We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine

The Vine
7 Grove Promenade, Ilkley, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 79 Restaurants in Ilkley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My partner and I visited this restaurant last week and I simply can not express my joy at finding such a good quality, great value restaurant, Both my partner and I had beautiful food cooked to perfection (all three courses).

The service was friendly and relaxed - we did not wait for anything but also were not harassed. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience that I would recommend to anyone wishing to experience great food in a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    34
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Italian visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We visited the Vine Restaurant just for taste something different. The restaurant is small and very simple, natural, it has opened kitchen, customers can see inside to the kitchen area. The staff is very nice, they have lovely accent. I felt as if i would be in abroad:) and i liked it. The menu is simple and percpicuous there are only a few dishes (soup and ravioli)what we should ask for the daily one. They serve bread and balsamic oil automatically before your starter. We ordered Carpaccio for starter,/for share/ and our mains: Beef Lasagne and italian spicy sausage gnocchetti vine paste. Both were tasteful, delicious, typical italian dishes accompanied italian red wine, we enjoyed it.
Some negatives:
They dont sell draught lagers, either cider, only bottled italian beers available.
There are not salt and pepper on the table, your server ask if you need fresh ground black pepper or parmesan but only to your main courses.
thanks for this dinner:)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not up to Yorkshire Post review standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

An early evening visit on 10th April 2013 for a birthday meal resulted in disappointment. Dishes ordered from the a la carte menu, fritto misto and escalope of veal valdostana, were presented lukewarm in the first instance and stone cold in the second. The batter to the calamari was soft; the whitebait were crisp but cold. A tomato and mozarella salad and a lasagne were acceptable whilst a pizza margherita looked uninspired. Our attention was not drawn to the need to order vegetables separately at additional cost. The wines by the glass were however excellent. We did not linger for a desert. On this showing and if a second chance is deserved perhaps better to venture there before 6pm and eat off a 2 dishes for £9.95 midday till 6pm menu, in the hope that the chef's attention to his a la carte menu will improve over time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Italian Run By South Americans!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I visited last Thursday, having read a promising write up in the Yorkshire Post. We were not disappointed.
The setting is clean and simple, the chairs very comfortable and the tables a good size, (which is a refreshing change from the recent trend at many restaurants, where they seem to think it acceptable to force you to dine at tables the size of a postage stamp, just so they can squeeze more covers in).
Service was friendly and efficient and timings between courses were good, enabling us to have a relaxed and convivial meal.
The Vine serves a wide range of Italian food but on the night we plumped for pizza's and puddings. Frankly, we could not fault the food, which had clearly been prepared with care, using very good quality ingredients. From the mutterings coming from neighbouring tables, where everything from pasta dishes to fish and steaks were being eaten, it was clear we were not alone in our views.
If I have any suggestion for improvement, it would be that once they have established themselves, they invest in softening the decor, as the colour scheme in there is a bit plain and a bit bright.
That said, we have booked to go again this evening with friends and are really looking forward to it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another great meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Another great meal at the Vine and fantastic value. Really good for families with a mix of fixed price and kids menus on offer before 6pm during the week, much better than either Pizza Express or Piccolino in this respect.

An accomplished kitchen with friendly service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vine also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.