We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth A Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wadworth Visitor Centre and Brewery

Wadworth Visitor Centre and Brewery
New Park Street, Devizes SN10 1JW, England
01380 732277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Devizes
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We took the 2.5 hour tour and tasting at £10 each for adults.

If you get the chance to do this it's well worth it to learn about a traditional historic brewery in action but also the addition of modern technique and equipment.

The visit to the signwriting workshop was really interesting too and it's lovely to meet those shire horses that are so full of character and personality.

Would have liked to seen the cooperage on our trip but that was closed to the public at the particular time we visited.

The only slight disappointment for me is the beers themselves, we tasted 5 beers that were all a bit bland and fairly indistinguishable from each other, about time Wadworths started brewing for the current population that demands a bit of flavour in their beer, my opinion of course!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Support Your Local Brewery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The visitor centre has the full range of Wadworth's products available and often has good deals on multiple purchases so you can try a variety of beers at your leisure. I think it's all good but I like to try new as well as my favourites. I haven't been round the brewery itself but aim to in the future.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Get someone else to drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Interesting because of different aspect including dray horses and sign writing plus the brewing side. Tasting is included in the price.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you are interested in the long view of brewing beer, this is a must. After the tour and several tastes of the brew, there is an opportunity to sample even more. Fun!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
195 attraction reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
657 helpful votes 657 helpful votes
“Tour a 21st century brewhouse in a red brick Victorian brewery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

As an avid fan of the local 6X ale, I had always wanted a tour of the brewery and I got the chance a little while ago. We met in the Visitor Centre which gives a fascinating insight of the old pubs of Devizes, most of whom brewed on the premises, and how, one by one, they were acquired by Wadworth's as they expanded their empire. The building is of Victorian origin and is the most recognisable building in the town, standing as it does on the site of the old town's north gate.

Wadworth's is a "tower" brewery, meaning that the brewing process begins at the top of the building, and gravity is used to convey the brew to the next stage below. A new high tech brewhouse has recently been installed, yet the wonderful old building was built so well, that no strengthening or reinforcing work was required to support the vast and heavy new vessels. One point which has been raised is that some of the steps are exceptionally narrow and steep and there's every opportunity to bang your head, even if you're not overly tall, so do take notice of what the guide tells you or you could be nursing some bruises the next day.

The cooper's workshop was also on the agenda, Wadworth's employ one of only 3 or 4 master coopers left in the country and it's his job to hand make and repair the wooden casks that are a prominent feature of many Wadworth's pubs.

I found it a fascinating and interesting tour, with our knowledgeable guide who knew every nook and crannie of the building. We also descended to the dark depths of the brewery to it's well, which is unfortunately unusable after it was contaminated by chemicals from the now closed adjacent gasworks.

Across the road are the stables where the shire horses are kept, along with the ornate drays that are a familiar sight around the town, where they are used to deliver beer, wines and spirits.

And of course, the best bit, the tasting of the ales back in the Visitor Centre, no doubt the highlight certainly for the male visitors if not the ladies too. Several ales were available including 6X, Henry's, Swordfish, and Horizon and all, as you would expect, were served in tip top condition.

A great way to spend 2-3 hours and excellent value for money.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wadworth Visitor Centre and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Wadworth Visitor Centre and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wadworth Visitor Centre and Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.