We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Hotel

Save Saved
You added White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 London Rd, Calne SN11 0AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Calne
sandhurst
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and got a good deal. First impressions is good, the building has lots of character and its very pretty but does need a little more TLC in some areas but not in a bad way. We had room 1 which is the bridal suite, very good indeed and all very clean and tidy, the only issue you get is that its next to the main door to the building and the stairs are creaky but that is the only down side.
We had dinner there which mine was good, fish and chips, my girlfriend had the lasagne which didn’t have enough sauce or and too much pasta (not every good). They didn’t have pie on the menu also half the puddings were not on the menu but the sticky toffee pudding was fantastic.
A down side: We were told that breakfast on the Saturday morning was between 8 and 9am which we were not too impressed so we missed out on that. Sunday breakfast was fine just not hot enough.
Over all the hotel was nice and our stay was good with nice staff.

Room Tip: room 1 pay a little extra and get much more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    8
    10
    18
See reviews for
12
34
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I thought the stay was very enjoyable the food is amazing, I highly recommend the lasagne and the chicken and mushroom pie !!! Truely beautiful food. The rooms are very satisfactory to everybody's need you have tea a coffee facilities really comfy beds flat screen TVs! The staff are wicked and will do anything for anyone and are there for your assistance:). Very recommended for any age !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Arrived New Years Eve late afternoon to find hotel closed, with other guests waiting in car park to get in. Finally shown to our room which was a disappointment. Carpet stained, washbasin cracked, window frames dirty and no chair in the room. Enquired about the availability of food, but was told none available and directed to local chinese takeaway. Evening entertainment excellent, but function room freezing with many guests keeping their coats on all night.
Although paid for bed and breakfast, no breakfast was available in the morning with no explanation given.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PennyGeetravel, Owner at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you had problems when you stayed with us. I am the owner of the White Hart and was there on New Year's Eve. We explained to everyone who booked direct and called everyone who booked via the net to ok the fact that there was no breakfast. As compensation for that we offered not only a free ticket to the band (I'm glad you enjoyed them) but a free buffet too. Also, we offered ordinary room rates (not the normal increase for NYE).
As for the cold function room, our two security staff continually closed the fire exit doors, but those who were dancing were hot and the smokers are relentless in their continual forays to our smoking area. The rest of the guests, many locals and regulars, loved the band and the food and have asked to book next year. We can't however please everyone all the time. With 4 bar staff, two security staff, our marketing manager and myself around and conspicuous, if you'd raised any problems, we'd have tried our best to resolve them, that is our ingrained policy. Before now, someone needing a change of room gets it and if we are full, I personally drive guests to an overflow hotel we have. As a general rule, if you are ever unhappy in a hotel just talk to the staff and they'll be bound to sort it. That's why we all do what we do. Hearing a week later means we can't help you and that's a real frustration for a business like ours that is inundated with thank you cards and great reviews. I wishI'd had the chance to help on the night. I hope NYE 2013is better for you. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

As we live in the gorgeous town that is Calne and had heard that new owners had taken over the place we thought we'd try it out for sunday lunch. So after a nice walk along the river we popped in to see what was on offer.

We were greeted by a lovely lady and offered a roast or food off the menu. The dining room has been decorated and nice pictures have been put up, as well as the fireplaces, which were blazing away, candles on tables ... it was actually really lovely.

The food was delicious i had Hunters chicken (chicken, bacon, chees) which is always my comparison meal ,as a i love it .... it was really good with homemade chips and mushrooms. The others had roasts which were generous in size and cooked really well .. the staff were attentive .. it was just really nice.

It was quiet though ..... it' was always very average before the new owners but, needs a chance to get going again and they are certainly putting effort into making it a lovely place again.

And just to say .... i have no affiliation with the hotel .... i just think it really deserves a chance as the owners really are making a great effort to make it work !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Checked in smoothly and shown up to our room by a lovely lady who I believe was the manageress. Room was a good size with a full bathroom and feature fireplace (for show only which was a shame!). The room was freezing when we checked in but warmed up quickly once we figured out how the switch the radiator on. Also there was plenty of storage. Breakfast was ok, the website states continental or full English - didn't see any choice for a continental but also didn't ask as we were happy with the full English option. The breakfast room was very cold! Overall a good stay, staff were great - always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Me and the wife looked for a holiday in the cotswolds and were delighted to find this beautiful inn. The atmosphere was friendly and the food sublime. We were genuinely taken aback by the quality of the cuisine. Jimmy the chef came personally to our table to wish us "bon appetite". This touch of kindness was typical of our stay. We cannot recommend the hotel enough as the room was delightful and the beds were very comfotable and didn't creak too much if you know what we are saying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I went for lunch here with my child, having spotted it when driving past on the way to the shops. It was coming up to 2pm and I didn't know whether they would be serving food. We were made to feel very welcome and offered a full menu and a bar menu. We didn't have long, so chose from the bar menu, but what a lovely surprise. We were served with very delicious home cooked meals, hot and fresh, with a side salad prepared at my request. As it was not busy, we were pretty spoilt, with custom made recipes. There was a lovely smell coming from the wood burner, a comfy leather settee and magazines to read whilst we waited for our food. We left in good time and will definitely be back with my husband, who was very jealous of our experience and can't wait to have a meal here to. Thank you for such a warm experience.

This is a lovely large, cosy pub with a restaurant area, as well as the snug which we were in. It looks like a fun place to be in the evening, with events going on, a live band tomorrow night.

Room Tip: I didn't stay here, but I was told there is a (friendly) haunted room if you're interested
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 2 London Rd, Calne SN11 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart dates back to 1659 and has been providing food, rest and drinks ever since. It is a free house and therefore completely independent of any brewery or corporate enterprise. There are 15 rooms of various size and all are en-suite on three floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.