We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The DalesWay

The DalesWay
Trail Head, Ilkley, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Attractions in Ilkley
Type: Trails, Sports
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Loved the whole experience. Friendly, good value and comfortable room. Ian the owner very helpful, as were his staff. Jenna, Toby, Margaret to name a few. Very warm and friendly. Breakfast great value as were the evening meals. Definitely stay again and recommend to others

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
W Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Our second long distance walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The scenery is stunning, the signposting generally very good. We did it in 6 days which was fine, but could possibly have done it in 5. The section between the M6 and Burneside (maybe 6-8 miles) is comparatively dull, and Burneside itself does little to lighten the mood. Bramaskew B&B was the best rest stop, but the Burnsall Manor House came a close second.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I live at the Ilkley end of the Dalesway and have walked the whole length several times, usually in stages. It is glorious, varied, beautiful scenery, can be strenuous in places and it helps if you have longish legs getting over the stiles, especially at the Cumbria end. My favourite bits are Sedbergh to Dent, everywhere between Bolton Abbey and Hubberholme, Langstrothdale, and Grayrigg. Over the hill from Dent valley to Ribblehead is very good too. You can meet lots of sheep and bullocks, but just stand your ground, they are harmless. Try using the Settle-Carlisle line to a starting point midway: Ribblehead station across Cam houses and Oughtershaw to Buckden, where you can catch a bus back to Ilkley or Skipton, is well worth it.There are some exciting historical and architectural gems to be spotted en route, often linked to Quakers.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Ilkley to Grassington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Dales Way is wonderful in every season and weather.The scenery is second to none and if you walk with company it's even better.There are plenty of pubs and tea rooms on the way and Grassington is one of the best Dales village with a pretty high street and plenty of shops and places to eat.The Pride of the Dales bus service will get you back to Ilkley if you are not doing all of the Dales way.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highs and lows of walking The Dalesway.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

First of all I want to say that overall this was an excellent walk. The route is very picturesque and generally well signposted. Unlike the Coast to Coast path however along the entire 81 miles we met not one other DW walker. Apart from some Duke of Edinburgh award teenagers between Kettlewell and Buckden we came across only a handful of locals walking dogs.
On the leg from Ilkley to Grassington we opted to catch the bus back to our car in Ilkley and spend the night at home catching train and bus back out to Grassington for the start of day 2.
We stopped at The Station Inn at Ribblehead - really good , water bed in room 7 but no TV - it had disappeared mysteriously recently said the owner. With brilliant views of Whernside and Batty Moss viaduct we didn't care about lack of TV.
Our second evening was spent at a little gem of a farmhouse in Howgill ( Lune Valley near Sedbergh ) called Thwaite Farm. Mr and Mrs Parker made us really welcome and gave us tea and scones in their kitchen and even though again no TV we could have watched theirs in the lounge . It was far better to chat with them until 10 PM when Mr Parker called time -he had to be up at his usual 5.30 tomorrow. Breakfast was good and Mr Parker escorted us past the bull in his field . On the DW you will come across loads of signs saying "Bull in field " and apart from this one we never saw a single one.
Our final days walking to Bowness was the most frustrating. Our Dalesway guide by Colin Speakman had suggested a diversion through Grayrigg where we thought we would get a drink - nothing available in Grayrigg. We pressed on to Burneside - now 12 miles out from Thwaite. Again the guide advised that you could get refreshments . The local pub - Jolly Angler I think - was not serving food and the fish and chip shop with open sign displayed was closed. We were advised to press on to Staveley !!!! From Sedbergh to Burneside nearly 20 miles , the only place to get a drink was the local Co-op and there was nowhere to get a much needed warm drink.
We stopped that evening at Blenheim Lodge in Bowness and it really is the first place to stay at the end of the walk. Semi formal but friendly enough . We limped down the hill for a pub meal at The Royal Oak - good food and friendly service - and then wandered around the lake which was beautiful in the fading light.
The walk was harder than we expected with the section up to Cam Houses and the highest part of the walk a challenge. We did it in 4 days and in hindsight perhaps should have taken longer.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The DalesWay also viewed

 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The DalesWay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The DalesWay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.