We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hide away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Castle Inn Hotel to your Saves list
The Castle Inn Hotel
Nr. Junction 17 and 18 off the M4, Castle Combe SN14 7HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Castle Combe B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little hide away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night for the nearby Castle Coombe race track. Travelled by car from London and didn't arrive until 8pm. The website said - "easy to find in the centre of Castle Coombe". Well this night was pitch black and it took me 30minutes to locate it, a detailed map on the website would be beneficial.

Anyway when I eventually found it I checked in and went down for a quick bite. What a fantastic bar, traditional but yet light and airy. The staff were very attentive and when asked advice on the beers I was presented with a wonderful pint of local ale.

The dinner service was good with an excellent menu, although due to the time and being rather fatigued I went for simple pub grub it was still served on a linen laid table. The food was great!!!

The rooms were comfortable, my only complaint was the church which chimed every hour, but it also added to the quirkiness of the village.

Just a pity it was a fleeting visit, I left at 7 which was too early for a full breakfast, but the staff hurried around to get me some tea and provided a quick continental affair. The bill was reasonable too at £80 B&B plus £20 for dinner with a couple of drinks.

Next time I will definately stay longer as the village and area look beautiful - 10/10.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    71
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
41
183
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We enjoyed a one-night stay in this very attractive inn set in picturesque Castle Combe and were delighted with our tastefully decorated room and good sized bathroom, equipped with bathrobes and White Company toiletries. We sampled afternoon tea in one of the comfy lounge areas and took in the relaxing ambience.
In the evening we ate in the restaurant and received excellent service and the food was very good. My only disappointment was that our table was near the fire exit and so my view was a fire exit sign; we were just unlucky and other tables enjoyed a view of the nicely laid out bar/restaurant.
After a wonderful night's sleep we savoured breakfast in the lovely conservatory and again received fabulous service and enjoyed very good food.
Overall, a beautiful inn offering excellent service and I would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My husband booked a table at this restaurant as sadly it was fully booked at the Manor House restaurant.

We were sat in the back restaurant which was a nice room, the staff were friendly however the food really let this down for us.

The menu consists of one side with starts & main courses with a selectin of favourites on the back. We were keen to steer away from the "pub grub" menu on the rear however in retrospect this was a mistake and feel the restaurant should focus solely on this type of food rather than branching out to something a little more upmarket.. it just didn't work.

I had fish wrapped in bacon with a tomato sauce and potatoes as my main. The whole dish was incredibly salty and I couldn't finish the plate it was so overpowering. The fish remained tasteless as was the tomato sauce. My husbands dish as a little more edible but it would not be described as deliciious.

As part of our 1st anniversary weekend the food put a bit of a dampener on the event, thankfully the stay over the road more than made up for it but this restaurant is not somewhere we would want to visit again aside from having a drink.

Perhaps the pub grub menu is more successful, as we say we wish we'd stuck with that. it was certainly a lot cheaper and you can't go very wrong with scampi & chips!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

To begin, I was very impressed and indeed somewhat surprised by the rich and rather opulent menu. Indeed I felt that I was selecting food of a Michellin starred restaraunt rather than a small quaint country inn. The food not only lived up to the menus description it far surpassed it. The scallops for starters were cooked to perfection and garnished with a beautiful cauliflower purée, without any lumps I might add! The main also did not fail to disappoint.

The inn also offered more traditional bar food that would cater to everyone's tastes.

The waiters were both cheery and well mannered, more than happy to suggest options of the menu and to cater for my own preference of ice cream with the sweats rather than clotted cream.

The restaruant was decorated in a traditional country fashion. Dark oak paneling around the bar and exposed brickwork led to a very homly relaxed feel. We were lucky enough to be sat by the large roaring fire which added to the overall ambience of the pace and made the meal feel rather romantic.

Overall I found both the food and the staffing excellent and will definitely be returning in the future.


Rob (Surrey)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here overnight whilst in the area on business - we had an early start the next day and on arrival, were told breakfast commenced at 0730 so achieving our 8am departure deadline would be fine. In the morning, with no staff to be seen, we arrived at the equally deserted breakfast room at 07.30 prompt, It was a full 5 minutes (ages when you have a business deadline, thick snow and ice outside and a long car journey ahead!) before a waiter appeared and took our breakfast order. Tea and toast arrived pretty quickly but by 0755 no cooked breakfast had appeared and we could find no waiter to ask, so with a deadline to meet, we could wait no longer and went without. We were further delayed waiting for someone to man the reception desk so that we could check out. An apology was forthcoming, but no other recompense and off we went into the snow and ice - hungry! Such a pity - had they provided the same high quality of service in the morning as they had the previous evening, we would have given them an 'excellent' rating, Everyone has bad days, I suppose we caught them on one of theirs!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We went looking for a decent meal in a country pub in beautiful surroundings and were very disappointed.

* All the restaurant tables had Reservation signs on them - at 11.55am on a Saturday? Clearly a trick to turn-away those didn't quite meet the standard of guest this snotty place thinks it can expect.
* The menu reads well, but food doesn't live up to the descriptions. Oriental Fish Cakes turned out to be deep fried fish & potato balls the size of tennis balls, with no discernible taste beyond potato. Beer battered fish was oily/tasteless and chips were the sort of cheap, powdery-tasting things you get from Iceland.
* Sticky Toffee pudding was a very small piece of toffee sponge with glutenous sauce all over it. Not worth the £5 price tag.
* Staff - no MD in charge. No 'Host'.Two world-weary french speaking waiters who clearly thought we were beneath them.
* Decor - dull beige with hints of mushroom soup. Meaningless Georgian print cartoons on the walls. Tacky high varnished pub tables. Incongruous Michael Jackson CD blaring out of speakers.

This has recently changed hands and so please DONT go off the old reviews in guidebooks. The current version of the Castle is AWFUL. What could be a gorgeous high-cuisine pub with charismatic staff has morphed into a cross between Little Chef and an office reception area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at the Castle Inn Hotel for 2 nights, 27th and 28th Jan. The Inn/Hotel has recently been refurbished to a high standard. It is located in a beautiful village on the edge of the Cotswolds. The staff were excellent and made us most welcome. The attention to detail in the rooms was first class. Food served in either bar area with lots of atmosphere and appeared to be used by locals also (which is a good sign) or in very comfortable restaurant.
Castle Coombe is a 'picture postcard 12th century English village which has retained all of its old world charm. Recently used as location for Warhorse.

Would have no hesitation is booking again for those who enjoy quieter and smaller Inns/Hotels in a fabulous location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn Hotel

Address: Nr. Junction 17 and 18 off the M4, Castle Combe SN14 7HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Castle Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castle Combe
The Castle Inn Hotel Castle Combe, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.