We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yorkshire Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wentbridge House

Save Saved
You added Wentbridge House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wentbridge House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Great North Road, Wentbridge WF8 3JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wentbridge
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yorkshire Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

After visiting Wentbridge House on the two previous Yorkshire Days and thoroughly enjoying it, we decided to attend this year having a stand at the event and staying overnight as well. Everything was well planned and organised from the offset by the hotel. The day was well attended and enjoyable. We treated ourselves to a champagne afternoon tea which was delicious. That evening we only wanted a bite of something to eat, and all that was on offer was a 3 course dinner. After talking to the staff we were offered a starter off the menu, which went down a treat, Some of the staff had been on duty all day, and yet still they couldnt do enough for you. Our bedroom was spacious, well decorated and very comfortable. The choice for breakfast was excellent in a relaxing atmosphere. Babs is the best waitress I have ever come across (and I am sliver service trained myself). I cant praise the hotel enough, we have already provisionally booked to stay next year for my 50th birthday. Thank you Wentbridge House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    57
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
90
136
7
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

having travelled south for hours on the A1 we saw an advertisement of the Wentbridge House Hotel on the A1 and thought it would be a great place to stop and have dinner before continuing our journey south for many more hours. So we came specially off the A1, the receptionist referred us to their bistro as the restaurant was full (a seminar took place at the time). Arriving at the half empty bistro, luke warm staff with a fairly empty seating plan informed us that we could not eat there as we did not stay at the hotel. WHY advertise the bistro & restaurant if it is only for resident hotel guests? - Just as well because in the same village there is a great pup - The Blue Bell Inn - that fit us in despite of being full and we had a super meal for an excellent price!

Room Tip: Don't bother coming off the A1 just for food - they won't serve you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I delivered a training Course here, which meant staying the night before. The main a la Carte restaurant was not open but dined in the bar area, with a colleague. The food was well presented and enjoyable. I found that the Staff were attentive but the area was not overly busy. Breakfast was good, with 'bone-in' Kippers as opposed to the usual fillets that you get in hotels. The room for delivering the training was well-presented and met my needs. Buffet Sandwich lunch. The hotel is in a lovely location but does lack Spa facilities and this is more an observation than a gripe. Bedroom was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badsworth West Yorks
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is our third visit in recent months and have been let down on each occasion by the standard of service. The two previous visits were marred by long wait for drinks and having to ask for someone to pour the wine. Our recent visit saw very cloudy black sheep served which didn't taste good. On pointing this out to the waitress she took the beer back to the bar area and after 10 minutes without response enquired with the barman who then replaced it with an alternative.
During the meal our dinner friends asked for more white wine to be poured and the waitress just poured 2 glasses for the ladies totally ignoring the two men!! On the plus side the food was excellent if pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Our party consisted of 6 for an evening meal two of which were from Canada. After id done some research and read reviews i recommended that they stayed here for the evening and to ease their travel to eat here in the evening. However after the meal i actually felt embarrassed yhat my selection of restaurant was poor due to sub standard food especially steak and inflated price. (probably think they can add an extra few quid per dish due to the location)
I actually after mulling over our experience (3 ended up with dodgy stomachs) i sent an email to my cousin in Canada to apologise about the food. I hasten to add the four of us who live around the area wont rush back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

A very comfortable experience made special by the warm and friendly staff - incredibly committed and attentive making the whole experience a special one! I look forward to returning very soon.
Babs and Hannah made a great impression, looking like they loved to be at work.

Room Tip: The "new block" rooms were very well equipped and comfortable - highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was a business stop over on one of the hottest days of the year. The staff were friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. I sat outside overlooking the fabulous gardens relaxing with a drink and book. The food was excellent and I slept very well in a fabulously comfortable, cool room. I would recommend Wentbridge House without hesitation and I when I am up on business again this will certainly be my first choice to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wentbridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentbridge House

Address: The Great North Road, Wentbridge WF8 3JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wentbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wentbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wentbridge House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country house hotel set in 20 acres of gardens and grounds in the Went Valley within easy reach of the cities of Doncaster, Leeds, Wakefield and York. All bedrooms are individually designed with pocket sprung mattresses, free Wi-Fi and Elemis bathroom products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Wentbridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentbridge House Hotel Wentbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wentbridge House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.