We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caen Hill Locks

Caen Hill Locks
Avon Road, Devizes SN10 1PR , England
+44 (0)1452 318000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 attractions in Devizes
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Crowborough, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I visited Caen hill locks for the second time in May,my previous visit being in 2012. It is a really interesting place to stroll along the canal side watching and chatting to the Canal boat pilots negotiating the locks. Go on a sunny summers day and its even better.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    54
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

While away the hours watching the boats navigate the miriad locks in this relaxed and pleasant canal. Delicious milkshakes and ice cream are available at the Cafe at the top of the run of locks. The perfect location for a stroll.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“thought I was gonna die”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Cycling down it last August and loved it-cycled up it in April and didnt love it soo much!!!! But it was still great. felt so proud that I did it without stopping considering I passed people a lot younger than me walking with their bikes...... come on.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A rewarding slog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I'd seen photos of this run of locks a few years ago, and while the Avon-and-Kennet boaters map showed a large number of locks at Devizes, I had no idea this was the run from the photos. So on arrival, looking up Caen Hill, there was a bit of an "Oh, $h1t!" moment.

But you know what? It was a rewarding day! Once the volunteers found us, they helped set the locks (which means to raise or lower the water in the lock chamber so the boat can enter), and we were averaging 10 to 12 minutes per lock. Lots of tourists—it was a sunny bank holiday—pitched in by opening and closing the lock gates, and we gave some rides to a few families with children, the whole 100 feet from one lock to the next, which is thrilling for kids when entering an empty lock chamber. Once the whole thing was behind us—and I mean the WHOLE thing, because these canal maps tend to name one run of locks and neglect to mention that there's a half-dozen locks immediately before and another seven or so immediately after—we didn't want to cook on board.

Lucky decision for us! We had an excellent dinner at The Bear Hotel in Devizes, where their Bistro restaurant has an amazingly varied menu, delicious gourmet food at reasonable prices, with great service, all only a few hundred meters from the very last lock, so right at the centre of Devizes. If you don't want a whole meal, the café (a.k.a. pub) on the Hill itself was busy, though we didn't visit it because we had lots/locks to do.

If you're visiting on foot and there's a boat going up or down, by all means ask if you can help with the gates or the paddles. Ask for instructions before using a windlass on the paddles, but it's not rocket science—literally—as this technology predates the railroad. It's a great experience to operate parts of a lock and, believe me, a helping hand will be appreciated.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Caen Hill Locks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Definitely worth a visit if in the area. They are easy to get to and have paid parking - pay by phone. It is fascinating to watch narrow boats making their way up or down the locks, which are all hand operated. The surrounding area is beautiful with a lot of birdlife, even a pair of nesting swans and a heron. The little tea room on site serves the usual light meals and drinks.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caen Hill Locks also viewed

 

Been to Caen Hill Locks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caen Hill Locks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Caen Hill Locks to your Saves list