We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wheatley Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Wheatley Arms to your Saves list
The Wheatley Arms
Wheatley Lane | Ben Rhydding, Ilkley LS29 8PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Ilkley B&B and Inns
Ripponden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

After a 2 & a half hour journey from Ripponden to Ilkley, due to an accident.a welcome smile at reception & a glass of wine was well received, we then went to the room to have a luxury soak in the stand a lone bath in a beautiful room (room 4 the Honeymoon suite) & a bottle of champagne.
We decided to eat in the restaurant on the Friday , it was so good we ate there again on the Saturday evening as the food & service was excellent, we had a swop around steak & lamb that both melted in the mouth, we rounded the evening off with the cheese board & what a selection of cheeses served with biscuits, fruit cake & malt loaf & a glass of port.
All the staff were friendly & helpfull & our pet black labrador pup was made welcome in one of the bars.
Excellent value for money, we will definately be returning very soon.
Jules & David

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    39
    12
    9
    9
See reviews for
10
118
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Doing the rounds of literature festivals still and this week pitched up in Ilkley, (handy for Haworth - fabulous!). Booked into The Wheatley Arms which has just been refurbed and in many respects is lovely. A fortune must have been spent on the decor - very stylish - gorgeous fabrics and wallpapers and many delicious small touches in room - hand baked cookies, lump sugar, lovely robes and L'Occitane toiletries. However, think the proprietors need to do that thing of actually staying in their rooms as: the bedside reading lights are useless; even more so the lighting at the desk/dressing table (had to kneeel on bathroom floor and put contacts in by using natural light from window ledge); also no shower cap (and none arrived even when we asked) in order to use the sensational modern shower (tho again some instructions on how to use would have been welcome). If this sounds picky, then it is and I would recommend this place to anyone. It is refreshingly unpompous, a bargain for the money given the high standard of fittings and is well soundproofed re noise from the evidently popular bar and restaurant below whch sadly we had no chance to sample. The breakfast buffet was great, breakfast room light, airy and well removed from the bar areas, which were of course being cleaned after the night before. Free Sunday papers and what looked like sumptuous cooked breakfasts were keeping other diners happy as we munched on muesli and croissants. Four and half stars, really...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Truly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in & the hotel was spotless and beautifully decorated, loved the roll top bath in the bedroom and being able to relax with a glass of wine, watch a movie (from the selection at reception) whilst having a soak!The staff were friendly and very helpfull. Great selection of real ales and wines, food was lovely, with daily specials changing daily and puddings to die for!
Although surrounded by chimney pots the area was very quite at night, and very close to Ilkley Moor, great for walking.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Mary Hoo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Started well with a nice welcome and was shown to our room rather than the usual point up a corridor. stayed for 2 nights and all 3 rooms were faultless, internet was easy to connect and free, everything was comfortable, not all furniture is new, just the right mix so as not to feel like an ikea show room or a show house(the mattresses were new!!!). the whole place had a family feel to it, although all staff were very professional and more than capable they all seem to enjoy working at The Wheatley and with each other. Bar staff very attentive but not a nuisance, and had enough brain cells to remember the drinks orders. Waiters and waitresses worked well together and again showed enough care in their work to serve you well, but was sensitive enough to leave you alone to eat.
No complaints for food or wine, I don't claim to be an expert, but we know what we like and we liked what we had. Kids menu is picked by the local primary school kids. Can't remember with certainty but i believe if you order a side order of chips (proper chips cooked in beef dripping) some money is donated to the local primary school, makes a change for a business to contribute and not just milk all the money they can get.
Plenty of car parking. My wife and teenage daughter were impressed with the toiletries and cleansing facial wipes and the fact the hairdryer wasn't fitted to a drawer. Mini fridge had water and if you ring reception they will bring you a jug of fresh milk to have with your tea or coffee. Some very nice touches that let you know you are a customer not a bill number and that it is a small chain not a chain thats part of an investment fund. Not cheap but reasonable value for money, you get what you pay for in my view! Will go back as its a lovely place to stay in terms of hotel and locality. Recommend a train trip into Ilkely if only to laugh at the cost..... I can't get a bus 1 stop for that kind of cost in the South. Think it was £1 for adults and 50p for kids. Not worth starting the car up!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We spent 2 nights here on our way to York. Wasn't quite what I had imagined as surrounded by houses (quiet though) and I thought it would be more rural having come from their sister Inn - The Tempest at Skipton.

All very new decor and quality fabrics, fluffy towels and robes. We had an executive room, not very large but cozy. Good sized bathroom, strange square sided bath with matching drench shower and tap fittings. These were were great for the bath but the same high tap was used on the sink so you couldn't lean over it completely! The super king bed was very comfortable and everything clean and fresh, I like the L'Occitane smellies and the Bah T'at mugs (I wanted to buy a mug - £10 but sold out!)

We ate there both nights and enjoyed our meals. Drinks reasonable price - tasty Black Sheep and Peroni on tap. Quite a popular place to eat considering midweek - friendly, helpful staff, it would benefit from more atmosphere but I'm sure that will come as it 'beds in' a bit more.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

whatever you do avoid
having spent hundres of thousands if not more on renovation thats the good news!
went with family to visit sister up from london - all very nice if not a little 'twee'

had dinner in main restuarant 10 minutes for service, 20 minutes for drinks to arrive...
wines poor selection and overpriced 'plonk'
food excessively overpriced and poor quality
Two of our party have intollerances well noted at time of order however half the kitchen listened half didnt
they even removed black pudding from all the warm salads ordered even though only 1 person intollerant to wheat - true black pudding is made with barley/oats not wheat. when mentioned some did arrive, held out as the 'local special' but not what you buy over their counter!
Crab cakes look at taste processed not fresh made
Cray fish tails best of a terrible bunch
Main course no better - only recommendation fish and chips with (tinned) mushy peas ( although a family of 4 could eat in at brians for the price of this) and chips average at best again suspect bought in part cooked
rare rump steak cooked medium
duck confit - swimming in grease
belly pork inedible rind, no crackle
sea bass ok
but none of the portions 'generous' as claimed
side orders cooked in butter when assured absolutely not - great for lactose intollerance
service ok
complaint to manaegement resulted in removal of two mains and two starters

still left with the feeling overpriced, overrated, not fresh, and you are definitely paying for the renovation

on no account could you recomend - try a proper pub with homemade food, not only will be better but significantly cheaper

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

i said i would revisit and i did, 3 weeks later. WOW what a transformation they saw the teething problems and sorted them. Being a bit of a foodie with a sweet tooth i like to vet out new places. Orders are now taking at the table making the ordering experience more enjoable. The food was even better even with the same menu , but the sweets appear to change almost daily. Just so you can see what delightful sweets are available i have posted some photos on here. you also can see various photos on their web site, and face book wheatley arms page. THE PASTRY CHEF MUST BE AMAZING DONT YOU THINK.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wheatley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatley Arms

Address: Wheatley Lane | Ben Rhydding, Ilkley LS29 8PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Wheatley Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatley Arms Hotel Ilkley
The Wheatley Arms Ilkley, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wheatley Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.