We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Castle Inn Hotel to your Saves list
The Castle Inn Hotel
Market Cross, Castle Combe SN14 7HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Castle Combe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SE London
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay for my husbands 50th birthday. On first sight this villiage took our breath away. Photos do it no justice at all with its old english stone buildings. The Castle Inn Hotel was oldy worldy, with character seepping out at every corner. Old beams, uneven floors and odd shaped rooms. Little seating rooms tucked away for a relaxing coffee liquer after dinner. The food was delicious. Breakfast was excellant potion to set you up for the day also giving a good variety. The staff couldn't do enough for us and we were made to feel very special. We will never forget this experience and would recommend it highly to anyone. Thank you Castle Inn and 10/10! Alison Mason, SE London

Room Tip: For the full old english experience and a romantic stay Room 4 had it all. Four poster bed, double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    84
    30
    10
    7
See reviews for
42
211
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

After spending a few days in London and tired of the hustle and bustle, we rented a car and drove to Castle Combe. All I can say is that it was the highpoint of our trip. The town looks like a storybook come to life. Enchanting. We stopped at the Castle Inn for lunch and chose the fish and chips. The staff was warm and welcoming and the food was beautifully presented and delicious. A first rate lunch and I'm sure it doesn't just end there. I would skip London next time and would love to stay here for a couple of days. This is the England you want to see!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Luffenham, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I have stayed here for a couple of years around Badminton Horse Trials. This really is a gem of a place. Great staff, homely atmosphere, private and absolutely no maddening crowd. Have a walk through the village - there is a road sign that says Beware Free Range Children. Seroiusly cool. You might have a problem parking near tyhe door but that is a small price to pay. The village itself starred in War Horse I believe. Not really changed over the last century. There is also a mobile signal - just if you stand on the wall neat the Church!

Room Tip: Be as nice to the staff as they are to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent service, beautiful location, wonderful food, lovely room. I used this beautiful village and Inn to host a family celebration dinner accomodating 24 people in their Conservatory Room. We also stayed in one of the superior 4-poster rooms for our special occasion.
The hotel was extremely helpful to me in planning my event from the USA. By using email and only 2 telephone calls they confirmed everything and delivered on everything. They promptly and efficiently took care of everything requested and were flexible and accomodating to the dietary needs of my family, which included small children.
Our 3 course dinner was excellent, with great choices for all, and we included, chicken, beef and a fish choice. The deserts were awesome!
The rooms were as expected, comfortable and cosy and they are expensive, but lovely and well appointed, and I did not have to ask for a hairdryer or an iron - it is all there for you. The bathroom in our 4-poster room was huge (for a historic 12th century inn). Well worth the money.
We were unable to stay for breakfast but my family members did, and there were many choices and they enjoyed the full breakfast. Leaving at 5am they left us out juice, fruit and cereals to see us on our way.
The staff were efficient and lovely to deal with, and they assisted family and friends with various requests.
We were lucky enough to have a beautiful day to enjoy this fabulous retreat in the Wiltshire countryside, sitting outside the hotel on the front watching the world go by on a glorious sunny day in the heart of England. Horses arriving and leaving, touring the grounds of the Manor House next door and visiting the beautiful church. So perfect. Thank you Castle Combe Inn and we will be back some time in the future to see you again.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge, enjoy a 4-poster room, they are beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

A lastminute family booking over a Bank Ho
liday weekend found us quit the smoke for this delightful pub in a classic English village.

Fortunately it avoids the twee cliches of architecture and design and lets its location, surroundings and intelligent decor relax you.

£190 for three of us for B&B sounded steep but the comfy room (12) and huge traditional breakfast was well worth it.

Dinner in the bar area was less formal than the restaurant but the same menu. The mint and lamb pie was a triumph as were the salmon and good old sausage and mash.

We went on the AA-recommended 6 mile/2.5 hour walk via Ford to work up an appetite and had a shared cheeky cream tea upon our return at the outside tables.

Over the road is a lovely church which, when we went, had a display of photos showing scenes when Spielberg's War Horse was filmed here in 2010. Why don't they make more of that?

Easy car parking 100m up the hill if you can't get a space outside (only posy Porsche owners angsted about this).

Room Tip: If you want a four poster room, ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I recently visited castle Combe with my friend whilst traveling for several months around europe and stayed at this beautiful inn and what a fantastic gem this place is. When we first arrived at the inn hotel we were so taken a back by the beautiful old English style hotel yet was also very stylish and well kept. The inn hotel is situated right in the heart of the  little town and is by far the best on offer. We were greeted by a very friendly gentleman, (his name escapes me unfortunately) who escorted us to our room whilst giving us some information and history to the town.  When I walked  into my room I was so overwhelmed by how beautiful it was, the huge bed with dark wood canopy and old english yet modern fitting and fixtures including the old english style bath that you see in films. The hotel also provided detailed walking maps for the area and also included information on all different movies filmed in the area and key sites to look out for which made it so great to navigate around the small town. The dining room for breakfast itself was great as you sit in a separate dining room to the main restaurant where dinner is served. The breakfast room was completely open to natural light with a glass ceiling and ceiling to floor windows. Here we had the most delicious breakfast (that was all inclusive with the rate) before heading back to London, this consisted of both a cold buffet of cereals and fruits as well as hot food that could be ordered off a set menu both at no extra cost. No request was too much for any staff member we came across and can really not fault this stylish hotel.  All in all, very good value for money and recommend a night or two to see this hotel and the gorgeous little town. 

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Lovely friendly inn. Unusual rooms but beautifully appointed. Staff really friendly and very welcoming. Great food, fabulous breakfast. Would recommend to family and friends. Hope to go back to stay very soon

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn Hotel

Address: Market Cross, Castle Combe SN14 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castle Combe
The Castle Inn Hotel Castle Combe, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.