We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely comfortable and friendly stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Castle Inn Hotel to your Saves list
The Castle Inn Hotel
Market Cross, Castle Combe SN14 7HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Castle Combe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable and friendly stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The room, location, lounge, restaurant, and staff -- everything was beautiful, comfy, and peaceful. Enjoyed the time here. We got here from Chippenham by taxi (costed £20 incl. tip) but we will try going back in a bus. On Monday, the bus comes right in front of the hotel at 12:30, 2:39, & 4:47.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    84
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
42
211
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Castle Inn a few days ago as a pre-Christmas treat to ourselves. We booked one of their special dinner, bed & breakfast packages - a "luxurious romantic break". It was too. They offer a free room upgrade as part of that package, if one is available. Happily it was, so we had a lovely room with a view over the market square, a splendid four poster bed and a huge, well appointed, bathroom. Also included was champagne cooling in an ice bucket and truffle chocolates, which were waiting for us in our room. Dinner was superb, as was breakfast. The staff were excellent, being both friendly and efficient. We loved the whole experience and will do it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a really lovely time at the Castle Inn last weekend. On arrival the lovely receptionist showed us to our room which was beautiful, 4 post bed and a large bathroom with a nice bath, was very rustic and original. Our room was actually upgraded from the one we booked, which was just lovely.

We went for a little walk around the tiny village and then had a meal back at the hotel, I would HIGHLY recommend the shoulder of pork which was just incredible. The rest of the food was also really good, however it wasn't on the cheap side, but it wasn't exactly overpriced for a hotel restaurant. We had a few drinks after by one of the fireplaces (there are 2 working ones) which felt christmasy and very relaxing.

The staff were really nice and welcoming and made our stay even better. I would really recommend this place if you fancy a very quiet weekend away and you enjoy long walks. We will be coming back in the summer to explore more of the stunning surrounding areas and relaxing in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Visited the Castle Inn after a walk in the surrounding area for Sunday lunch.

Once seated it took a while for a waiter to get our drinks order and give us a menu. Once he had another waiter came up to ask the same thing, I think there was a bit of miscommunication. It took a while for drinks to arrive and then after that we had to prompt someone to take our food order.

The food was slow in arriving and I wasn't bowled over by it. The beef tasted like it had been in the freezer for quite a while, the veggies were fine and the gravy too. But overall I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Perhaps not the cosiest of surroundings but the menu choices were good and the quality, quantity and serving of food was first class - especially for the money. Wine selection was adequate and the draught bitter very nicely kept

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed over on a Sunday evening using a Groupon voucher after a day exploring the local area taking in Lacock Abbey and then enjoying a stroll around Castle Combe, a beautiful quaint village. We received a warm welcome from the young lady on reception and although parking was a bit of an issue we did manage to get a space just up on the hill. We were shown to room No 9 and were not disappointed, beautiful furniture and an extremely comfy bed. The fixtures and fittings in the room were to a high standard, fluffy bath robes were definitely an added bonus. Dinner I have to admit for me was a little disappointing, I had the mascapone and butternut squash lasagne and wouldn't recommend it but the breakfast the next morning was excellent. The staff and service throughout the short stay were fabulous and we will definitely be coming back to re-charge our batteries again soon.

Room Tip: Room 9 is located at the top of a small steep staircase so may prove difficult for those with limite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed during the last weekend of November with a friend as part of a combined shopping and spa trip to Bath and Lucknam Park. Room cost £140 b&b (room 12) and it was lovely with twin beds, plenty of space, tea and coffee and a nice bathroom with White Company toiletries. I had stayed here before about 10 years ago and was pleased to see standards had been well maintained even though it has changed hands since.

The only negatives were that there was nowhere to put your things in the bathroom, despite it being very spacious and we had to ask for help to get the heat working in there.

Breakfast was excellent but dinner the previous night was overpriced and not particularly enjoyable. Maybe we ordered the wrong thing (we both had the lamb neck) but it was disappointing as the food used to be the reason to stay here. I would advise eating out in Bath or up at The Manor instead.

The village is beautiful if you have time to explore and it's only 20 mins from Bath and less than a 10 minute drive from Lucknam Park so the location works perfectly.

Don't get caught out with the parking. It's extremely limited in the village and whilst there are a few spaces on the hill on the way out of the village, it's not lit at all and you really need a torch to see where you're going.

Overall it does represent good value for money due to the location and the nice rooms but my advice is to eat elsewhere.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn Hotel

Address: Market Cross, Castle Combe SN14 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castle Combe
The Castle Inn Hotel Castle Combe, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.