We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   M4, Exit 17 | The Street, Crudwell SN16 9EW, England (Formerly Mayfield House Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crudwell
GreenLeadersSilver level
hampshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Good Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

In the area on business, we found a deal at this hotel on Travelzoo. As far as the deal was concerned, it was excellent value. The hotel was welcoming, spotlessly clean and we found the food to be very good indeed. The staff were very nice and the service at mealtimes was good.

Unfortunately upon arrival (on a very cold day) our room was cold and the heating didn't appear to be on. The management were very pro-active, supplying us with an additional fire and doing their best to get the radiators to work, which eventually they did. But I have to say that after a long journey, one does expect to be shown to a room that is warm and cosy. I would have thought that staff should check the rooms that have been reserved, prior to arrival by guests, just to make sure that all is well - particularly in an old building where perhaps things do not always work as efficiently as they should.

Our bathroom was extremely clean and well-fitted but the shower was weak. As we had paid for an upgraded room, I would at least have expected it to have either a bath or a power-shower. The bathroom also had two steps leading down to it. No problem for us, but perhaps a handrail should have been fitted for use by elderly persons who may occupy the room, or for a family with a small child who may occupy the additional bed that was in the room.

All in all though it was a pleasant and relaxing stay, but I don't think I would have wanted to pay the full price for the room we had.

Room Tip: Difficult to comment because I didn't see any of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    112
    28
    16
    6
See reviews for
54
189
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Farnham
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just wanted to get away for a couple of nights and we came across this small but wonderful hotel when we were searching for somewhere to stay in the Cotswolds.
What a find, a very pleasant and spotlessly clean hotel on Crudwell.
We arrived early afternoon afternoon and received a warm welcome from reception, the proprietor and manager.
We were escorted up to our room, room 11 a beautiful room, huge bed and enjoying a superb view over the countryside.
We chose to eat in and were glad that we did.
Dinner was amazing, hot, tasty, well presented and I am told using fresh herbs and vegetables from the hotel gardens.
My wife said her banana bread and butter pudding with banoffie ice cream was the beast she had ever had.
After a good nights sleep we enjoyed an excellent English breakfast before moving on to our next destination.
This was our first but certainly not our last .
What a fantastic find.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

6 of us went for Sunday lunch; aged between 4 and 67. We had the 3 courses for £15.95 and to be honest for that money we were expecting pretty average fare. How WRONG could we be?! There were four starters to choose from and I had the smoked salmon and prawns accompanied by brown olive bread and white tomato bread (they offered the bread basket twice without prompting too); both were very good. My mum and my daughter had the chicken liver pate with cider chutney and as there wasn't any left on either of their plates, I'll hazard a guess and say it was good! For mains we had a choice of beef, pork, hake or the veggie option and all of us took the beef option, with our 4 year old opting for the locally sourced Gloucester Old Spot sausages with peas and chips (he could have had bean, new potatoes or salad - a nice alternatively from what's usually on offer for the under 12's). Our mains arrived; two huge, thick slices of beef with a beautifully risen, homemade yorkshire pudding and gravy. We all thought the beef was cooked to perfection, although it was a little too rare for my 21 year old student daughter who is almost a vegetarian! Plenty of chantilly carrots, broccoli and leeks with roast potatoes accompanied the meat; the potatoes weren't the best I've ever eaten but none were left! We asked for extra gravy and the delightful waitresses were keen to please - the sauces were brought to the table on a platter and served by the waitress. I really didn't have room for dessert but as we were left for a few moments at the end of the main course, I found a space for one of the surprisingly varied desserts on offer - the blackberry and strawberry eton mess was yummy. Two of our party had the chocolate brownie with honey and ginger ice cream and another had the cheese board; all were met with a round of mmmm's and ahh's reminiscent of 'The Royal Family'! The under 12's dessert options were a small portion of what was available on the adult menu and my boy opted for the ice cream served in a brandy basket. The surroundings were clean, nicely decorated and the temperature of the room was spot-on. We had enough space on the table and around us to enable my four year old to play with his train on the floor without bothering other people (or indeed the waitresses), all the staff we met were polite of course, but even more importantly, actually gave the impression they enjoyed their work (not always obvious with young people regrettably), didn't pester us every two minutes neither did they leave us for ages between courses. We will definitely be visiting this establishment again and my mum and step-dad are planning to go back for an over-night stay! This hotel welcomes dogs although, and I'm being very honest here, I would never have known from my visit today ... the place was spotless (even the ladies, which I would guess were last refurbished around the mid 80's - the avocado coloured toilet suite almost had me looking around for Boy George!). This place is an absolute must for Sunday lunch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I arrived with 2 friends and we were greeted most warmly and soon shown to our rooms, both of which were very comfortable. Although we were only staying from Monday until Thursday we were treated as though we were there for eternity. All the staff were very pleasant, helpful and courteous. The food was excellent and service first class. Considering that the Hotel is not in a prime city location I felt that overall this was a first class and well run business and am sure we will return. A most enjoyable few day's. Thank you to both management and staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and i have been going to the Mayfield for nearly 20 years and have to say it is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. The staff are very friendly, helpful and extremely pleasant. The breakfast and dinner is second to none and i have never had a bad meal since we first started visiting. We first visited when it was privately owned and must admit when it changed into a Best Western did have my doubts because of it being a chain, but, my concerns were unfounded as the standard of the rooms, food and friendliness did not change, they still maintained the same standards as before .
This is my favourite place to stay, the rooms are always nice and clean and have all the amenities one could want and if it hasn't you just have to ask at the reception and they are always happy to help. I cannont recommend this hotel enough. How they do the offers they do is beyond me because the food is that of a high end restaurant.
The place it is situated in is very pretty location and nice walks can be had.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough because no amount of writing about it comes near to the experience of this lovely hotel, we try to get there at least twice a year and more if possible.
I have recommend this hotel to family and friends and all have been delighted.

