We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beechfield House Restaurant

Beechfield House Restaurant
Nr Bath | Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant & Gardens, Beanacre, Melksham SN12 7PU, England
+44 1225 703700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Beanacre
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: A gem of a country house: restaurant lunch and dinner, bar snacks and light meals, afternoon tea, private dining, functions and celebrations.
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The food is of a high standard and this was a perfect place to hold a wedding. We had risotto, roast beef and sorbet. Absolutely delicious and beautiful presented. Service is slick and unobtrusive. Just a very stylish and peaceful place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Great feedback - thank you so much for taking the trouble to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    2
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Great steak, good wine, gorgeous desserts! We had our pre dinner drinks in the bar before moving to the formal dining room. They had decorated the table for our anniversary!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
What a super review too - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Husband's birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Took my husband, grandson and friends for dinner here. Have been here quite a few times especially for special occasions. The menu is excellent. Have not had a bad meal here yet.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
It's always nice to get feedback from our regulars. Thank you for your generous comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A good choice of menus and combination of flavours. Excellent helpful service. Good choice of items for breakfast

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your visit to us. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“champion din-din (lunch)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Two-course lunch turned to three as we were wooed by what had gone before.

Aye up, these were certainly northern portions, her majesty (HM) having the pick with a veritable shoal of whitebait followed by a sirloin steak of significant proportions. My pea soup and fish main, with chips in place of the menu's 'Jersey Royals', were fine. HM's ice cream was also 'grand' in both senses; my pie/crumble required some in place of the clotted cream (of which I am not a big fan).

Service was charming and understated and certainly contributed to our settling for the third course. Stylish restaurant and garden spaces add to the experience.

So, two fine three-course lunches, two glasses of wine and a beer for just over fifty quid - can't complain at that - but there were a couple of gripes - the chips were too dry and the crumble pastry was brittle. However, the positives far outweighed these trifles.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
What a jolly and witty review - thank you so much!!! Glad to hear you both had such a good time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beechfield House Restaurant also viewed

Melksham, Wiltshire
Melksham, Wiltshire
 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Melksham, Wiltshire
 

Been to Beechfield House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechfield House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.