We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my first visit but will be my last.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Solstice Bar & Grill

Solstice Bar & Grill
Mid Summer Place | Solstice Park, Amesbury SP4 7SQ, England
0845 241 3535
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Solstice Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Amesbury
Price range: $26 - $53
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Think Salisbury and you���ll think Solstice ��� not the mid-summer phenomenon beloved of druids but the super chic Bar and Grill at Amesbury���s uber-modern Holiday Inn hotel. Situated only moments from the world famous site of Stonehenge, Solstice is glamorously modern, its sleek interior anything but pre-historic. One wall is shot through with a blaze of glass, providing countryside views in the day and inky black reflections at night, while the rest of the room is bright and spacious, furnished in monochrome and lit by low-hanging chrome lamps. Despite its futuristic styling the atmosphere of the restaurant is cosy and welcoming, thanks in no small part to the professional and friendly staff who ensure your every need is met during your visit, be it a swift lunch or a leisurely dinner. From the elegance and ease of a continental style croissant and cappuccino in the morning to the hearty modern European mains of evening dinners and the comforting familiarity of burgers and steaks, plus the well-stocked bar with its excellent wine list and numerous beers, Solstice is a venue for any occasion.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not my first visit but will be my last.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We live locally so this isn't our first visit. Service tonight was rubbish. I got served the wrong food. Sat ages waiting. Food was served before we were given any cutlery. Basically a rubbish evening which cost £165!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
runcorn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“hungry plenty to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

the convenience of the hotel restaurant was very useful if you did not want to travel and the service the same the surroundings of the griil bar was very pleasing and comfortable.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good food, good service. Nice atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Staff was pleasant and helpful, dinner was quiet and relaxing. Breakfast buffet was a little hectic but still the food was good.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sunday specials to be avoided”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I took the family, including my mother, for a Mother's Day meal on a Sunday. Self-service and set menu, which is fine but to be honest as we'd visited previously for a Christmas party I had high hopes and was rather let down by the quality of the food. The cauliflower was virtually raw and some of the food was not terribly hot - neither were the plates. It was a shame as we were really looking forward to it and it was rather spoiled by the quality of the food provided. The entertainment was relaxing though as they had a jazz singer. If I went again it would be to eat from their a la carte menu which is of a much higher standard and presentation.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food ruined by appauling service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Lets start with the positives we had good food, some different dishes on the menu so tried some new stuff, fish & chips but with battered salmon or red snapper for example.
Now the negatives, it was busy with a few large groups but there was enough staff to handle it, there seemed to be noone leading the team which is where I think the issues lay.
We got our starters in ok time but it was an hour from sitting down to main meal served. When our starter plates were cleared by someone who hadnt served us before she asked if we wanted to see the desert menu! We said we were expecting our main course next.
When the mains arrived another waiter we'd not had knocked an empty bottle off the table but didn't offer up a sorry, lucky it was empty. He also failed to clear the bread plates off we'd used before the starters.
I wanted a 2nd glass of wine but he ran off so fast after serving mains & didnt utter a word I didn't get a chance to ask. After that we were ignored, noone asked if our food was ok or we needed more drinks. We finished & waited ages then the waiter who'd knocked the bottle cleared our plates in silence, this time dropping a fork off our plates, he swore loudly about this then walked off leaving the fork & he didnt return for the bread plates, fork (we picked up) or to ask if we wanted dessert etc.
We waited a while then attempted to attract the attention of any staff as I wanted a coffee but all the staff were hanging round the bar area chatting or all clearing away 1 table which was a 1 person job.
I thought things couldnt get any worse but then the "fork" waiter comes over to the table, silent AGAIN & chucks the bill on the table, no eye contact & walks straight off again!! At this point I was very angry. How incredible rude! We hadn't finished our meal & we hadn't asked for the bill!
We eventually get hold of another waiter & explain our situation & he apologised & we were happy enough at least he was polite & attentive but by then the evening was ruined.
Overall this restaurant looks very modern, nicely decorated & a small but considered menu is acceptable but without properly trained waiting staff it means nothing. Some serious urgent training needs to be done with certain members of the team & the restaurant should really consider a head waiter to keep things in check as it charges enough for the food! They lost out on potentially another £20 on our bill if we'd ever have got pudding & extra drinks!
This was without question the worse service I've ever recieved in a restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solstice Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Amesbury, Wiltshire
Amesbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Solstice Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solstice Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.