Room Tip: I also have never had a bad room, therefore cannot recommend one in particular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attentive4, Owner at BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely, kind words ......... these spur us on in these "tougher" times!

One point of clarifty - we are STILL PRIVATELY Owned and Operated , being part of Best Western just means we adopt their high standards and great marketing !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

What a find! Extremely warm welcome for ourselves and our dogs! Reception were a joy to deal with as were all the staff. Room was surprisingly large, warm, spotless and very comfortable. Sadly, we could only stay one night on this occasion, but we'll definitely return. And soon. Also, The restaurant was excellent with delicious food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

we arrived at the mayfield in january when heavy snow fall was all around ,the receptionist made us very welcome ,our room was very comfortable all the staff were nice and jolly this is one of the pleasures of going to a private hotel just that little personal touch .we stayed for three night and enjoyed it so much we will definatly be using the mayfield again .this hotel is dog friendly we will take jet next time ,the country location is ideal for walking a dog . the breakfast menu had plenty to choose from and i must say very tasty .we had friends come to visit us on the sunday night and all enjoyed a cosy night in the lounge bar on comfy sofas and a little alcohol ,and very nice was the booze .i would recomend this hotel jsut perfect no faults .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel

Address: M4, Exit 17 | The Street, Crudwell SN16 9EW, England (Formerly Mayfield House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Crudwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crudwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our small family run Cotswold hotel set amidst beautiful countryside in the South Cotswolds, just 10 minutes from the M4 and so easily accessible. It’s the perfect spot to relax, unwind and explore... we're in the Tetbury, Malmesbury, Cirencester triangle! We offer 28 3 star en-suite rooms including Family, Disabled and Dog Friendly accommodation. Our AA Rosette restaurant serves beautifully cooked, locally sourced fare - a comfortable lounge & bar serves wines from Tetbury and Bath and real ale from Uley complimenting the offer in a warm, friendly and service-orientated environment. Assessed by Visit Britain gaining Walkers, Cyclists, Pets and Families Welcome, Breakfast Award and Disability level 1 and 2 for Disabled friendly rooms. Our hotel has been awarded a Green Tourism SILVER award reflecting our commitment to these Glorious Cotswolds!! A great location for exploring the delights of the ancient towns of Malmesbury and Royal Tetbury and the National Arboretum at Westonbirt and the glorious South Cotswold's area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmesbury
Best Western Mayfield Hotel
Best Western Crudwell
Crudwell Best Western
BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel Crudwell, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.