We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Christmas Market experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beechfield House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beechfield House to your Saves list
Beechfield House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Nr Bath, Beanacre, Melksham SN12 7PU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Super Christmas Market experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Beechfield House late November with the idea of visiting Bath Christmas Market.
The hotel is set in its own grounds and is easy to find.
The Hotel gave us a very warm welcome and we were quickly shown our rooms which were in the coach house annexe. The rooms were clean and very very nicely decorated and once the heating to the coach house was turned on, were super and cosy as there was a strong frost on the ground. All the staff were extremely helpful and really attentive.
We had booked a Christmas DB&B break which included a return taxi to Bath. This was brilliant as Bath is very busy and not easy to find parking space.
Meals at the hotel were very good. Breakfast, all cooked to order and served. The Evening menu was a little limited but had something for most people. The food was very good and the one issue we had with regards to a beef medallion which was asked for as medium rare, and the kitchen interpretation was to cremate it. However the issue was resolved very well and to my satisfaction.
A gem of a country house hotel which we will certainly re visit during the year and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Coach House rooms on the same level as reception, dining room and lounges so no stairs , just a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback and kind comments. Our Christmas Market package is very popular for as you say it is nice to visit Bath for the shoping but then it is good to escape in the evening to the quieter countryside in Beanacre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    68
    24
    21
    6
See reviews for
119
175
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My three friends and I enjoyed a fabulous meal with good wine in a beautiful dining room. It was a chilly evening and we were shown to a room which was richly decorated giving a cosy feel. We chose a variety of options from the menu, all of which were presented to a high standard and good portion size.

The service was first class, we were given plenty of time to enjoy our evening and though last to leave, did not feel hurried.

Having eaten at a number of venues in Wiltshire, I can confidently recommend this restaurant and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to us. I am so pleased you found both the hotel and welcome warm on such a cold evening and hope we see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel exceeded in all my expectations. We had our wedding at the hotel at the end of December starting planning it with them in the June. Nothing was ever too much trouble no matter what tasks I threw at them. On the day of the wedding everything went so smoothly thanks to the expertise of Jean-Luc and Gail and of course not forgetting all the very helpful very friendly staff. They were also welcoming and helpful,polite and very well presented.
The rooms were exceptionally comfortable too,very warm and well presented. I can not thank the hotel enough for the most wonderful experience we had.

Room Tip: Each and every room is unique and you will be pleased with any of them :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you fo your very kind comments and for reviewing us after your very recent wedding at Beechfield House. We were delighted to have the honour of hosting it and our wedding planning team of Jean-Luc and Gaelle along with all the other hotel staff were delighted to read your review. We hope we may see you back for an anniversary celebration in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here while visiting family just before Christmas 2012. We were unexpectedly upgraded as we arrived mid week. Our room was modern, clean, large and thankfully warm given the inclement weather. The staff were super helpful even delivering a plate of chips for my son in the evening, when also dealing with a wedding party. The breakfast was cooked to order and the choice was extensive. The grounds are beautiful and we hope to return in summer to make use fo the pool! All in all this a great base for visiting Bath, Lacock and Bradford on Avon which we did. It's also close to Avebury. Its a little pricey but you get what you pay for. Charm and excellence!
Linda H

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Many thanks for a great review. As you say we are in a great position for many interesting local towns and villages.
We look forward to seeing you again when the weather a little warmer and you can enjoy our outdoor heated (85F) pool which is open from late March to end of November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay - cannot fault the hotel or restaurant in any way (be sure to save some room for a cream tea in front of one of the open fires!)

Room was immaculate, staff attentive and friendly, breakfast was superb (I especially liked the " overnight bread"). Lovely area of the country to explore; to complete the experience I highly recommend hiring a classic car from Vintage Classics who will deliver the car to the hotel free of charge.

We would definitely return and will highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us after your recent Classic Car break. We have so many lovely villages and super country lanes around us that as you say make it such a good location for classic car exploring. Tables in front of the open fires are a great place for afternoon tea in the winter whilst the walled garden is fantastic in the warmer months. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Beechfield for a friends wedding which was held at the house. Although it was slightly pricey, we preferred to stay at the venue rather than arrange transport late at night back to a nearby hotel.

The hotel and grounds are immaculate. I loved our room on the first floor, it was spacious, tastefully decorated and had a nice view over the outdoor pool and garden.

Breakfast was amazing, especially with a hangover from celebrating the night before! Many options for a hearty cooked breakfast.

Would definitely recommend. It's worth splashing out if you are attending a wedding here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor were much nicer than the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to give us such positive feedback following your stay for your friend's wedding. Beechfield House is a magical place for Christmas weddings and we are so glad to hear you had a wonderful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I, and our little dog had the absolute pleasure of spending a few days (one night) at Beechfield House Hotel between Christmas and New Year. Quite often when a hotel states they're dog friendly they mean 'dog tolerant', with restrictions left right and centre. Not at Beechfield House ... our little dog was treated like Royalty from the moment she stepped through the doors. We stayed in one of the Cosy Rooms in the attached coach house, we assumed it would be a small room given the word 'cosy' in the description. The room was far from small, it was extremely spacious yet retained that cosy feel. The rest of the hotel is equally beautiful, but again retains that cosy feel you hope for in a country hotel. There is a lovely conservatory style area where we were able to relax and have a bite to eat along with our dog. We highly recommend the full afternoon tea.

In the evening, we dined in the restaurant where exquisite food was served by the most delightful staff. Understandably, the restaurant is a dog free zone, but this wasn't a problem for us or our dog. When we asked if we could leave our dog unattended in our room whilst we went to dinner, not only was it a resounding yes, we were shown how to ensure the key activated lights and t.v. remained on whilst we were out of the room.

One of the many amazing things about the Beechfield House Hotel is that despite being such a dog friendly hotel, there is absolutely no hint of 'dog' anywhere. If you didn't know it was a dog friendly hotel, you would have no idea a dog had ever ventured into the building. The hotel is absolutely spotless and smells as fresh as a daisy.

A hotel is nothing without the right staff, and every single staff member at the Beechfield House Hotel were truly delightful. Thank you to each and every one of you for making our stay at the Beechfield House Hotel one of the best we've ever had. We usually don't return to the same hotel twice, but we will now be making an exception. The Beechfield House Hotel could well become our second home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. It was particularly satisfying to see you found the house so dog welcoming but not at all doggy! I couldn't have put it better myself. We look forward to more return visits for all of you! Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beechfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechfield House

Address: | Nr Bath, Beanacre, Melksham SN12 7PU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Beanacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning four AA Red Star country house hotel, near to Bath, Longleat, Lacock and Stonehenge. The outdoor heated pool is gorgeous in the summer, whilst in the winter open fires are as warm as the welcome. Enjoy the beautiful grounds, traditional afternoon tea, fine dining or a beauty treatment with natural 'Pure Fiji' products. Friendly yet professional staff complement this wonderful building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beechfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant & Gardens Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant And Gardens
Beechfield Hotel Beanacre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.