We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Cow and Calf | Hangingstone Road, Ilkley LS29 8BT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
flaine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my mum and little brother one night after my graduation. The views of the Yorkshire moors from our window were stunning. We had a great room, basic, but spacious and very comfortable. We only paid £57 for the night including breakfast in the morning for all 3 of us, which I thought was very reasonable indeed! The food for dinner is amazing and the service is great. Breakfast was your average continental (cereals, toast, croissants, pain au chocolat etc) but perfectly nice (although they didn't have soy milk or any alternative to normal cow's milk when my mum asked, as she is lactose intolerant - however, we weren't expecting them to!). The service was really good and the people there were very friendly. This is a good place to stay if you're looking for a quiet break in the Yorkshire Moors (family/solo/couples). If you're looking for a loud friend's holiday, this isn't really the place - they stop serving drinks in the bar/restaurant at 11pm!

Particularly great for climbers and walkers (my little brother is a keen climber, and the rocks just opposite the hotel have plenty of great routes to climb).

Overall, a lovely experience!

Room Tip: I've read other reviews that have said top floors don't have any windows - we were on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul s, General Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thanks for your review I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your short visit with us both in the hotel and with the restaurant when you next stay if you give us a call or drop me an email I am more than happy to get some soya milk for your mum so she can enjoy our complimentary breakfast in full! Hope to see you soon and congratulations on your graduation. Paul Hughes General Manager email me direct at cowandcalfilkley@vintageinn.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    68
    25
    28
    21
See reviews for
44
71
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Morton.Yorks
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We called after a shopping trip to Ilkley as we live not too far away, the idea being to have a refreshing drink and a light lunch. The bar and restaurant area was very busy but we found the staff to be very efficient and friendly. However, my husband was very disappointed to find that there was only one beer available as all the other pumps had a notice saying that the barrel had just been tapped and was settling. We ordered from the main menu rather than the light bites as they didnt appeal and unfortunately was disappointed again with the food when it did arrive. My crispy chicken breast was just that....crispy crumb chicken served with pale chips and watercress. It tasted very much like KFC chicken! was very dry and not very hot. My husbands shepherds pie was a little better, he did enjoy it but again was only very small. Overall for the cost of £15 we felt that it was very overpriced, probably because it was this particular eatery and not because the food was particularly good. It does have lovely views and is well prtesented but feel it is aimed at tourists and not a locals eatery. Feel very sad that we will be passing by from now on and calling further down the road at The Hermit...which is another review!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were delighted with the views from the Cow and Calf Inn and really enjoyed our visit to this location. It is a very popular location and was very busy when we arrived mid Sunday afternoon. It was not easy to park at first, although later on were were able to place our car in the main car park.We ate in the bar and restaurant and found the food to be excellent. The beds were comfortable with crisp white linen and additional pillows were to be found in the wardrobe if needed. Cleanliness throughout was of a high standard. Our visit was just an overnight stay but we found it most enjoyable

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in the Cow & Calf after our usual hotel for this area was full because of the doomed Great Yorkshire Show. For £62 per night B&B, you can't go wrong. The bar and restaurant do a good trade so the place has atmosphere. I can't comment on the food because we didn't eat in the hotel but the continental breakfast was good and the views are spectacular. The rooms are fine and the wi-fi was free, easy to connect and had a strong signal everywhere. Big car park as well. I cancelled a booking at a local Marriott because they wanted £20 for Internet...when will they learn?

On reading other reviews, i can imagine the service struggles when the sun's out and the place gets busy and believe me, it gets busy at the slightest hint of decent weather. All in all, a great place to stay. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed for 1 night mid week paid for smallest room £52 no view (it clearly states on web pages that it does not have views) 2 velux windows with blinds which is an excellent addition
Room clean tidy with lovely shower room and toilet
If staying for a few days not sure I would want that room
beautiful views from the hotel over the moors
Food was of a very good standard even though it is a pub chain
service was satisfactory breakfast continental again very good
does not start till 7am a bit late in my option if you want to get off early
Staff very friendly and polite
Can not comment on what it would be like at the weekend but the impression was that it could be very busy

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in rm 14, a family room, on the second floor of the building, 2 adults, a toddler and a baby, the room was clean, modern and well maintained, the staff were friendly and welcoming, a lovely place to stay, if I had one gripe it would be the lack of space once a cot and the sofa bed were set up, but thats just being picky!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our simply furnished but spacious room had fantastic views. The hotel is an attractive building and the bar and restaurant areas are tastefully decorated. Breakfasts are Continental style.
We were disappointed that residents are not provided with any bar or other beverages service beyond 11pm and as the hotel is in an isolated position, there is nothing else around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley

Address: The Cow and Calf | Hangingstone Road, Ilkley LS29 8BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Ilkley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ilkley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cow and Calf in Ilkley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our 13 bedroom Innkeeper's Lodge continues The Cow and Calf's tradition of welcoming travellers. It's our local charm that attracts historians and ramblers, as well as diners and drinkers from Ilkley and nearby Burley in Wharfedale, Denton and Askwith. We also welcome business and leisure travellers to enjoy some of the best bedrooms and accommodation in Ilkley. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.Book a table online and enjoy a spot by our roaring log-fire. Or make the best of the British summertime by eating alfresco in our pretty beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Ilkley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.