We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“deep fried muck” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Bell - JD Wetherspoon

The Bell - JD Wetherspoon
13-15 Salisbury Street, Amesbury, England
01980677700
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Amesbury
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Newly refurbished Wetherspoon pub in the centre of Amesbury. Drop in for a visit and enjoy the beautiful beer gardens, good value food and a wide variety of drinks including
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“deep fried muck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

dirty glasses, smells of fat and B.O. made stupid mistake of going in for a roast. Even potatoes were deep fried, closest the meat served has ever been to an animal was when it passed through its digestive system

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    47
    22
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food and staff, too many foul mouthed alcoholics”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Have visited The Bell on many occasions, had some very good food and found the staff to be helpful at all times.

However, the downside is that the bar attracts too many of the local alcoholics who go there because of the cheap beer, at least a pound a pint cheaper than other local pubs. It would be OK if they did not swear, but they do. I have had occasion to speak to the manager about a couple of "yobs" uttering the F word in full hearing of many eaters at nearby tables.

If this sort a disgusting language continues unabated, many, including families with children will take their trade elsewhere, which would be a shame as Amesbury needs somewhere like this.

My comments have been reflected by other reviewers. The management must really get a grip of this and reprimand or even ban persistent offenders.

I would have given top marks to The Bell (for food quality and staff service) but because of the loutish behaviour of some of their "drinkers" I have reduced my ratings.

I would be obliged if the manager (Elvis) could respond to my review, if he is in the house ;)



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherspoon T, Manager at The Bell - JD Wetherspoon, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear regsiee,

We are sorry that you have had to endure any foul language that has been uttered within your vicinity. Make no mistake, we try to operate a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to dealing with swearing in our establishment. If it comes down to it, customers can, and have, been barred for repeated foul language.

Please accept our sincere apologies with regards to the obscenities you heard on your visit. Myself, and the rest of my team, will double our efforts in our vigilance in trying to keep swearing to non-existent levels. We hope that these incidents have not put you off visiting The Bell, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Elvis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“McDonalds for Grown Ups”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Basically just like any other JD site a fast food joint that serves beer. Great if you want cheap beer but tables never get wiped. Service at bar out of rotation. Don't like serving old crocks like me. If you are female with your top poppin out the male staff serve you first. If you are young male with biceps the female staff will serve you first.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Excellent breakfast, good value for money. Nice staff and surroundings. just what we expect from Wetherspoons.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Cheap n cheerfull”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

What you'd expect from weatherspoons, cheap and cheerfull and ok pub grub. Rude staff, that could benefit from cheering up themselves!!! Shame though as this is the only thing letting it down.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell - JD Wetherspoon also viewed

Amesbury, Wiltshire
Amesbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Bell - JD Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bell - JD Wetherspoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.