We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful English Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Castle Inn Hotel to your Saves list
The Castle Inn Hotel
Market Cross, Castle Combe SN14 7HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Castle Combe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful English Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Castle Combe Inn for only 1 night, and it was a truly beautiful little establishment in such a quaint English village. When speaking to friends at work, none of them had heard of Castle Combe so I was a bit hesitant about our stay, but after we drove into the village all those worries dissappeared. It looks like a postcard, it is so cute. The Inn is very easy to find and the staff were extremely friendly. Definately have dinner at the restaurant, it's is amazing and nothing was too much trouble (the bar staff even picked our all the black olives from our olive dish for us, as I mentioned I only liked green) and the lamb we had there was the best we've had since arriving in the UK. We can't reccommend our stay at Castle Combe Inn highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    84
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
42
209
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were given vouchers from our friends on retiring from being publicans, and The Castle Inn Hotel was included in the list of hotels that they could be used. Wiltshire was the place we wanted to visit so we booked our stay. What a find! We knew nothing about Castle Coombe at all, were we in for a treat. The minute we walked into the hotel we were greeted by friendly helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was excellent with a nice comfy bed, breakfast was delicious and the food and service in the restaurant was superb. It was so relaxing, and a walk around the village was a joy, a complete step back in time, no wonder it has been used many times in films. If you are ever in this area call into the hotel for their cream teas, sit outside and enjoy the experience. We can't wait to do it all over again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this & decided to eat since we were fortunate to get a table. Most were reserved so that seemed a good sign. Service very attentive & food tasty. 2 courses & I was full up. Would definitely recommend this place & bonus you can stay as full of character. Even pics of all the stars who have been in the historic village filming is a nice touch.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H_Tiryaki, Manager at The Castle Inn Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am very please to hear that you did enjoyed your visit to The Castle Inn Hotel.

This type of thoughtful feedback is extremely important to us in delivering the highest levels of quality and service to our valuable customers.

Thank you again for your kind comments and patronage.

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,

Hakan Tiryaki
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stopping at the castle is like going back in time, four poster bedrooms, great food, great staff, if you you want to feel special and be looked after this is the place.don't think about it,just book.not cheap but worth it.

Room Tip: Book the midweek special
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We only stopped here for lunch as I had been to this restaurant once before, almost 5 years ago. And this time is was just as delightful as I remembered it. My mother, sister and I greatly enjoyed our lunch at the Castle Inn (Tuesday afternoon).

The Castle Inn has a great location looking over the village square in Castle Combe. The interior feels historic and snug, yet it is bright and welcoming. The staff was very friendly.

For lunch we had the fish and chips, and mushroom tagiatelle. Both were really good. The food is upscale for pub food, yet the prices were very reasonable – about on par with other pubs and restaurants we’ve gone to.

An additional plus is that they had excellent wi-fi connection!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

For a romantic weekend away, the setting could hardly be bettered, Castle Combe is beautiful. Maybe that's part of the problem. They just don't have to try too hard. Gorgeous old building and the four poster bedroom perfectly comfortable. The receptionist was lovely and very welcoming. The restaurant however was a big disappointment. The waiter's highly recommended 'pie' was actually a boring casserole with a lump of pastry on top. The haddock fish cakes tasteless with lumpy potato. The service was hurried and both courses served and cleared in 45 minutes. Maybe ok for lunch but for Saturday night it felt like they were trying to get us to leave. We returned to the hotel at 10.45pm the following night (having gone elsewhere for dinner) and ordered a couple of nightcaps, the bar staff were clearing the place, again we were made to feel as if we were in the way, despite spending £20 on two drinks, they were delivered almost grudgingly. Breakfast was ordinary to say the least. Nice fruit, toast and good coffee but the cooked breakfast was greasy and tasted of cheap cooking fat. We left most of it, as did the couple on the next table.

All in all, must try harder. If the food had delivered what The Salutation Inn up the road is serving, this Inn would come highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMPSHIRE ENGLAND
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were booked to stay here 10/8, for a last minute weekend break.
Sadly on arrival we were informed that there was an issue with our room and we had been upgraded to The Manor House across the road.
Very disappointed, however the Room in the Manor House muse cottages was an absolute bonus. Stunning accommodation.
We chose however to eat back in The Castle that evening. Food and service was excellent, as was breakfast the next morning. Just so cosy and quaint, and all the staff were lovely and very apologetic with regards to the room issue.
Castle Coombe is just a big step back in time, and we plan to go back and get out stay in The Castle Inn soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn Hotel

Address: Market Cross, Castle Combe SN14 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castle Combe
The Castle Inn Hotel Castle Combe, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.