We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steeped in history, superb service, and no ghosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear Hotel Market Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bear Hotel Market Place to your Saves list
The Bear Hotel Market Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Market Place, Devizes SN10 1HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Devizes
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Steeped in history, superb service, and no ghosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We recently attended a family tree reunion at The Bear in the old Market Town of Devizes. The hotel was cleverly sourced by the organisers for it's history, location and superb food and service. The reunion included relations from the USA and Canada who would appreciate seeing something with real English character and a past. The locally sourced food in the award winning Lambton Restaurant was 1st class as was the service. There is ample parking nearby although very few spaces on site.

The hotel predates 1559, and has a 14th century drinks cellar, where the Dray horses deliver Wadworth beer on a daily basis. It is said that Judge Jeffreys, King George III and Queen Charlotte stayed here, as did the many merchants and stagecoaches choosing to travel through Devizes to miss the attentions of the Highwaymen. The aura and character are apparent as soon as you step through the doors and into the Bear Grills Bistro. The hotel is quite expensive but worth the money for a special occasion. We did not stay overnight, but those who did said that they really enjoyed the experience and nothing went bump in the night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    79
    23
    12
    10
See reviews for
21
106
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked The Bear for a large family reunion last weekend. Everyone who attended had nothing but praise for the hotel, the food and the staff. We were well looked after and the day went off without a hitch. I didn't stay overnight (sadly the room rates are a little outside of my budget) but we received excellent value for money for our lunch in the Lambton Restaurant and private hire of the lounges. Would thoroughly recommend the venue to others planning a similar event.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at The Bear from 29 September to 1 October, primarily to attend a family reunion lunch in the Lambtons Restaurant on the 29th. Pre-lunch and apres-lunch coffee was served. In the late afternoon pots of tea were ordered. With others, I had a snack and drinks in the bar on the 29th and drinks in the bar on the 30th. I cannot fault the Bear other than a minor niggle, that one needed tenacity and time to tune into the television in the room.
The staff, without exception, were very pleasant and helpful and my single en-suite room was very comfortable. The meals, both at breakfast and the lunch, was superb.
The Bear is not cheap...but, to me, was good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have to compliment the Bear management on their wonderful staff. I arrived at the hotel after a very long walk from Newbury. Jen , at reception was fabulous and managed to find me a room to rest and recuperate . The dinner restored my spirits and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A very cute hotel room but it is expensive even for the cheapest room rate. The breakfast was lovely and staff were helpful. We did find the room to be very clean. It is in a great location. I'd like to try an evening meal next time we go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The price of rooms in this hotel is a little high as it could do with a bit of upgrading in parts. However, the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was superb. Our room at the front was a little noisy as boisterous youngsters tend to congregate in the square at night. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were married in the Bear Hotel in July and can't compliment the staff and the hotel enough. Paul and his colleagues looked after us brilliantly - anticipated everything we could have wanted, and did it all subtly, professionally, and with great humour. We were able to put our own "stamp" on the day in a way that probably wouldn't have been achievable elsewhere - nothing was too much trouble. The food at Lambton's was top notch - including the full English breakfast! - and the hotel's pub is full of charm and character. We stayed in one of the four poster rooms, which overlooked the Market Place - big, comfortable, and very well-appointed. The Ballroom is a smashing function room - bright and spacious, with its own entrance directly from the car park. All in all, I can't think of a thing that could have been improved on!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bear Hotel Market Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel Market Place

Address: The Market Place, Devizes SN10 1HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel Market Place 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bear Hotel in Devizes you will find open fires, Cosy bar areas, friendly staff, tasty food and beautiful rooms. We currently offer Bed & Breakfast as standard but also offer a Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bear Hotel Market Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Devizes
The Bear Hotel Market Place Devizes, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear Hotel Market Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.