We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break up your travel to Cornwall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Midsummer Place | Solstice Park, Amesbury SP4 7SQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £49.00
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amesbury
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Break up your travel to Cornwall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I went to Cornwall during last month. Our travel time would have been in excess of 5 hours taking traffic into consideration so we pre-arranged a "stop over" night at the hotel. The rooms were very comfortable, food to die for, and cooked to perfection. We stayed during the "World Cup" and although not football enthusiasts ourselves, the atmosphere in the lounge was positively contagious. The staff we met were very friendly and helpful, in particular Jo on reception. We were amazed by her knowledge of local events and was able to make plans for a future stay with them whilst attending an event in the area. Most definitely 9/10

Room Tip: Search internet prices, this guarantees the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Sharon O,

I am delighted to read your lovely review of the hotel, I am pleased you were able to dine in the Solstice Bar & Grill Restaurant; this is certainly a hidden gem within the local community and I highly recommend all our guests dine with us to enjoy a fabulous home cooked meal.

I will pass on a very special thank you to Jo for her great contribution to your stay, I know when a guest remembers a particular individual they have certainly gone above the expectation to meet the guests request.

I sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    222
    58
    24
    14
See reviews for
130
196
25
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

8 of us were on a trip to Salisbury races for a birthday - very difficult to find anywhere not too pricey that everyone could afford and had vacancies .
Booked the travelodge which is very reasonably priced!
The staff were friendly and helpful from when we phoned to confirm and throughout the stay! Frances at reception was lovely .
The room was clean and basic and the bed very comfortable . The single bed was a little small. Bathroom with shower was fine. - though it made a lot of noise - vending machine in entrance handy for late night drinks and snacks and Burger King and little chef next door - as it's located by a services .
All in all - good value .

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Please note this review relates to another hotel the guest visited. I encourage Trip Advisor to remove the review and allocate to our competitor hotel in Amesbury.

Marc Solarz
Hotel Directot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were greeted by friendly check in staff and the room was pleasant and clean enough, with a large comfortable bed.

It is approximately a ten minute minute drive to Stonehenge which was very convenient because we were able to have breakfast and leave early for Stonehenge.

The hotel is in a very convenient location and quite close to Salisbury which we visited during our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear safya13,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel following your stay with us last September. I am delighted to read you had a great time and were able to get out and explore the many local attractions. We have been gifted with a great location which allows easy access to Stonehenge and the Medieval City of Salisbury.

I very much hope we are able to welcome you back at some stage in the near future.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed here in 4 rooms (7 Adults &1 Toddler), after visiting Longleat Safari Park. Rooms are very clean, nicely decorated & well equipped, tea/coffee making facilities, iron/ironing board, hairdryer, plenty of wardrobe space, nice bathrooms with double showers. Comfortable beds with Choice of pillows firm/soft. Travel cot provided. We ate in the Solstice Bar & Grill for our evening meal & although service was quite slow, the food was delicious and well worth the wait. We had breakfast included in our stay and that was the best hotel breakfast we have ever had. Very big choice, well presented & the cooked breakfast was of very good quality and very enjoyable. All the staff at this hotel are very friendly & efficient. All in all a very enjoyable stay!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Trace22_63,

Firstly thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Salisbury-Stonehenge as your destination to bring the family; I am pleased to read you took advantage of our excellent package which includes entrance tickets to the beautiful Longleat House & Park.

Subjective on my behalf I have to agree that our Solstice Bar & Grill offers unbeatable quality in terms of our menu offering and quality of product. I note your comments about the slower than expected dinner service, however as everything is prepared fresh on busier nights our kitchen speed maybe not as quick as everyone expects in lieu of ensuring all our diners receive a good quality dish. Great to read your comments about breakfast; although biased agree you will have to go a long way to get a better breakfast than what we serve.

