We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb Little Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairlawn House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fairlawn House to your Saves list
Fairlawn House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   42 High Street, Amesbury SP4 7DL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Amesbury B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A superb Little Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here as a group over the weekend. It was stunning. Very peaceful, very very clean and tidy. Very homely and very cosy and English! the family are wonderful people. the Breakfast was just amazing (try the eggs!) and the bar on the evening was just really lovely. Thank you for a lovely time we are coming again next year. I highly recommend this little place to stay especially if you are visiting Stonehenge as we were. Its right in the heart of Amesbury and on easy access routes. A truly lovely Place. Keep it up guys! you are doing it so right! with love, Tammy xxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    63
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
103
17
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KINGDTON UPON HULL United Kingdom of Great Britain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at the Farlawn House Hotel in Amesbury for 8 months (January 2012 to September 2012). Throughout this time the hotel service was truly excellent providing me with rooms ( I think I stayed in most of them over the time was there) that were spotlessly clean, very comfortably warm in the cold weather and equally cool in the Spring/Summer. The TV reception (cable link?) was a little 'flakey' but the wall mounted set up in most rooms was well received when I wanted to put my feet up after work and catch the news etc. No 'SKY' facility and for the room rate that was understandable, however, a full suite, including live televised sport was available across the road in the very hospitable George Hotel. The 'full English' breakfast was lovely and deviations were available on request and without fuss. An evening meal wasn't available although this was trialled for a short period of time during my stay and on the few occasions I ate, the meal was good but with the numerous outlets nearby collectively offering a wider variety of food, I preferred to use them as it seemed, did most of the other guests and the service was terminated. Car parking was surprisingly easy and on most occasions I was able to leave my vehicle after 1800 in the high street outside the hotel and if that was not possible the public car park at the rear of the building was avaialble with a 'hotel car pass' dispayed. The family management team was really warm and friendly and made me feel at home; nothing seemed too much trouble while always helpful, notably, in the early days as I had never been to that part of the country before and needed some asssistance in navigating my way around. I highly recommend this hotel; top value for money for both social and business uses, particularly, the latter when compared to the return from the Holiday Inn at Solstice Park and other well known operators in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Warm welcome and excellent service. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, awesome bacon! Lovely family run business with added extra of a bar to have a nice cold beverage, good location. We would definitely stay again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I had a lovely stay here recently. The rooms were laid out well, comfortable bed and amenities. Spotlessly clean. At breakfast, probably the best poached eggs on toast I have ever eaten. The dining room is beautiful and spacious.

If you're touring the area, this is a great place to be central from. Fantastic Indian restaurant "Tandoori Nights" is just a couple of doors away and shops a short walk. I couldn't hear any noise from the road and my room was on the ground floor. The owners have a local arragement for car parking so no worries there.

It is family run and everyone was so friendly and helpful. If work allows, I would have this B&B as my first choice every time. Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

if your looking for accomodation close to stonehenge and the Indian restaurant Tandoori nights in Amesbury then look no further...this is it...
I cant fault anything with fairlawn House. Just A great convenient place to stay and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I am a very critical person, and even I could not find fault with this establishment.

First impressions of the bedroom (triple) was that it was basic and a bit tired. On further investigation the room was clean and had everything we required. The property is being refurbished and the lounge, reception area and breakfast room have all been done to a very high standard.

The owners made you feel very welcome and it is the first time that we have sat in the lounge area of any bed and breakfast. The breakfasts were cooked to order and delicious.

This is a rare occassion for us as a family where we can honestly say when we next visit the vicinity (mainly for Longleat) this will be the place we will stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Beautiful B&B. Room clean and a wonderfully comfortable bed. Lovely snug bar showing the olympics and a very tasty full english in the morning. Keith and Tracey were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairlawn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawn House

Address: 42 High Street, Amesbury SP4 7DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Amesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairlawn House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairlawn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairlawn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.