We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely secluded and romantic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rectory Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crudwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rectory Hotel
Save
You added Rectory Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Crudwell SN16 9EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Crudwell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“lovely secluded and romantic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

I think the Rectory is a recent refurbishment and rebranding of a previous establishment. It's been done in the modern, chic style that would be familiar to readers of the Mr & Mrs Smith guides.

The shared areas of the hotel are beautifully designed without feeling overdone. You can play boules in the large garden at the back and there's a swimming pool for residents' use only.

Breakfast - excellent - is in the restaurant, as of course is dinner if you choose to eat in the hotel. If not, the only other choice in Crudwell is the Potting Shed pub which is also a recent refurb and is run by the owners of the hotel. In fact you can have your bill from the pub added to your hotel bill which is quite convenient.

Our bedroom was nice with a lovely view across the garden and the church (for which this was once of course the rectory). I would say that the standard of decoration while perfectly acceptable was not quite of the highest level you might expect in a top-end boutique hotel. But then again, nor are the prices. There was a radio with iPod dock on the bedside table, which is a nice touch.

  • Liked — beautiful garden
  • Disliked — there are few amenities in Crudwell
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    43
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
108
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

My husband, myself and our two sons age 5 and 2 have just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at The Rectory. I took my husband for his birthday and figured we would stay there for 2 nights rather than just one night at Babington House for the same price. The Rectory is cosy yet modern and the rooms spacious. We stayed in 2 different rooms and actually preferred our second, cheaper room to the first as it was in the eves and was airy and bright. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food of a surprisingly high standard with all produce locally sourced. Our children were made to feel welcome with the chef cooking their dinner specially for them both nights. They enjoyed running around the gardens, playing the hotels board games and watching the borrowed DVDs. We had a lovely day out to the Abotoreum nearby. My only fault with the hotel was that some of the rooms could do with a lick of paint and some attention, particularly the ceilings and window ledges and some peeling wallpaper. There were also an unusually excessive amount of flies around the restaurant and in the bedrooms. Otherwise though it was very clean. For just over £500 for a family of 4 for 2 nights including an excellent breakfast and dinner I think this hotel is great value for a relaxing break and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Liked — Location, comfort, good food
  • Disliked — Rooms could do with some attention
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We spent a rainy but enjoyable bank holiday weekend stopping at The Rectory with our 5 month old son. The hotel is stylishly decorated and the service was excellent - attentive but informal. The staff were very accomodating with our baby and provided a travel cot free of charge and baby monitor to allow us to dine in the hotel restaurant. The food at both the hotel restaurant and The Potting Shed pub over the road (owned by the same people) was exceptional and great value. We enjoyed some fanatastic wines even though we stuck to the lower priced end of the wine list. The location was great for visiting some of the nearby Cotswolds towns/ villages such as Malmesbury, Tetbury and Cirencester. Looking forward to going back already, next time hoping for some better weather so we can dine al fresco in the gardens and take a dip in the outdoor pool.

  • Liked — Decor and the food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

The Rectory Hotel is absolutely gorgeous and perfect for a very relaxing break. The staff are very friendly but give you your space and you at no point feel crowded. The sudeley room was large with a huge bed and lovely bathroom supplied with Arran Aromatics products.

There is lots to do in the surrounding areas and the hotel has a huge amount of leaflets and are more than happy to advise on the local attractions.

It is also lovely though to sit in the gardens playing the board games they have in stock and flicking through their magazines.

My one dissapointment with the hotel is that during our stay the heated pool (one of the main reasons for booking) was not working and we were not advised of this until we went to have a look and found it to be freezing. Given we had the huge luck on going on some very warm days it was a real shame to not be able to use the pool.

Overall however I loved our stay.

  • Liked — The location, decor and views
  • Disliked — The pool not being in working order
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2008

One of the loveliest hotels I have stayed in. We went for a three night break during very wet weather. It didn't matter that the weather was so awful because the hotel was so comfortable.

Everything about the hotel is special - the room was wonderful, the whole hotel a mixture of antique and contempory. This is the first hotel bathroom I have come across in a long time where I wished to have a long soak in the bath. No cheap bathroom soap and shampoo here - wonderful products were supplied and lovely fluffy bath robes.

The food was wonderful, the breakfast choice was amazing and all fresh. The dinner would rival some of the best London resturants. The pub across the road belongs to the hotel - the food there is equally brilliant.

Normally for me the let down tends to be the staff - but not here. They were very friendly and helpful - so friendly we joined them for a drink in the pub one night. We hope to go back for Christmas. A perfect romantic break which would be great any time of the year.

  • Liked — The room, the food, the staff.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a 2-night stay at The Rectory. We had such a great time - completely relaxing, friendly and comfortable. The hotel itself is really chilled with stylish decor and all within easy reach of Bath and several sights. We ate at the hotel on Friday evening and had a great meal in a beautiful and intimate setting. The breakfasts were superb and the staff young and professional. We were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and are already talking about returning with friends - it would make a fantastic place for a house party. Very reasonable rates for the quality of service and venue.

  • Liked — Fabulous roomy room
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Rectory Hotel at their weekday discount rate. We were extremely impressed by the hotel, especially by the value for money. The hotel compared favourably to the Barnsley House Hotel, yet for a third of the cost.

The rooms were beautifully decorated, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Despite booking the cheapest room, we were upgraded to a lovely spacious room overlooking the gardens.

We spent some time in the lounge reading the magazines that were available, before having dinner. The Rectory uses all locally sourced produce, and the overall cost for dinner was very reasonable. After dinner we spent a pleasant hour in their bar, which was cosy and comfortable.

All in all, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Liked — Value for Money; Food; Wine
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rectory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rectory Hotel

Address: Crudwell SN16 9EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Crudwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crudwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Rectory Hotel Crudwell, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rectory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.