In addition to our Longleat Package we also have a Stonehenge package which offers equal value, I hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here en-route to a family get-together in Salisbury. There were lots of pros and cons to our stay but I would go back.
It is very easy to find on the A303 but it is a bit of a heart-sink moment when you turn into the retail estate and see the huge distribution centres and large building site. On the plus side there is a co-op, Harvester, Pizza Hut within walking distance which made for a very stressless stay.
You can't move for pictures of towering stones in this hotel (and why not!). It is really handy for Stone Henge, but please be warned, the short road to the site gets very busy and it took us loads longer to get there than we thought.
I wasn't bowled over by the executive room as it had curved walls. The shower was baffling to use, (little knob underneath got water through shower). I really didn't like the toilet. It seemed small and the flush only worked for as long as you held the button and I felt I never knew how long to push. On the other side there was no traffic noise and the bed was comfortable. The décor was very pleasant. The room was nice and cool.
Breakfast was very good, (nice bacon) but we didn't appreciate being put on a table for four and having a fifth chair pulled up. This was made worse by the fact that the bowls etc were not cleared from the table. The next day we got a bigger table.
There were only two tea-bags in the room which I was really irritated by but more supplies were eventually forth-coming.
On the whole I felt very comfortable at the hotel and the kids pointed out that I hadn't complained to the hotel once (!) so I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Cheshirehousewife01,

Thank you for a great response, I note your many positives and areas we can improve on. As Stonehenge is so close we have used this truly unique global landmark as our feature to showcase local design and architecture.

I noted your comments about the Executive Rooms; our bathrooms are furnished with some very exclusive Italian white porcelain items, however I note that in some cases it takes a little more investigation to get them to work. I am pleased to read you took the opportunity to have breakfast with us and it is great to read so many positives about our breakfast product however I am sorry about the delay you experienced on the first day in getting your plates cleared. I must stress this is not the norm as our restaurant team are extremely efficient in servicing our guests needs.

I hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future for what I can assure you will be an equally enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We (six of us) stopped here on the off chance of beds for the night at about 2 o'clock in the morning. The desk staff were very friendly and helpful and soon sorted out 3 rooms for us, all of which were clean and spacious, with comfortable beds. The bathrooms were also good. I can't comment on the food as we left without having breakfast. Would definitely stay there again if I'm in that area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcS441, General Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Terry O,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to highlight the hotel on Trip Advisor following your recent visit, I am delighted to hear the 6 of you were given a great welcome by our night team. The night brigade is often the forgotten part of the hotel as their duties are done whilst everyone is tucked up in bed.

I am sorry you did not have the opportunity to dine with us however I hope we can welcome you back in the near future and on your return visit I encourage you to try our Solstice Bar and Grill for the best breakfast in town.

Kind regards

Marc Solarz
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel was overpriced for the quality of the rooms. We stayed two nights. Some of the staff were very friendly ... others not so welcoming. Beware as some of the rooms don't include breakfast. Don't think we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear COwheels,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not fully satisfied with the overall value of our hotel. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge

Address: Midsummer Place | Solstice Park, Amesbury SP4 7SQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the incredibly bold and stylish sophistication of the closest hotel accommodation to the mystical Stonehenge - Holiday Inn Salisbury-Stonehenge. Located on the A303 in the heart of picturesque Wiltshire, England, our contemporary Holiday Inn Salisbury hotel is easily accessible from the M3 motorway, London, the Midlands, and the West Country. Work, relax, and make the most of your stay in the modern, air-conditioned comfort of our well-appointed rooms and suites. Savour mouth-watering cuisine or unwind with casual cocktails in our AA Rosette award winning Solstice Bar & Grill restaurant. Enjoy a STARBUCKS coffee while making use of the free Wi-Fi in our lounge, ideal for informal business meetings or just catching up with friends. Experience easy access to the colourful landscape of sights and attractions dotting the English countryside. Whether you’re traveling for business or on holiday, you’ll enjoy the superb amenities and boutique-style services that set us apart from the usual Salisbury Stonehenge hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge Hotel Amesbury
Holiday Inn Amesbury
Salisbury Stonehenge Holiday Inn
Amesbury Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.