We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great site, probably not worth paying to go in” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stonehenge

Stonehenge
2 miles West of Amesbury | Junction of A303 and A344/A360 - Wiltshire, Amesbury SP3 4DX, England
+44 870 333 1181
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$122*
and up
Stonehenge, Windsor Castle and Bath Day Trip from...
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Amesbury
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Mysterious Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the most important survivals of prehistoric England, Stonehenge consists of a group of huge rough-cut stones, some more than 20 feet high, arranged in two concentric circles.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great site, probably not worth paying to go in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had always wanted to see Stonehenge, but after several stories about how disappointing the site is, I took some advice and just viewed the stones from the roadside. And I'm glad I did... I think they charge almost £8 per person to just get near the stones (and you're not allowed to touch the stones or walk through them). You can get a great view of the site from the road, and there's a free parking lot if you go during the week (I think they charge all week long in the summer months). The stones are very interesting, but there isn't anything else to see at the site, and its situated directly in the middle of two busy roads. My advice would be to avoid spending the extra £8 per person, and just see the site from the side of the road. You can probably get your fill of Stonehenge in about 10 minutes.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,851
    1,276
    636
    234
    156
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Smaller than I expected from pictures I seen previously, but it is something amazing to see knowing the history and how they've been built. It is fascinating. As it doesn't take long to go around, it is nice to do as a part of a bus trip like I did with Golden Tour from Victoria coach station. I did the tour Stonehenge and Bath together. Enjoyed it so much and the tour guy was very nice and helpful.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Every time I visit Stonehenge, I always feel fascinated by the place and the history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I took a day trip with Golden Tours from London to Stonehenge, Salisbury and Bath. I've been to Stonehenge a number of times in all sorts of weather and each time the place still fascinates me.

From Stonehenge, we went to Salisbury cathedral. The restaurant inside the cathedral is a great place to eat because you can sit and ponder the cathedral from the glass roof. Salisbury is a beautiful city and is worth spending the whole afternoon there. We did not have the time because we had to continue on to Bath. A place like Bath really makes you wish you'd paid more attention in history class. It is really a natural as well as an engineering marvel left by the Romans. A stroll in the city of Bath is relaxing and Tish Marchant, our guide said that outside of Italy, you could not find a better place to have ice cream than here in Bath.

The journey from Bath to London is about 2 hours. It's not that long really because Tish fill you up with the history and explanations about buildings and places of interest. The time just passes and we got back to London at 7 pm.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamlin, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed doing the audio tour. I found it more interesting than I thought it would be. Hard to comprehend all the time and effort to get these stoned to this location and then to place them there in that formation.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A must see while in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a wonderful little day trip while visiting London. My wife and I set out around noon from the greater London area and made it there, did the full audio tour and made it back home at 5pm and missed all traffic! It was GREAT! This attraction is a MUST do as it is so stinking OLD and amazing to see in person. It is fairly cheap too! For $8 you can spend as long as you like there. I highly recommend it for anyone looking for a life long memory!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonehenge also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to Stonehenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonehenge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.