We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly excellent Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolino

Piccolino
31 - 33 Brook Street, Ilkley LS29 8AE, England
01943 605 827
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 79 Restaurants in Ilkley
Price range: $36 - $61
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Chic yet relaxed, Piccolino restaurants are a collection of Italian neighbourhood restaurants with delicious brasserie-style cuisine. Using fresh, seasonal produce, rustic yet classic Italian dishes are served in a contemporary setting at Piccolino. Many restaurants feature popular al fresco dining areas, where diners can experience fine Italian fare and cocktails.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Unexpectedly excellent Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I had a weekday lunch in this restaurant, which meant it was perhaps a little quieter than some of the other reviewers found. Service was very good, I liked the fact that they use buffalo mozzarella throughout the menu, and the carpaccio was excellent. I was very surprised that the restaurant didn't have a higher rating - from my experience it certainly deserves it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    82
    51
    45
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Amazing roof top restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a meal here with 7 friends it was wonderful all the food was fresh and the service was one of the best i have ever seen.
The roof top restaurant is great it is so nice to eat here will all the ambience keep up the good work guys we will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Leeds is Much Better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had another visit to Ilkley Piccolino on Saturday. My view is much the same as before, I only visited as it was convenient. The service was very poor, there was quite a wait in between courses and the restaurant wasn't even full!. The temperature in the restaurant was quite cold, therefore uncomfortable. Leeds Piccolino is far far better in my opinion.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Looks Like we came on a Bad Day :0(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We arrived at 7:30 on a Saturday Night with My daughter and her Friends to Celebrate her 16th Birthday. We sat on a separate table to let the girls have some freedom.

I noticed the girls meals arrive very soon after placing an order. Our starters did take considerably longer to arrive. However, this was nothing compared to the amount of time it took for the main course. From taking our starter plates to getting the next course was 40 Minutes. When it did arrive the waiter asked if we would like Parmesan Cheese, we said Yes and proceeded to wait a further five minutes. When it did not arrive I called the waiter and made a complaint. He then brought the Parmesan cheese.

A few minutes later as we were eating our main course the head waiter arrived to ask about our complaint. He left us to eat our meal then returned to apologise. Subsequently, we had free desserts and coffee.

The meal itself really was not good. It tasted like a microwave meal for one that had been sat under the heat lamps for the 40 minutes that we waited.

Have to say We have eaten at Piccolinos in Wetherby and Leeds and it has always been really good. Its just a shame that on my Daughters Birthday we came on the bad day !

We will not be rushing back !

Booking Service was Excellent !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing...must try Roof Terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Visited recently for an anniversary meal...on arrival we were told there was a roof top bar if we would like a drink up there. Despite the freezing weather outside we headed up to find an extremely warm and inviting bar and eating area.

Drinks and food are on the pricey side but the quality and service received is worth it. Upstairs you can see into the kitchen and although the 2 chefs were quite young and winding eachother up (something you don't really want to see), they were chatty with us at the bar. You can even see them cooking behind the bar as their pizza ovens and grills are in the open.

I didn't feel cold once whilst eating up there. My partner even went for a cig up there as there is a bit at the back thats more open which was a bonus for him not having to go back downstairs and outside.

Will definately visit again, especially now i have a priority card which knocked £20 off our bill :-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolino also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Piccolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.