We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wells Cafe & Bistro

Wells Cafe & Bistro
7 Wells Road, Ilkley, England
01943-60-17-93
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Ilkley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

FAB-U-LOUS ! Don't think about, Just go and sample the delights. The friendliness of Richard and his staff, the service, the food and the value for money was first class. We can't wait to go again

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    28
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“What a great little restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Our first visit to Ilkley, so we checked Tripadvisor for restaurant recommendations. Chose The Wells based on overwhelmingly positive feedback. I can say that it's all justified. We'd left it late to get a table for 8 o clock, but we got a table at the 'early sitting'.

The restaurant looks great after its refurb - it's small but doesn't feel cramped. Regarding the food, I can only reiterate what other reviewers have said: delicious, well cooked and presented with reasonable prices. Friendly and attentive service, without being obtrusive.

The owners seem to be doing everything right - they deserve to succeed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Its hard to believe that such a small venue can turn out such consistently great food.

We have been back twice already since the refit and the food is just as good, while the decore is a significant improvement. Lots of attention to detail and feels more spacious.

I really like the simple dishes, such as the steaks and the cheese plate, as the chef chooses the best quality local ingredients. I only found this out be chatting with him one evening (hard not to in such a small venue).

Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I went to the Wells Cafe for the first time in a couple of years last weekend, and I was very impressed. I'd always enjoyed it for a mid-week lunch or hangover-curing weekend brunch (the eggs benedict are excellent), and they've upped their game in terms of the evening offering. The two sitting system ~ book for 6pm and vacate your table by 8pm, or book for 8pm and stay until late ~ works well. The new decor has made it feel like a cosy bistro rather than a cafe. The service is friendly & attentive. But most importantly of all the food is delicious ~ a short but interesting menu of well-cooked, well-presented dishes such as local rabbit rissoles with home-made tartare sauce or marinaded pork loin with butternut squash puree. I will definitely not be leaving it another couple of years before going back! Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic - too small!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Not too small in that you don't have room to move about, just too small because I think Richard (the owner and Chef) could fill this place several times over! Richard is a very accomplished, impeccably trained chef with a fantastic CV to his names of restaurants he has worked and trained in. He now brings all of that fantastic experience together in his own restaurant, The Wells Cafe. Perfect for lunch or evening meals, the menu is brilliant and the food is just the same. Thank goodness Richard came back to Ilkley to bring his talents home. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wells Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Wells Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wells Cafe & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.