We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club to your Saves list
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   near Bath, Castle Combe SN14 7HR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent a weekend at Castle Combe. The men played golf at the club. Very beautiful layout and a worthy golf course. The women went to a spa in Bath. The Manor House is excellent and the Michelin start restaurant was fabulous as was the entire service staff of the property. Worth a weekend trip.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the place that we could see. They are all different sizes and ameniti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    93
    33
    19
    14
See reviews for
63
353
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked a junior suite and taster dinner as a valentine's treat. The suite, which is part of a row of cottages close to the main building, was spacious and homely. The hotel is equally welcoming, with loads of nooks and crannies with roaring fires which were really welcome on a cold day! The staff couldn't have been more accomodating, and the food was exceptional. As you'd expect, this sort of luxury doesn't come cheap, but there aren't many better ways to spoil yourself!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I recently stayed for three days and had a cottage rather than the main house which was spacious with a very large bathroom and walk in shower. Staff were very efficient, accommodating and attentive. There are many lovely areas in the lobby area and bar to relax and enjoy a bite to eat and a drink. The food was wonderful and the bar is stocked with all kinds of interesting choices. Plan to enjoy walks in the beautiful surroundings. One word of caution, make sure you are stocked up on things like aspirin, etc. There is no store near by, even in the village. You can be assured of a wonderful and special stay here...great for. Romantic special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I recently attended a three day workshop held at the Manor House at Castle Combe. Obviously the place looks like a castle but I was completely surprised to find out how the interior has been preserved as one would imagine it was like hundreds of years ago when it really was someone's castle. The seating areas on the main floor are small and intimate with many working fireplaces, including comfortable settings for afternoon high tea or a game of chess with purple velvet chairs by a window overlooking the gorgeous acreage that surrounds the castle. There are no lifts in the hotel and remembering the winding way to your room can be a delightful challenge as you go up old wooden stairways that lead to stone steps and little alcoves in every direction. My room was very spacious with beautiful antique furniture. The big four poster covered bed sat in the middle of the room and was very comfortable. You can choose from a menu of pillows to be ordered to suit your sleep fancy. The bathroom is quite modern but still preserves that old feeling with a huge claw foot bathtub and beautiful old style faucets. There is a huge walk in shower with rain forest feature. There is a small teddy bear waiting on your bed that also serves as your do not disturb sign if you hang him from the door. The food prepared for our attendees was a specific menu for our group but very good quality, particularly the homemade soups and salmon and cod entrees. They were very kind in accommodating my vegetarian options. The breakfast was delightful with buffet and individually cooked choices. The hotel is adjacent to the beautiful little village and I enjoyed long walks during breaks to explore the old church and follow the river through town and into the countryside. Coming from the American Southwest, this experience was like a fairytale for me and I enjoyed every moment. Although I didn't play golf, I had a long walk on the course one morning in the famous British drizzle and it looked like a great course. I highly recommend the Manor House for a rural English experience of the highest calibre.

Room Tip: You can stay in the castle or choose one of the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very grand country house hotel. Nice grounds with streams running. Located in a lovely little village that was part of the film set in War Horse and Star Dust. The junior suit in the cottage a stone throw away from the main build is very spacious and comfortable. The restaurant has excellent food and pretty good wine list. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Bullet Point review for the Manor House...

It's not cheap - nothing here is. Don't come here if you are concerned about a limited budget - you will leave unhappy.

The roads getting there are a little scary in a big car, take a tiny car if you can! (we took and van and had mini heart attacks while weaving in and out of the one lane roads)

The facilities are immaculate - the Manor house looks and feels like Daddy Warbucks mansion in Annie.

The staff is the true GEM of this hotel - The are professionals and I do not say this lightly. We stayed here for 5 days and every staff member went over and beyond my requests EVERY SINGLE time. I actually miss the bartenders and the wait staff.

Even the rain is awesome here - Golf course is extremely hilly and a tough play, but c'mon - you're playing in England!

