We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb lunch...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club to your Saves list
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   near Bath, Castle Combe SN14 7HR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb lunch...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A few weeks ago I was lucky enough to be invited to a lunch event where different Chefs were cooking different dishes. every single one was just superb! Was a fantastic experience and I will definitely go back there! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    93
    33
    19
    14
See reviews for
63
353
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A wonderful overnight stay at the Manor House Hotel with my wife to celebrate her birthday. Basically flawless... a superb setting, delightful quirky room and views made for a lovely place to stay. The staff were faultless. An impressive range of gins in the bar before an excellent dinner - the tasting menu was top notch, with a fine selection of wines described with great interest and enthusiasm by the sommelier. Breakfast was also terrific, and we didn't want the visit to end. And I didn't even play a round of golf or venture into Castle Combe village... Recommend unreservedly.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building (as we had) preferable if your wife has had her hair done that day and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was introduced to the Manor House Hotel by my partner, who had previously visited with his mother for Tea, but had never had the chance to stay. He seemed so taken aback by the property and the Hotel, that I figured it would be a great birthday surprise for him. Our first stay was perfect. Although we only had a Guestroom, I had requested that we stay in the Manor House itself (although admittedly the Mews Cottages also look quite nice), and the Hotel was very quick to accommodate and very polite in their confirmation, etc. We had also booked dinner at the Bybrook Restaurant for my partner's birthday. We arrived, were immediately shown to our room without a moment's delay, the car was valet parked, and check-in was seamless. I had also mentioned that it was my partner's booking in the online forum during booking, and they had placed a lovely box of cupcakes with a happy birthday message. It was a very nice touch.

The room was amazing! Each one has such individual style and character, and it really feels like an old English traditional manor house. Dinner was outstanding as well (although my partner did have a negative reaction to the sulphites in the wine - but that was hardly the Restaurant's fault)! Overall, it was a perfect weekend / birthday getaway.

More recently, one of my oldest and dearest friends came to visit London for work (both she and I are from the US), and she had mentioned to us that she wanted to see Bath. We knew that she couldn't see the Bath area without experiencing the Manor House Hotel and the surrounding English countryside, so we made another weekend booking. We had bigged it up so much, that I was a bit nervous the actual experience wouldn't live up to the hype and she would be disappointed.

Wrong again! We checked in to find we had been upgraded to a junior suite, which was even more charming and lovely than the Guestroom we had stayed in previously (to be expected, granted, but still a really nice surprise). The rooms were absolutely perfect. We weren't able to get reservations on short notice at Bybrook this time, but the hotel had very kindly recommended the local town pub, the Castle Inn, for dinner reservations. It worked out perfectly, and we had another amazing experience. In short, the service, staff, friendliness, willingness to accommodate and just general atmosphere of this hotel cannot be understated!

My one suggestion to make the service better (and this is not by means of a complaint but simply a helpful tip): If guests are unable to secure a booking at the Bybrook restaurant, and the reservations team suggests the Castle Inn as a replacement, it would be a nice gesture to offer to go ahead and make the reservation for them, or, at least, to provide the contact details for the Castle Inn so that the guest doesn't have to google search himself or herself. It's just an added little touch that takes little effort and does a great deal to make a guest feel provided for.

Absolutely fantastic stays (both of them)! We will definitely be returning (and hopefully quite soon).

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in the manor house are secluded, but may be at the end of quite narrow / steep ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have just spent two wonderful nights at this lovely hotel. Our room was a delight - spacious, comfortable and with interesting individual features. The staff were thoughtful and knowledgeable and generally very committed to ensuring that guests were made to feel welcome and cared for. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals in the Bybrook Restaurant and the overall setting of the hotel is idyllic. It was peaceful and relaxing to spend time in the beautifully maintained grounds surrounded by mature woodland. Our only negative comment was that the housekeeping was not quite up to standard as our bathroom was not cleaned during our stay with the waste bin not emptied and basin surrounds not wiped down, however, this did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I could write a story about this place but today you get the short version.
Wonderful golf course in superb condition; tough test but not punishing. Superb staff with good attention to detail. Great facilities and well maintained. Good food that is well cooked and served with a smile. Friendly members that invite you into their world.
TOTALLY recommend and will return; in fact I'm going back next week.
A piece of advice regarding the golf. This is a long, long hilly course but if you can manage to walk round it is so much better.

Room Tip: Walk the course - this review is about the golf, not the hotel. I was told the hotel is just as good...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have just come back from a two night stay here on a Secret Escapes deal. What a wonderful place. We didn't know anything about the area having booked on a whim to celebrate a birthday but found it to be picturesque and peaceful (and oddly familiar - soon realised how many films it has been used in). The hotel staff were really friendly, some delicious cupcakes and a card had been left up in the bedroom as a birthday treat.

The bar staff were very helpful and happy to make anything you wanted off menu. The only improvement I would make in the bar would perhaps be to have some low MOD or classical music playing in the background just to mask other people's conversations a little.

The restaurant food was delicious and surprisingly filling.

All in all a delightful and peaceful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Had the room above the entrance - it was fantastic with window seats, four poster bed and bath in the bedroom. We upgraded our break to include The Bybrook restaurant which was fantastic. Only stayed one night - would love to go back for a couple.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club

Address: near Bath, Castle Combe SN14 7HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s decadent, it’s cosseting, it doesn’t get much grander than The Manor House in Wiltshire, a country house with a difference. Dine in the Michelin star Bybrook restaurant or take a stroll around the picture box village of Castle Combe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor House Castle Combe
Manor Hotel Castle Combe
The Manor House Hotel And Golf Club Castle Combe, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.