We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere, great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Vine
7 Grove Promenade, Ilkley, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 72 restaurants in Ilkley
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Have been here a few times since it opened and tried lots of different dishes. My husband absolutely loves the steaks here and says they are the best he has had. The antipasto for starter is lovely and the freshly made ravioli is always superb. The atmosphere is lovely and relaxed, and the children are made to feel really welcome (they especially like being able to see the chef cooking all the food!!) The prices are very reasonable especially the children's menu and the lunchtime offer of two courses for £9.95 (which can actually be enjoyed as an early dinner which we did on our recent visit!!)
we will certainly be returning very soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    31
    20
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ilkley
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“La Sila of old, but much better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were regulars at La Sila when Vittorio ran it and we were so disappointed when he returned to Italy. The next owner ruined the place in a few months. We had heard The Vine was good. It was, and it was so good to climb the stairs, remember the "good old days" and find that the new owners had produced a really great restaurant. Nice relaxed but efficient atmosphere and really good food at a price around 25% lower than Picollinos who have lost their way completely. The family running this deserve to succeed. We'll be back soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Farnhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We Went for a birthday meal, midweek. The restaurant was almost full and our table was one in front of a wall of mirrors, which was a little uncomfortable . The service as very slow and casual. The starters and main courses were tasty and good quality, but the desserts were very disappointing , bland and lacking in taste and texture. The background music was a bizarre mix of really old stuff. The restaurant lacked atmosphere a very disappointing night out .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I'm loving this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I've been a few times now and on each occasion had a great experience. The food is fresh and tasty. It's very family oriented and looks to have become the destination of choice for families and birthday dinner early doors. Almost don't want to flag how good it is but as I want them to succeed I'm sharing! I probably wouldn't choose for a date night but would be my first choice for family and look forward to trying with girl friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a bit of a wait but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went for an early Mother's day celebration - 3 generations. At 5.40pm the place was almost empty; by 6pm was full land putting pressure on the kitchen. We had to wait some time for the food and one dish - the duck - wasn't very hot when it arrived. The rest of the dishes, mainly pizzas, were excelllent and the seafood risotto outstanding. The garlic bread we had while waiting was also excellent. Good vfm and staff very friendly and helpful, though we'd have preferred to pour our own wine - a nice chianti classico. We'll definitely go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vine also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.