We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food repeatedly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolino

Piccolino
31 - 33 Brook Street, Ilkley LS29 8AE, England
01943 605 827
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Piccolino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 78 Restaurants in Ilkley
Price range: $37 - $62
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Chic yet relaxed, Piccolino restaurants are a collection of Italian neighbourhood restaurants with delicious brasserie-style cuisine. Using fresh, seasonal produce, rustic yet classic Italian dishes are served in a contemporary setting at Piccolino. Many restaurants feature popular al fresco dining areas, where diners can experience fine Italian fare and cocktails.
Ilkley, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food repeatedly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Now eaten here about six times in recent months, and not had a bad experience yet. Food is generally more than good, service generally excellent and friendly, but informal. Had their pizzas, pasta and sea food...risotto Di fruti di mare is amazing. Good bread. Good salads. Really cannot fault the place. It is not cheap, and wines are generally expensive, starting around £20 upwards. Overall we like the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    76
    47
    38
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Let down again...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I know lightening can strike twice, but three times?
Went recently with a client [his choice not mine] and we both ordered steak and chips. Nothing more, nothing less. Nice and easy or so you would think. SO HOW DID THEY FORGET THE CHIPS??????? They hadn't just forgotten to bring the chips to our table, they had forgotten to cook them!!!
No explanantion, a shrug of the shoulders by way of apology and by the time the chips did arrive our steaks were cold.
One word - RUBBISH.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best sunday lunch beef around - melt in the mouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Enjoyed another roast beef lunch at Piccolino Ilkley.
Lean, thickly sliced, melt in the mouth sirloin, served with very good roast potatoes, decent gravy, Yorkshire pudding, green beans, crushed butternut squash and half a yummy roasted garlic.
Can't believe more people don't order it.......it's amazing, more like sliced steak than the usual roast beef served in most places and believe they also serve several other roasts, chicken and pork.
Excellent food, service great too, couldn't be better, lovely friendly staff.
Maybe I should keep this roast quiet as will be upset if they've run out next time I visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of my regular places to eat has got worse over the last 3 visits”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I am very sad to report that Piccolino in Ilkley has finally lost me as a customer and probably the 3 other families I was with this evening.I have been a regular over the last few years but over the last few months we have been very forgiving over the poor service and average food but tonight we have to say was the worst. As before we have had to ask for lots of things we ordered that were forgotten. Tonight it was from drinks and orders all the way through to coffee, the staff/service seemed stressed and chaotic, the food was cold, greasy with way too much garlic and not up to the standards it was earlier this year. Given the poor food it makes the place really poor value. One of the waiters really tried to make an effort by giving the kids some crazy ice cream combinations for fun eg brussel sprout and cauliflower flavour but this normal Italian banter fell on deaf ears as we were all so disappointed by the dreadful experience. It seems that since the uniforms changed to blue shirts and chinos the place has gone down hill. Sad but not prepared to support any longer so will be taking our custom elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very well situated restaurant with pleasant atmosphere. Ask for 1st floor window seat. Food better than it used to be and would recommend.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolino also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Piccolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.