There are 2 places that you can sleep - inside the main house or in the converted servants quarters about 500 feet from the hotel. We stayed in the servants quarters and it resembles a old time cabin in the woods (except you have heated floors in the bathroom & the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!! ) Would not trade it for the world.

Not much to do around the Manor house but I could sit and read a book in front of their 5 active fireplaces like a champ - PLUS - if their isn't a fire in the fireplace where you want to read, ask the staff and they will start a fire for you!

Travel to the city of Bath - very cool spot.

Food - If i could give it 6 stars I would. It is rich food though - go away if you count calories! PS- Black pudding here tastes really good - try it!

Bar inside the hotel has the largest gin collection I have ever seen - plus they have some of the rarest Cognacs in Europe (for a price!). I love gin - so I was in heaven.

Tea Service - I am pretty sure they lace the clotted cream with crack cocaine. Plus every pastry and biscuit is made FRESH by hand. You are given about 10 tea varieties to pick from so you can have something different each day.

Storybook Christmas here (2012) - just a.m.a.z.i.n.g.

Room Tip: My in-laws stayed in one of the rooms (from the servants quarters) that has converted a 16th century...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the hotel with our 6-year old son for one night on the way to Bath. We were aware that the hotel can not really be considered to be child friendly with a 12-year age limit for the restaurant so that was not a problem, (but you need to be aware of it in advance).

The alternative for us was therefore the room service menu, either in our room or in the lobby. We went for having the dinner in the room as it was very nice and big (a junior suite). However, I have to say that the room service menu was quite disappointing. In other hotels that I have stayed in the past where they have a kitchen of this level, the room service menu normally reflects that, but I do not think that is the case at the Manor House. It should just a matter of doing nice dishes and carry them to a room rather than to the restaurant so it should be possible to be more ambitious than is currently done, I think.

My wife had a mushroom soup, which unfortunately made her violently ill all through the night. At 03.00, I asked the night porter if he provide some pain killers for the stomach pain, which was promptly done, so a plus for that.

At breakfast, I asked the head waitress if she could find out exactly what mushrooms that were in the soup as I could not exclude that my wife’s illness might have been due to some allergic reaction rather than food poisoning. She was very sympathetic and professional about my wife’s condition, but could not provide any more information about the ingredients than “field mushrooms and wild mushrooms” which did not help much.

At check-out, I mentioned that the room service menu was not quite what you might expect from a hotel with a Michelin-star kitchen, but the lady at the front-desk was quite defensive in her comments and sounded as if she was reading from a script. She and the head waitress also had a whispering discussion in front of me as the chef had agreed to take the cost for the soup of the bill and the lady at the front-desk refused to do so as it could have not have been food poisoning, which I found to be a bit odd. It is not a matter of the money as such, but here the hotel had a chance to have us leaving with a positive gesture that was missed. It should not be a matter of being right or wrong here, but rather to acknowledge that our stay was spoiled by the soup that was served, regardless of it was food poisoning or some other reaction to it.

If it would have been me at the front desk, I would have simply taken all the food of the bill and only charged for the room and we might actually have left with the feeling that we might come back sometime in the future. which is not the case now.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Roger E440,

Thank you for your recent feedback, which we have found very useful, and I shall be reviewing our Room Service offering.

I was very sorry to hear that your Wife had been ill, and obviously we were very concerned. We had heard no other comments about the soup which had indeed been served to a number of other guests on the same day.

I am very sorry that you felt that the matter had not been well handled as a result of not refunding the Room service food.

Once again thank you for your constructive feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Stephen Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club

Address: near Bath, Castle Combe SN14 7HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s decadent, it’s cosseting, it doesn’t get much grander than The Manor House in Wiltshire, a country house with a difference. Dine in the Michelin star Bybrook restaurant or take a stroll around the picture box village of Castle Combe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor House Castle Combe
Manor Hotel Castle Combe
The Manor House Hotel And Golf Club Castle Combe, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.