High Street, Hindon SP3 6DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Hindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamb Inn is a 12th century coaching inn nestled in the beautiful village of Hindon. Inglenook fireplaces, wooden beams all add to the ambience of this gastro pub famous for its good food in our rosette awarded restaurant. We also have a whisky and cigar bar offering a wide selection of good quality wines, beers, whisky’s and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Hindon
The Lamb Inn Hindon, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lamb Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.