We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Cow and Calf | Hangingstone Road, Ilkley LS29 8BT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food was terrible, they had run out of ingredients to make some of the dishes! I had a bacon, blue cheese on a bed of lettuce, there was no lettuce, so instead I had 6 sprigs of spinach and a huge tablespoon of mayo dolloped around the plate. We then waited close on an hour for the main course, fish & chips with mushy peas, fish cake, new potatoes. No mushy peas emerged, apparently they had run out, home cooked chips were overcooked frozen chips with a overcooked fish, so dry it must surely have been left out the hour we had to wait for it to be delivered. Fish cake was oily, new potatoes dry and wrinkled
Really terrible food, and at £24 it was an insult to be charged for it all, I should have been paid to eat it !!! Yes we did say it wasn't satisfactory, only to be assured that they'd been busy (not for much longer if thats whats served)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    72
    27
    28
    21
See reviews for
45
77
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Last time we were in Ilkley about ten years ago we find there was no room at this Inn and had to stay elsewhere. This time we booked ahead. Amazing location. Nice room with plenty of space. Food was not amazing but plenty good enough for the price. Nice ales and lovely roaring fires.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went here for Easter Sunday lunch and were very disappointed. We had three of the varieties of roast , beef, lamb shank and slow cooked belly of pork. The food came on cold plates and subsequently all the food was cold especially the vegetables. My beef was overcooked and tough and the Yorkshire puddings seemed like pre cooked frozen variety. When the very pleasant waitress at the end of the meal asked if everthing was ok we said no so the manager came to talk to us when we told him the problems he said that the kitchen was very cold and thanked us for our comments but made no gesture as to the bill at all so we were left with the impression that they didn't care. Will not be returning

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It's the same story with all pubs owned by 'Vintage Inns' - the interior decor is tasteful and snug, the atmosphere warm and lively, and the large menus too good to be true. Problem is, they are. My 'wild boar burger with salad' was dry and pedestrian, and took ages to come. Ditto with my friends' meals. It's not that cheap either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a budget hotel. It has much more character and a finer location than the big chains. The room was appropriate for this level of hotel and the bathroom was spotless with gleaming chrome. The view over Ilkley Moor from our room was stunning. We found the integral restaurant to be very good. The breakfast, although continental, had a fine choice of food. We enjoyed breakfast sitting by a log fire, overlooking the moor.
Before checkout, we crossed the road next to the hotel and enjoyed a walk over Ilkley Moor, visiting the Cow and Calf rocks. On the early morning walk we disturbed lots of grouse in the heather.They jumped up, squawked, and flew away low across the moor. A new experience for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the moor. Small extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Spa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Although we had booked in advance for a party of 12, it still took 75 minutes to produce the main course. When it arrived, the food was nicely presented and tasty but there was no attempt to explain or apologise for the poor service. One of the party was told on leaving that they were shortstaffed; maybe so but the lack of explanation has probably lost them a party of 20 on a quiet night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I was really disappointed with our experience at the Cow and Calf restaurant. My husband and I were taking my mother in law out for lunch as a treat but it turned out to be a bit of a nightmare. The service was awful - the waitress, although polite, had clearly had no experience or training. She didn't know how to serve wine and left a dirty dish cloth and cleaning spray on the table next to ours throughout our meal. We waited for a whole hour for our main course which was from the special Friday fish menu that we assumed would be readily available. Perhaps the chef was on a break? Anyway, our meals were cold, and served on cold plates when they arrived, which was a shame because it was actually very tasty. We fled into Ilkley for coffee and dessert and had a great experience at Betty's - prompt, attentive service wins all round - sorry Cow and Calf but this was pretty poor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley

Address: The Cow and Calf | Hangingstone Road, Ilkley LS29 8BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cow and Calf in Ilkley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our 13 bedroom Innkeeper's Lodge continues The Cow and Calf's tradition of welcoming travellers. It's our local charm that attracts historians and ramblers, as well as diners and drinkers from Ilkley and nearby Burley in Wharfedale, Denton and Askwith. We also welcome business and leisure travellers to enjoy some of the best bedrooms and accommodation in Ilkley. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.Book a table online and enjoy a spot by our roaring log-fire. Or make the best of the British summertime by eating alfresco in our pretty beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.