We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farsyde just gets it right every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Farsyde - CLOSED

The Farsyde
1-3 New Brook Street, Ilkley LS29 8DQ, England
01943 602030
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Relaxed and informal, with a high standard and quality of food and service. Everything is made fresh everyday. With an owner head chef the food is always of an excellent standard. We take pride in making your visit to us enjoyable, whether is a special celebration of simply out for tea taking advantage of our great Early Bird menu.
ilkley
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Farsyde just gets it right every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Farsyde just never lets you down. We are fairly regular visitors (3/4 times a year) to Farsyde. Went on a really busy (good to see) Saturday night. Terrific service from the start. They just get the balance between formality and informality just right. Great food as ever.
Farsyde remains top of the tree. It isn't Michelin star stuff, but boy it's close and makes Bistro Pierre look like pub grub

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    40
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We ate one friday night and and expected the restaurant to be busy however it wasn't which was a surprise. I've read most of the other reviews so was expecting something fantastic and although the food was good, well presented and hot, for me the service let the place down. The staff need to inject a little personality and smile!!! Food and restaurants needs to be enjoyable but the service style was to formal. I'm not sure if the Crescent hotel over the road and its bistro has taken some custom away and the fact that the deli has recently closed down but the strange mix of deli shop and restaurant tables just doesn't work. I also think the food is over priced for what it is.

All in all, a good night out, good food, nice restaurant but the service, the deli and the price just let it down for me.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

Fish pie is heavenly!
All restaurant customers should take one home for dinner at home the next night.
Yummy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Yorkshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The service and food are excellent at The Farsyde, but you must book early to get a table. The menu is extensive and the chef and owner, Gavin, is happy to help with special diets such as vegan, as long as he has a little notice. The blackboard menu is a great addition too - so much choice!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely evening, impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The Farsyde is superb and offers a very polished experience. From the confirmation phone call the day before our visit to the opening the door when we are leaving.. this place knows how to do it right.
Adventurous courses such as rawe tuna and avocado roll with gin and tonic jelly cubes makes eatiing here quite exciting. we have been quite a few times and it deserves the praise it gets here on Tripadvisor,
Few minor niggles: it's looking a little tired.. especially in the loos!
If you can book a booth. We forgot and ended up near the door which can be painfully draughty.
otherwsie perfection on the plate!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Farsyde also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Farsyde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.