We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Days in Devizes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Hotel Market Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bear Hotel Market Place to your Saves list
The Bear Hotel Market Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Market Place, Devizes SN10 1HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Devizes
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“2 Days in Devizes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had a KGB seal for 2 nights bed & Breakfast. The Bear is a lovely old hotel centrally situated on the Market Place. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had room 11 during the warm weather at the end of June, the room and bathroom was very clean and well equipped but was very warm day and night, if the window was opened you could hear a very loud extractor fan not far from the window which was switched on before 6AM, there was another extractor in the beer garden which spoilt the area, the fans were only switched off after 9PM. The breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice,but the evening meals were pricy, battered fish and chips at £13.95 is a bit much, but just further along the road is an excellent fish & chip shop where we dined at £6.10 per meal. Also there is a Wetherspoon pub about 2 mins away.
We did the Wadworth brewery tour which was very good especially the samples after.

Room Tip: Don't have room 11 in warm weather or if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    79
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
21
107
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

In the town centre (opposite the car park that becomes the town's market on a Thursday) stands The Bear Hotel. Once a Coaching Inn it still retains its old world charm.
After a long day visiting nearby Avebury and the surrounding archaeological treasures we checked in and headed up an old wooden circular staircase, along passage ways with different floor levels to our room. One of 25. A clean modern affair with en suite bath and shower but still retaining black beams and a sloping floor. It was good to see that the management still left packed biscuits by the electric kettle instead of cutting out this consideration to save costs.
That evening we dined in the "tongue in cheek" Bear Grills Bistro. Our order was reasonably priced, came in large portions and was served by friendly staff.
After a good night's sleep our breakfast was how hotel breakfasts should be. Attentive waitress service with food ordered at the table and brought hot to the table! There was no making your own toast and serving yourself from supposedly hot (but often luke warm) catering trays which are now becoming the norm in hotels these days. People staying in hotels are guests and should be treated as such!
Our brief stay at The Bear Hotel was a welcome break (on one of the hottest days of the year). We felt like guests and were treated like guests and I would certainly recommend the hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I spent last night at the Bear Hotel. Good if you like old places, sloping floors.. very much olld England.
my room overlooked.......a roof such that i could not open the windows more than a fraction.... very hot all night not much sleep
Breakfast was not the best. not rushing back.

Room Tip: NOT rooms on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Me and my parents decided to stay at The Bear due to an online offer giving a significant discount.

The hotel room was spacious, beds were comfortable, the bathroom was very clean and again large. The dining area was large and a full English breakfast was available. Also on site were a restaurant and two bar areas.

The staff were courteous and polite, and the restaurant was right in the middle of the town. We were fortunate to be present for the annual carnival which finished directly outside the hotel.

The only small downside is that the rear car park is small and it was difficult to find a space. That being said I think this was exacerbated by the carnival fun-fare using the car park outside the front of the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed at The Bear in June via a groupon deal. Very pleased with our room and the staff were all very polite and helpful. The breakfast was ideal. The hotel location in the centre of the town was great and having the on site parking was really good.
We would stay at this hotel again as every thing about our stay was great. Well done all the staff at the Bear hotel :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have stayed at The Bear regularly over the past two years. The Reception staff are all helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is great, the waitresses are very efficient and kind; they help to get the day off to a good start. Dinner in the Bistro or Bar area is good and staff are happy to recommend a choice from the menu. The Hotel is full of character, rooms are always clean and the large fluffy bath towels lovely. I enjoy my stays here and never feel lonely in this friendly hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed here on business for one night at the end of May, upon arrival I asked for a quiet room and was given a single in the middle of the hotel and it was indeed quiet, I booked a double but quiet was more important to me. I actually locked myself out of the room within 10 minutes of arriving and the receptionist was very polite when she had to go up and open it again for me.

I ate in the resturant and was impressed by the quality of the food and of course the local beer that had travelled from just up the road.

The room was a bit wonky as were the floors, but that is what you expect in a build of this age.

I found my stay to be very good and I've spent lots more money on poorer service.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bear Hotel Market Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel Market Place

Address: The Market Place, Devizes SN10 1HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel Market Place 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bear Hotel in Devizes you will find open fires, Cosy bar areas, friendly staff, tasty food and beautiful rooms. We currently offer Bed & Breakfast as standard but also offer a Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bear Hotel Market Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Devizes
The Bear Hotel Market Place Devizes, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Hotel Market Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.