We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Combe Village

Castle Combe Village
Off the M4, Castle Combe SN14 7HX, England
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
Attraction details
Upham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

lovely tranquil place with beautiful buildings and lovely walks.Stayed at the castle inn right in the middle of the village.Super food and accommodation and ideal base to explore National Trust houses at Avebury and Lacock.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    68
    13
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mead Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

We rented Mead Cottage in Castle Coombe which I believe is only one of two cottages not owned by The Manor House Hotel. I have to say that the quality of the cottage is exceptional. Log fire and a wood burner with comfy sofas and contemporary furnishings. Two roll top baths, one in the main bedroom, and a fantastic walk in shower. Free wifi, flat screen TVs and iPod docking station. Every kitchen implement you could imagine but not really needed as two fantastic pubs within a stones throw from the cottage. Beautiful location and so peaceful. We cannot recommend this cottage enough and just hope that it doesn't mean that we can't get a future booking due to our little secret slice of paradise being revealed!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

What a stunning little place. We visited with two Elderly relatives and a young baby. and this village was just enough to walk around have a quick drink walk back and go home.
Lovely for a short Visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

A small but perfect english village, lovely to walk around with two pubs and a tea shop. No parking in the village but ample parking nearby

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Britain in a bygone age”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Idyllic Cotswolds village with a quaint centre. Lovely old church to explore. Manor Hotel is worth a visit on its own. Golf course has a good reputation. For the motor racing enthusiast, there is a driving circuit. Bath is within easy driving distance.Although it is a little hilly around the village, the walkers could conduct interesting hikes , when the weather improves.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Combe Village also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Tetbury, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Berkeley, Cotswolds
 

Been to Castle Combe Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Combe Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.