We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lunchtime gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crescent Inn

Save Saved
You added The Crescent Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crescent Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Brook Street, Ilkley LS29 8DG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Lincolnshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A lunchtime gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We discovered the Crescent lunch offer after a tip from a departing customer. Great choice of food - we both had beef flank - and a drink all for £8.95 each. The food was cooked to order, well presented and delish. Excellent ambiance and value for money, warm on a very cold November day and with friendly and competent staff. A quality lunchtime experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at The Crescent Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for writing a review and we do hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    36
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
78
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here for work last night as a single female. Beautiful room, fabulouse bathroom,comfy bed and free wifi a real bonus. I didn't make it to the restaurant this time but looked gorgeous and food in the pub was really good. (The girl behind the bar was really friendly and couldn't have been more helpful - so big thanks) I've already recommended to a colleague who needs to visit Ilkley next month.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at The Crescent Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your review and recommending us to your colleague. We're delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for one evening. The welcome was warm and friendly at check in. Nice contemporary decor in this historic coaching inn. Bedrooms compact but more than adequate with lovely furnishings. House keeping team ensured the room was spotlessly clean. The quality bed linen and comfortable bed are unusual in inns, this was more like Hotel du vin!
We ate in the inn rather than the bistro though both looked equally attractive. This was excellent. We reserved a table. We had olives which were plentiful. We ordered a good bottle of Chilean Merlot, which was not over priced, with our pate. Main courses were wonderful Xin Xam (mild peanut curry sauce with tender pieces of chicken) and pea pilau rice/ poppadom and a steak and ale pie. Very generous portions. The pub was popular and the the blazing log fire added to the great atmosphere. Service was exceptional. Marco on his first ever shift has a great career ahead of him in hospitality. Attentive but discrete, friendly, knowledgeable and pleasant . We will definitel return. Meals served until 7.pm.
Breakfast was great. Lots of choice friendly service and a mellow start to Sunday.
There are lots of eateries in Ilkley, but this must be the jewel in the crown.Next time we will bring friends to share the experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at The Crescent Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My partner and I were extremely impressed with this hotel, which offered a good sized, modern, clean and well decorated room with a large television and a very comfy bed at an extremely competitive price for its quality and location. The hotel scored especially highly in our opinion for getting all of the little things right that should be taken for granted but are often lacking, such as a reliable shower with good pressure and heat control, a wall heater that was fully controllable by the guest 24/7, excellent TV reception, WiFi that actually worked and was at least as fast as our broadband at home, and an excellent breakfast menu that could be enjoyed at any point within a three and a half hour period, as opposed to the single "crack of dawn" hour that is common at many other hotels. The staff were very friendly throughout our stay, and the room was serviced to a very high standard on a daily basis. We have stayed at two other hotels within the Ilkley area in recent months, but this one was the best by a massive margin and we look forward to returning next year when the Ilkley literature festival comes round again.

Room Tip: Although the downstairs bar was no bother, it might be a good idea to pick a room that is not too cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at The Crescent Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Wow! What a lovely review and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Mark and his team will be thrilled with your comments. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A period building which hides an excellently restored interior with beautiful rooms of a more than acceptable standard. All the rooms are named after local moors, we stayed in the Burnsall Room which was kitted out to a lovely standard - all clean and modern with a flat screen tv on the wall yet also period style furniture. The ground floor is split, one side restaurant and the other pub where the staff were all wonderfully friendly and helpful in both. The restaurant was amazing whilst still fairly reasonably priced. We ate here in the evening then walked into town and discovered the Crescent was not only one of the best restaurants in town but also one of the best pubs too. The Crescent is located at a cross roads in the centre of town and is perfect for access to the river, the moors, shops, eating, drinking....all within walking distance. However we booked through laterooms which stated 'onsite carparking' on the web yet upon arrival it didnt exist. There is free parking on the street across the road though which whilst not ideal is not a major inconvenience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay again. Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at The Crescent Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your review and we're so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and visit to our restaurant and pub. Thank you too for flagging the incorrect information about parking on laterooms which has now been amended. As you've mentioned there is free parking on the road opposite our building. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

been here a few times now. We've sampled the daily deals and Sunday lunch. The food is really good and better than usual pub fayre. Service is great and the atmosphere is good. We like to try different places but if in Ilkley then this is the place for us

Room Tip: We only ate in the Pub itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at The Crescent Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hopefully we will see you again in Ilkley or at one of our other restaurants soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Crescent Inn was an excellent find. It is very well situated a short walk from Ilkley station.
My room wasn't huge, but was comfortable and quiet with a very well appointed bathroom.
The breakfast was beautifully cooked - although it was a bit too large for me.
I didn't have dinner, but the menu looked very good.
The cost for a night's stay was very reasonable given the quality.
I'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Public Relations Manager at The Crescent Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw of our hotel and we're so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crescent Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Inn

Address: Brook Street, Ilkley LS29 8DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crescent Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A collection of 11 affordable boutique bedrooms in the heart of Ilkley, housed above a real ale house serving 8 ever changing ales, 15 wines by the glass and honest home cooked food using the finest ingredients.Why won't you come join us... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Crescent Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crescent Inn Ilkley, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crescent Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.