We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not worth the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dalesway Hotel

Dalesway Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dalesway Hotel to your Saves list
Dalesway Hotel
1 Leeds Road, Ilkley LS29 8DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“OK, but not worth the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Really not worth the price. We paid £85! Maybe that's normal for small towns with not many hotels, but seemed high for a room over a pub. The room was lovely with modern furnishings. It was handy in the middle of town for us to attend a wedding nearby. I rang in advance to ask if we could check in early (at noon) to get ready for a friend's wedding. On the phone they said it was ok, but that we might have to wait "a few minutes" if the room wasn't ready. We arrived at 12.45 and were told the room wasn't ready and that we'd have to wait 15-20min. I completely appreciate that the turnaround time is tight, but if it wasn't possible they shouldn't have agreed to it and we would have got ready before we travelled. Staff were young and a bit clueless. Check out is at 10.30, so if you actually like to sleep, not good. Bells from a church nearby went on continuously from 9 until after we left! The bathroom looked old and tired and could have done with a lick of paint...unlike the room which looked v modern and recently decorated. The toilet roll holder even fell off the wall!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soccamatic, Owner at Dalesway Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I really don't get it.
How can someone complain about wanting an early check-in and then go on to complain about a check out time of 10.30am.

Not worth £85.00 for a peak-time Saturday in a tourist town ?
Ilkley runs full every Saturday in the year and we have a waiting list for rooms most weeks and we are generally the cheapest and do not insist on 2 nights minimum stay.
The only other pubs with rooms locally charge £105 and £125 for a double room.

Church Bells.
I will ask the vicar not to ring the bells on a Sunday morning but as they have been doing it for over 900 years, I doubt he will change it.

Ian. Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    37
    23
    3
    14
See reviews for
18
54
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had 2 carvery s, one with pork, the other vegetarian - i just had the veg, potatoes and yorkies. It was great, huge Yorkshire puddings, 5 choices of veg, lovely roast potatoes and parsnips, the lady behind the counter offered me onion gravy too.
Big pudding of apple pie and custard, nice friendly staff. Eating area was clean, no problems. Would go here again. My mum and dad go here most weekends, we have never been, would definitely go back, much better than some of the ostentatious, snobby places round that area we have been to lately

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Food says home made.... its certainly not. I had a beef Yorkshire pudding. Beef was the stuff you cook in the bag in the microwave ,,, roast potatoes well 2 was home made but hard the other 2 was frozen and as for the Yorkshire pudding well it had no taste what's so ever. Tables were dirty and we also found a hair in one of our children's meals. Would never go there again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian c, Owner at Dalesway Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I would like to point out that no one else agrees with this opinion.
We have won Best Food in Ilkley 2011 and 2012 with our brand of homemade pub food. (As voted by the public not some "in house" award).

We buy all local produce from suppliers in the town and they are particularly annoyed with the review. Too many places provide "ready made" food and we certainly do not.

Any guest is welcome to visit our chef/cook - Rose, who has worked here for 20 years and watch her preparing fresh meals from goods delivered daily.

Yorkshire Puddings.
We get loads of brilliant comments about our homemade Yorkshires and if this reviewer doesn't like them then perhaps they are used to the "supermarke frozen variety" !

How can a roast potato be frozen on our premises ? We peel and cook them fresh for every meal service and never keep any at the end of each day. Ridiculous.

The old chestnut about finding a hair in food. I would be demanding to speak to the manager immediately if it happened to me , something it appears this reviewer neglected to do. Odd.
Perhaps a DNA test would solve the question of how it got there.

Finally, I do not as an owner like to have to tackle a guest review but I will not stand by and see our chef and staff's hard work ruined in one ill informed review.
Ian.
Owner/Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night as takes dogs. Is an old building and decoration basic. Furniture basic, cleaniness of bathroom okay. Bed comfy. Did not have breakfast so no comment but the reviews suggest great food but on arrival between 6-8pm only handful people in and no one eating !. Went to station for great curry. Is a 2/3 star. Okay as place to lay your head.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Came here the other weekend for a break with my children aged 10 and 8 and our first trip away with our 6 month old Border Terrier... Wow.. The room was very clean with lovely fresh bedding and a nice size. We didn't eat here as we had a walk out.. but I have to say it looked and smelled lovely.. I love Ilkley - such a beautiful town and a lovely variety of shops and all in all a lovely weekend away.. Dalesway is the perfect location, right next to the river, the Dalesway walk, park, shops and restaurants.. Will definitely return.. and bonus we met 2 lovely people who come here regularly with their Border Terrier Gem.. Loved it and they were lovely company.. Thank you for a lovely weekend.. and highly recommended is Lishmans of Ilkley.. Quality butchers, deli and pie shop...! Went in for a pack of sausages and £70.00 later I walked out... but the some of the best meat I've ever bought...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at dalesway for our wedding anniversary. On arrival we had a very warm welcome. The room we stayed in was one of the more expensive ones and it was comfortable and clean, we even had a memory foam matteress which was so comfy!! It had all the facilities in the room you would expect, iron and board, tea coffee facilities, tv with satellite and a power shower and even a whirlpool bath which was fantastic!
We had a few drinks in the bar that evening after we'd been for our meal to a restaurant and the atmosphere was lovely and the locals and staff were very friendly.
Our breakfast was delicious and great value for money.
There's no parking on site however you can park on the street or church opposite for free!
Overall it was a fantastic hotel and I would definitely recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

2 Adults & 3 Dogs had a wonderful time. This hotel has it "off pat". from the lovely welcome from the young man behind the bar to the evening bar staff to the "nothing is too much trouble" attitude at breakfast. Their attitude to our dogs is well rewarded by the owners care in keeping them all under control (who wants to spoil a great venue ?) - felt a bit sorry for the resident lab though, luckily he is so laid back.
Only suggestions I could make are 1. Put a sign out the back to remind some owners to clean up after their dogs (there are always some) and ensure residents have the latest password for the wi-fi connection. Minor but I did promise to put something - continuos praise can get boring !!
I have already highly recommended the Dalesway and will continue to do so and would go out of my way to stay again when we are next in the area. Many thanks to all involved.
Dee Carpenter. Telford. Sam Jack & Ben send their best too !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dalesway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalesway Hotel

Address: 1 Leeds Road, Ilkley LS29 8DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dalesway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalesway Hotel Ilkley, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalesway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.