We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A business Trip with a great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Midsummer Place | Solstice Park, Amesbury SP4 7SQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £49.00
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amesbury
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A business Trip with a great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Well my third Holiday Inn in short succession and things got better, Derby, Nottingham then Stonehenge. Stonehenge was the best of them all, friendly approachable great rooms excellent bathroom, comfortable work station clean with dedicated very helpful staff - nothing was any trouble at all.

Good breakfast and very good evening meal.

would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Top floor rooms can be disturbed if very windy as the roof rattles in the wind, free WIFI in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. We are delighted with your rating and very positive comments after your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    221
    58
    24
    14
See reviews for
130
196
25
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Have stayed on numerous occassions and reguarly get a room upgrade; travelling alone on business. Room service very good, and restaurant ideal for eating alone or as part of a group. A modern and comfortable hotel which has very friendly and welcoming staff.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room, have stayed on numerous occassions. All rooms immaculate, air conditioning wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you continue to enjoy your stays with us. What a great compliment each time you return! We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
449 helpful votes 449 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This has become our hotel of choice when we visit the Salisbury area. As it's about 10 miles out of town, its not necessarily the most convenient place to stay, but that is more than compensated for the reasonable pricing, ease of car parking and quality and comfort of the rooms.

On our last visit we were upgraded to a very comfortable executive room which was much larger than the standard rooms and features several additional items (sofa, bathrobes etc). Having said that, the standard rooms are perfectly comfortable with good quality bedding and more
than adequate sound-proofing.

The hotel restaurant is pricey but has some interesting things on the menu such as scallops and prawns with chinese vegetables and pan seared calves liver with pancetta. Mention must also be made of the excellent breakfast which we always have delivered to the room - very good quality and always served hot and on time.

Staff at the front desk are friendly and efficient and do seem to care about making sure the guests are looked after.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. We are delighted with your comments and rating regarding our services, staff and facilities and we look forward to welcomg you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Driving in to the hotel from Southampton airport, unless you like farm land....there is NOTHING to see. Then out of no where appears an oasis. This building / facility is probably the most modern building in the entire area near Stonehenge.

Pros:
1. Upon entry into the hotel you are greeted with a very courteous staff that actually smile (that's not the norm at many places.)
2. Very nice quiet rooms with most of the the amenities business travelers expect
3. Nicely stocked mini fridge
4. Clean and modern bathroom and the shower gets hot
5. The Soltice restaurant in the lobby of the hotel blowed me away. When traveling abroad, eating in rural areas can be hazardous. Often the food temp is not adequate, the food prep/ hand washing may not be adequate or pests and rodent control is left unchecked. So, I typically don't risk eating anything that is not prepackaged, with seals intact.
However, I ate every night in the restaurant. I had the Fetta Cheese and Olives, Grilled Salmon, Mashed potatoes, Mixed Veggies and a glass of Riesling. Every night the food was so fantastic, I just ate the same thing every night.


Cons:
1. No gym - I was stranded for additional days due to snow (the hotel accommodated me without hesitation )). BUT It would have been nice to get a workout
2. No wireless in the rooms - no one wants to sit at the desk, connected to a cable all day to work and then after work, email or blog. Wireless in the rooms is essential for business travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and dining experience in our award winning restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you again soon along with some better weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Whilst this place has a restaurant, if you're on a budget do not panic as there is a a co-op, Pizza Hut, Harvester and KFC on the same site. Stonehenge is only about 6 miles away and there is plenty to do in Salisbury. Rooms are well appointed if a little impersonal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you appreciated our ideal location only 3 miles from Stonehenge and 8 miles from Salisbury. We do have an excellent award winning restaurant with prices to suit all tastes. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We decided to stay here a couple of nights on way to visit family over xmas. Close to Salibury and obviously Stonehenge but also not far from Longleat (Which was better than id expected).
Liked the bar area and breakfast was good. Didn't eat there in evening as wanted to try a local country pub.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our location and good food in our award winning restaurant. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It is still a couple of miles from the Stones so don't be fooled into thinking you have a view!!!

Very over priced for what it offers, very small but clean rooms and an expensive bar and you pay extra for WiFi!!!!
The food in the restaraunt is very nice though and there is a Pizza Hut and Harvester on the same site

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResTeam, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are only 2 miles from Stonehenge and conveniently situated on the side of the A303 which also passes the Stones! We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal in our award winning restaurant. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge

Address: Midsummer Place | Solstice Park, Amesbury SP4 7SQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the incredibly bold and stylish sophistication of the closest hotel accommodation to the mystical Stonehenge - Holiday Inn Salisbury-Stonehenge. Located on the A303 in the heart of picturesque Wiltshire, England, our contemporary Holiday Inn Salisbury hotel is easily accessible from the M3 motorway, London, the Midlands, and the West Country. Work, relax, and make the most of your stay in the modern, air-conditioned comfort of our well-appointed rooms and suites. Savour mouth-watering cuisine or unwind with casual cocktails in our AA Rosette award winning Solstice Bar & Grill restaurant. Enjoy a STARBUCKS coffee while making use of the free Wi-Fi in our lounge, ideal for informal business meetings or just catching up with friends. Experience easy access to the colourful landscape of sights and attractions dotting the English countryside. Whether you’re traveling for business or on holiday, you’ll enjoy the superb amenities and boutique-style services that set us apart from the usual Salisbury Stonehenge hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge Hotel Amesbury
Holiday Inn Amesbury
Salisbury Stonehenge Holiday Inn
Amesbury Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.