We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saigon revisited!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Saigon

Bistro Saigon
1 Railway Rd., Ilkley, England
01943 817999
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Ilkley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Saigon revisited!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited Bistro Saigon two or three times when it first opened (6/7 years ago) and enjoyed it but for some reason didn't go again. However, after months of saying we must go again we finally went for lunch today. What a treat, £10.95 for 2 courses and with an incredible menu to choose from. The quality of the food is amazing, how to describe the flavours coming through the hot choice I made is difficult - it was superb. Very friendly lady served us and made us very welcome. The place was quiet but we couldn't help but hear plenty of bookings being made for evenings. We shall be definitely be returning soon. Brilliant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    36
    15
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lovely food. A mixture of Thai and Vietnamese. Portion size is generous so you probably don't need as much as we ordered... But we managed to eat most of it and stagger home. In the morning my partner was still sad that they didn't manage to eat the last piece of roasted pork belly. A good local restaurant that used to be round the corner from me and I wish it still was !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Lovely little place, top class friendly service and tasty food all at a very reasonable coat, we would highly reccomended this restaurant, one of ilkley's many highlights

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excelent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We ate there last night (6th December 2012) and it was excellent. The food was absolutely delicious - perfectly prepared, cooked and presented. The service was spot on, intelligent and attentive without being obstrusive.

I would thoroughly recommend Bistro Saigon

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Full of Eastern promise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I have been to Bistro Saigon on several occasions over the years but haven't submitted a review before -largely because it's on my doorstep. Now is the time to join the chorus of approval. This is a first-rate restaurant serving authentic Vietnamese food in a smart setting. The servings are generous so go easy on the side-dishes, and the service was friendly and efficient. We had crab-cakes and diced pork with lemongrass for starters, and a magnificent vegetarian pancake (eaten as portions wrapped in crisp fresh lettuce and mint leaves) and a great dish of chilli beef and sticky jasmine rice. The freshness of the ingredients and the wonderful blend of flavours made these oriental delights to savour. A splendid meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Saigon also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Bistro Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.