We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like beer , you'll like this :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wadworth Visitor Centre and Brewery

Wadworth Visitor Centre and Brewery
New Park Street, Devizes SN10 1JW, England
01380 732277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Devizes
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“If you like beer , you'll like this :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We took friends here , for brewery tour and lunch. Facsinating tour with lots of climbing, visit sign writing of the pub signs and visit to the Shire horses.The new visitors centre is where you sample the different brews all part of the adventure. The lunch at the Crown was very good too. Good value for money with or without lunch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“MESSAGE IN A BOTTLE (AND CASK)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The centre (and shop) is small but is cleverly laid out and has some interesting facts about the brewery and the beers. Entry is free. You can also buy their beers and memorabilia. If you book in advance there is the option of a brewery trip (at nominal cost) around this historic structure including meeting the shire horses that pull the dray and a beer tasting to follow. Nearby is the Devizes Wharf and buildings which houseswhich has a cafe, canal museum and amateur theatre.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I booked the tour as part of a gift to my hisband. We booked in put on our hight viz jackets and started the tour. You need to climb some very steep stairs but the yummy smell of beer is with you. We were shown the old and new parts of building and with our guide Thalitha were told about the huge amount of history. Part one started in the visitors centre giving some back ground on how it all started and the fact that this is still owned by family. The 2nd part of the tour was visiting the sign department. I had always thought that they were all made up using stickers but there are painted by hand. Very interesting and nice to meet the workers. The 3rd part was meeting the shire horse that are still working and delivering beer in the area. beautiful and huge. Last part was the tasting the different beer on tap. It was well worth the cost.

The visitors centre does have a number of items for sale but we thought the prices were reasonable

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Try somewere else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The tour was made on a non working day
So we were looking at an empty pactory with no one working, no process is doen, no beer is brewed, nothing to see
at the end we went to see the local horses, there were just one left
Sprouting process of malting and roasting is not done in place and all can see only part of the process
Everything you see is the girl speakink and everything is theoretical
If you are interested in a brewery tour - look for another place

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“fantastic and great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just returned from a delightful tour of the is traditional English brewery. Very interesting - funny and knowledgeable guide - we saw all the brewing process and then the sign writing sections for the Wadworth pubs - what works of art! The 3 shore horses were lovely and it was amazing to meet them. The tutored beer tasting was wonderful of course - a one third glass at time but as many as you can manage! Highly recommended! Only 8 50 each for us over 60s too!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wadworth Visitor Centre and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Wadworth Visitor Centre and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wadworth Visitor Centre and Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.