We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay - glad I didn't pay full price!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Craiglands Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Craiglands Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Craiglands Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Ilkley
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay - glad I didn't pay full price!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I found this hotel when looking for a bargain on travelzoo. I booked it because it was a good deal and price for a suite, 3 course meal and breakfast. When we arrived we received great customer service from the girl on the desk (all the desk staff were extremely friendly throughout our stay). My boyfriend requested a bottle of sparkling wine to be put in the room as a surprise and this was done along with glasses and a wine cooler. However this was the only highlight of our stay! The room was large but had some lights that did not work (the dressing room area) and the bathroom door would not shut properly as it caught on the carpet. There were lots of stains on both the carpet and the sofa and the room itself was quite cold. Prior to showering (which wasn't particularly warm), my boyfriend went to open the window in the bathroom and it fell on his head as a set of hinges had broken. We informed staff on the desk who were very apologetic and wrote it down for the maintenance staff. We went for dinner and to be quite frank, it was gross. The soup was tasteless and a lumpy texture, the pasta was extremely bland, the fish goujons were greasy and the chips were unpleasant. It is not like us, but we left far more food than we ate. The next morning we headed down for breakfast within the allotted time and were met by a waiter who confronted us with: "we were going to make a plate for you because we didn't think you were coming." To which I stated that we were in the given time frame for food. He said no one had been down in 2 hours...we soon realised this meant that the food had been sitting out for that time! The cooked breakfast was lukewarm and rubbery, the bread had started to go stale and the pastries had developed skins on them. One good point to note is that I requested decaf tea bags which they don't offer but the cook donated one of her own. We left the hotel a good few hours before check out time as we were generally disappointed with what was meant to be a relaxing, romantic stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    134
    102
    102
    92
See reviews for
83
263
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked a last minute night away at the beginning of December. The majority of hotels were fully booked with the exception of Craiglands, which should have been an indicator really! The first impression of the hotel from the outside was that it was a bit run down and uncared for. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.
Our room was at the front of the hotel, which turned out to be an unfortunate place to be as we were woken a few times in the night by a wedding that was going on and guests arguing under our window. The room was clean enough, but not spotless and everything just looked a bit tired really. The room price was £130 and we have stayed in 'grander' accommodation for half the price, minus stained carpets and make up and tea stains on the walls.
The price did not include breakfast which was an additional £10 each. When we arrived for breakfast, about 15 people, mostly from the wedding party were queueing for food, which was a serve yourself hot breakfast, but there was nothing left! We waited over 20 minutes for more food to appear.
i wouldn't stay here again, it wasn't good value, was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you found our reception time to be so friendly and helpful.
However please accept my apology that you did not find your stay to be value for money on this occasion, we do hold many weddings throughout the year and although we do try to make guests that are not attending aware this is not always possible.
We are currently in the process of refurbishing many of our bedrooms and hope that you may book with us again to see our progress.

Kind Regards

Chris Dodgson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binbrook
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

To start on a good note the food over our four day break was exceptionally good with wonderful home made soups too.
The hotel rooms were very cold & when we mentioned this were promised a portable heater which never arrived. The corridor outside our room had a very warm radiator but ours were completely boxed in & they nor the towel rail got more than barely luke warm. The whole place was very dusty with huge amounts on the swags in our function room - very visible when the lights were on. The waiters & waitresses were very polite & helpful. Reception not so good when I went to report that our bedroom door had been left open the young Receptionist said "that's OK" so I told her there were valuables in the room & it was NOT OK. Two days running we were left bath mats to use as hand towels!! How sad that such a lovely building is let down by a huge lack of attention to details & lack of training for some of the staff. We paid a large amount of money for our Christmas break which was a disappointing & bad investment.

Room Tip: Would not go there at those prices!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback, I am really pleased to hear you enjoyed your food during your stay with us. However I am very sorry to hear that you had reason to complain on this occasion, I can assure you that we will be looking into the issues you have raised and extra training will be given where necessary.

We hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Chris Dodgson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The craiglands, walking into the reception was nice, clean and very welcoming.
Went into room found to be very clean and tidy.
Me and the wife then decided to head down to the bar for a spot of late lunch and few drinks, after waiting at the bar for at least 5 mins we got served and ordered our sandwiches and got our drinks and took a seat next to the window.
Food came out and was to our taste very nice it was. We then decided to get a few more drinks, after going to the bar and waiting and waiting I went to the reception to find the bar man standing there, now we where not the only people there was 4 other people in the bar, I know it was during the day but someone really in my eyes should always be on the bar.
Evening meal.
Went down at 8.30 for an evening and a set menu was presented to us. 4 starters 4 mains and 4 deserts to chose from. I had French onion soup which was lacking in taste, wife had pate which looked nice and was enjoyed. No longer after 5 mins after our starter our main course came out, just needed a bit longer to give us time to chill. Main was fishcake for myself and the wife got chicken in a mushroom cream source both got some veg. A lot of potato in in the fishcake when I found the fish it was nice fishcake. Chicken was nice not to dry and enjoyed.
We then decided to have our desert in the bar. Cheese and biscuits for both of us, very nice 3 different cheese and crackers went down a treat.
We then had a few more drinks in the bar, at no point was the consent person on the bar they would serve and then go missing, even other people in the bar where making comments of the lack of a person at the bar, to have this on a quite afternoon I understand but on a night someone should be on all the time in my eyes.
Now breakfast, we went down at 9.15 to find the breakfast it very good, full selection of a full English the works, went down a treat and enjoyed for the drive home.
Overall and enjoyable experience one I would recommend for anyone to say.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am pleased to hear that overall it was a positive experience. I would like to assure you that there should always be a member of staff working on the bar and it comes as a surprise that you seemed to have had difficulty locating them. I can assure you that this will be looked into and the departmental managers will be made aware. I hope that you will be able to visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Chris Dodgson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Recently went to a Christmas party night, with a 007 theme. However there was no champagne on arrival, taken into an empty function room, until the function room we were using was ready. We went to sit in the hotel bar, and the open fire had been allowed to go out and all the dirty ashes were left for all to see, not very attractive at all and totally unnecessary, Should have had a lovely fire. No decoration in either room, except a few baubles on the table and most had lights in except our table, they must have run out of lights. Rooms was cold. Food was good, served hot, but the clearing of plates was disgusting, they scraped the plates in front of each of our party. There was a couple of roulette tables and one blackjack table, but not enough to cater for the number of guests in the room. We had to wait over 30 minutes to play the free token we were given. Then the music started and it was totally geared up for the under 25's all up beat dance music, not party music as you would expect when the room is full of a mixed age group. Very disappointing evening. Love to dance, but all the young guests did was jump up and down on the spot, not what we would expect at a hotel party night. All the adults over 40 were sat at the tables, as just totally inappropriate music. Cold everywhere. Would not go to an event here again.

Room Tip: If your over 25 don't attend a function here as they don't want you!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had our wedding here in July and must say everything went without a hitch it was better than we could of ever imagned and all our family and friends thought exactly the same the comments we got regarding our day were just overwhelming.The staff were very attentive,food excellent and served hot,everywhere spotless and all our planning was carried right to the minor details.Evening buffet again excellent.Bridal suite stunning loved the bed and breakfast self service with plenty of options.Must say we our soo glad we chose here for our long awaited special day it was defiantly worth the wait hoping to return for our wedding anniversay.Thank you Craiglands !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly I would like to say congratulations on your wedding! We are always so happy to be helping our wedding couples have the day they had dreamed of and I am glad to hear that yours was such a great success.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary!

Kind Regards


Chris Dodgson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Food poor service cold entertainment bad
Bad night bed too small and banging noise from sign outside room window. Breakfast served fr 7til 9 when arrived at 7 only continental bfst available toast cereal and fruit , paid a lot of money for the night very disappointed .

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCraiglandsHotel, General Manager at The Craiglands Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you did not have the best experience during your stay. We do hope that you would consider staying here again as we would always endevour to give our guests a positive experience when they stay here.

Kind Regards

Chris Dodgson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Craiglands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craiglands Hotel

Address: Cowpasture Road, Ilkley LS29 8RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Craiglands Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craiglands Hotel has been welcoming people from across the globe for more than 150 years. This grand Victorian hotel remains the ideal place for business or pleasure, combining modern comforts and facilities with a warm, friendly welcome.Set in 6 acres of beautiful, landscaped grounds and woodland, Craiglands is just a short walk to the historic spa town of Ilkley and the famous Ilkley Moor, with easy access to Leeds/Bradford airport and major business centres. There are 62 guest rooms and excellent facilities to suit all your requirements - 7 conference and banqueting suites, the newly refurbished Brasserie1 Restaurant & adjoining bar with outside terrace to name but a few. For fine dining, banquets, conferences, large corporate events or just to get away from it all, you really must come to Craiglands! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Craiglands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craiglands Hotel Ilkley
The Craiglands Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Craiglands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.