We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Craiglands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Craiglands Hotel to your Saves list
The Craiglands Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
leicestershire, england
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“comfortable and friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Ilkley up a steady slope. It is a lively looking old building and is attractive upon entry with a lovely staircase. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and decorated to a high standard with lively furniture. I actually said "wow" when I entered my bedroom door! The only criticism of the room was poor water pressure in the shower, but the water was lovely and hot. The food at buffet breakfast was good, but no hot vegetarian option to sausage or bacon. The evening meals offered a variety of meat, fish and veggie, all served hot and presented nicely. The service was a bit erratic but the friendly and helpful staff we adequate compensation. The bar area was small (not sure how it would seat everyone if busy) but lovely leather chairs and sofas. A bit pricey though. All in all a good quality hotel which I would recommend and use again if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front or side have lovely views of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    149
    113
    113
    94
See reviews for
90
284
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed here overnight with my partner in march as a gift we recieved at xmas. We were abit apprehensive because of the bad reviews but were pleasently surprised. Check in was quick and simple and our room was clean and very spacious. Yes the bathroom was outdated but it didnt bother us. It was clean and there was hot water. The 3 course meal in the evening was lovely and we had an enjoyable evening. The breakfast buffet in the morning was fine as well. Some thing for every one. Every member of staff we came across was polite and happy to help. However the bed we had was extremely uncomfortable and resulted in me getting very little sleep and having to sleep on the little sofa in the room. I ended up going home extremely tired and ruined our night away. However I'm guessing we were just unlucky its just a shame as everything else was so nice but left feeling disapointed and unrested. Unsure if we would visit again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neston,wirral,england
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed Thursday night on a deal.

Nice room, very clean, good view, only downside, not one painting on the walls so gave the
room a basic look.

The hotel is in a great position , with Ilkley only minutes walk down the hill. not sure about the 6 acres of gardens, mainly carpark & woods with no access.

As we were on a deal, the menu was small,with the starter & dessert excellent & the main was good.
I have to mention, that we overslept & we were 20 minutes over the time for breakfast, I dashed down stairs & must have spoken to one of the lady managers? & apologised & asked could they do something for us, she said that she would still take our order for breakfast. What truly excellent customer service this was. The only problem with the breakfast was I thought the sausage was "off", they did apologise & said they would do more for us, we declined & they said they would look into it. I removed 1* because of this.

All in all a pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

It was like going back 50 years! The hotel looks spooky from the outside and damp and dated on the inside! We checked in and got sent to our room (I had paid for an upgraded room), the room hadnt been cleaned, the bed had been slept in and the bathroom was disgusting! We went back to see the manager, who instead of trying to make it right just offered our money back! No apology or anything!! So here I was birthday weekend with nowhere to stay!! We booked the Coniston hotel 8 miles away which was amazing!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We got married at Craiglands on 5th April 2014 and were absolutely delighted with every aspect of the day. Nicky, the events co-ordinator helped plan our big day and she was fantastic, really helpful and very organised, ensuring that everything was planned to perfection. The food was excellent and this was commented on by many of the guests. I stayed over the night before and got ready in one of the big family rooms which was an impressive size as there were 6 of us in there getting ready plus 2 hairdressers and the photographer and we still had enough room. Attention to detail was given to everything to ensure that we had the perfect day - and we did. We would absolutely recommend the Craiglands as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the 21st of April for one night on a groupon dinner, bed and breakfast deal. We were allocated room 148 which was a massive room and very comfortable. The dinner was fantastic we both had brie and chorizo salad , steak ( 3 pounds extra surcharge ) and a sticky toffee pudding desert, everything was well presented and the service from Richard was quirky and attentive. The breakfast the following morning was one of the best I have ever had. Whoever did the previous review saying the sausages were cheap needs their heads and taste buds testing as this is nonsense. The sausages and bacon at breakfast were first class ! All in all a great stay and will recommend and go back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Well just got back from a two night break that my family purchased for us and all I can say it was brilliant. Had a lovely double room 140 good size clean and comfortable staff very pleasant and helpful breakfast very good .The Michael Bubble show was really good and the three course meal was excellent Hotel is lovely old but full of character and will definitely be visiting again.Dont be put off by negative reviews try for yourself you may be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: We had room140 and it was very pleasant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Craiglands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.