We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped off for lunch - Excellent 10/12/12” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beechfield House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Beechfield House to your Saves list
Beechfield House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Nr Bath, Beanacre, Melksham SN12 7PU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
cheltenham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Stopped off for lunch - Excellent 10/12/12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and i were visiting Melksham and spotted Beechfield House on our way through. Their lunch special was advertised on a board at £15 for 2 courses £20 for 3. We sat down by the fire with a drink to choose our lunch of the special menu. I chose roast cod and Jean chose kedgeree. We both had the tarte tatin for desert. The service was prompt and attentive, the food good. We didnt have time for coffee, paid our bill and continued on our journey. Well done Beechfield House and staff. PS Lovely house and grounds

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us and for your kind comments regarding your on-spec lunchtime visit. We are always delighted to welcome weary travellers on their journeys whether for morning coffee, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner. Please do drop in next time you are passing. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    68
    24
    20
    6
See reviews for
119
175
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We booked Beechfield House for our end of year meeting, being close to the M4 and accessible. We had never used it before, and were inspired and delighted from the start. The conference room was beautiful, the food excellent (even catering for a Coeliac vegetarian), the facilities unique, and the customer service was absolutely outstanding - friendly, unobtrusive, anticipating our every need. Thank you particularly to the star who so quickly cleared up the balloons between the morning and afternoon sessions. We will certainly use Beechfield House again. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your excellent feedback. We were delighted to host this event for you and very glad to hear it went so well. We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Visited Beechfield House for the second time yesterday for a meeting (about 15 people). The venue is lovely and the staff extremly attentive. Great coffee (something most hotels find incredibly difficult!), delicious homemade biscuits and lovely hot/cold buffet lunch. The house and grounds are beautiful. I will definately being using Beechfield again and am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
It's so nice to have such a wide cross section of reviews from our different guests and great to know that we are meeting the needs of our business guests as well as our leisure and wedding guests etc. Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our coffee and buffets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I live in Melksham and I am very lucky to have such a fab Hotel and Restaurant like Beechfield House on my door step.
The Restaurant food is cooked and served beautiful.But Sunday lunch is a must if you have never been, and excellant value for what you get.The staff are wonderful,looked after by Maria who is brilliant at her job..Rooms are well presented and decorated to a very high standard.
If your travelling in the area please visit and try

Room Tip: Just try for yourselves
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your very complimentary review and for your special mention of Maria and her team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trowbridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Chose this venue for our special occasion having studied reviews on the hotel's own site and visiting the venue beforehand. A receptionist named Jackie said we would not be disappointed that we would have our own exclusive room and we would receive a rolls royce service with excellent cuisine. We really should have read Trip Adviser beforehand to get a cross section of opinions. Pre dinner drinks were pleasant, as was the dining room, i.e. the card room, which my daughter had decorated appropriately for us before our visit. We were due to dine at 8-00 p.m. and arrived at this time after our drinks only to have to wait 30 minutes before a waitress appeared, but this was of no concern at the time as we were in a celebration mood. The starters arrived and were adequate, but the main course was exceptionally poor and we could have dined in Witherspoons and received better standards. No vegetables were served and the four turkey dinners were carved from turkey roll! Not what you would expect in an establishment that says it prides itself on its value for money and great service. Apparently the reason we got turkey roll was because they were too busy to serve proper turkey off the breast, I ask you what sort of place makes excuses such as this. The sweet was also adequate but no coffee, christmas crackers or mince pies were forthcoming as stated on the menu. We had to ask for coffee, which we did receive, but they had the cheek to charge this as an extra. On the evening in question I did not want any argument or fuss and just paid and left. I took it up with the deputy manager the following day and she totally agreed with me that they had failed spectacularly. The overcharge for the coffee of £22 was immediately refunded and later in the week they refunded £150 as a token of their failure. We will not be revisiting this establishment and I would suggest any prospective clients consider their decision to go there very carefully.

If they are so busy and cannot cope with numbers they should not take so many bookings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
It was very dissapointing to receive this review for three reasons:
1) You didn't enjoy your visit to Beechfield House and we weren't able to satisfy your requirements for which we are very sorry.
2) You didn't give us the opportunity to put things right at the time of your visit.
3) Having taken the complaint you made after your visit very seriously we did everything we could to try and satisfy you and thought we had.
I've mentioned this before - if an issue is raised at the time of the visit we will do everything humanly possible to put things right there and then - it's why we are in hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just had a terrible Christmas dinner at Beechfield: Rock hard roast potatoes that were hard to cut , let alone chew, with powdery insides. 3 rounds of dry ,pre-formed turkey.Soggy round of stuffing.4 1/2 brussels with burnt outside leaves, a cocktail sausage with bacon and a smear of gravy. Looked a bit lost on the plate. We did get more gravy and veg when we asked, but overall very poor ,especially for the price!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
So sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Beechfield House for Christmas dinner. We reviewed your feedback which was interesting - it usual to roast potatoes with crispy outers and powdery insides and sausages with bacon are 'pigs in blankets'. All our turkey is of course butcher fresh and none preformed!. Could I suggest in future if there is a problem that you tell us at the time so we can put things right there and then. We really would have much preferred to replace your plates if it meant you went away satisfied. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for our first night to Bath. We wanted something outside of the city centre that took in the countryside. Beechfield House was just this. The entrance was grand, and the surrounding gardens beautiful. Jackie the receptionist was very helpful as we wanted to eat at a pub which offered a hearty english atmosphere. Jackie took care of booking taxi and table for us in a local medieval village. We upgraded to a suite which was excellent. The 4 poster bed was massive and incredible for a good sleep. Everything was clean, spacious and periodically converted. Breakfast in the morning was very nice with a good selection of continental and warm options. The surrounding gardens were brilliant for a walk around after breakfast. Beechfield House is somewhere we definitely would like to go back to. The swimming pool looks excellent when not December, and the massage room looked tempting. A massage could make you feel even more relaxed than you already do at the Beechfield. A great stay!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechfieldHouse, Owner at Beechfield House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and the compliments regarding Jacqui. The pool is lovely in the warmer months and we heat it to approx 85F from Easter until late November. Hope we can tempt you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beechfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechfield House

Address: | Nr Bath, Beanacre, Melksham SN12 7PU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Beanacre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beanacre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beechfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning four AA Red Star country house hotel, near to Bath, Longleat, Lacock and Stonehenge. The outdoor heated pool is gorgeous in the summer, whilst in the winter open fires are as warm as the welcome. Enjoy the beautiful grounds, traditional afternoon tea, fine dining or a beauty treatment with natural 'Pure Fiji' products. Friendly yet professional staff complement this wonderful building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beechfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant & Gardens Hotel Beanacre
Beechfield House Hotel, Restaurant And Gardens
Beechfield Hotel Beanacre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.