We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martha and Vincent's

Martha and Vincent's
39, The Grove, Ilkley LS29 9NJ, England
01943 602 444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 72 restaurants in Ilkley
Price range: $24 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Didn't ring until 2pm, great to be able to have somewhere that will serve lunch at that time and not look troubled when we were still there at 3.40pm.

Had a really pleasant lunch, with friendly, attentive service, and nice food. You couldn't not like it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    74
    32
    13
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very good little restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Four of us opted for the £10.95 menu which included a glass of house wine and a main course. No complaints whatsoever, the staff were very friendly and the service was efficient. I had the beef shin with glazed carrots and horseradish mash and it was very tasty. The bread platter is a nice touch. All in all good value, good service and good food to boot!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Much improved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have had a poor experience of food in the past but on 26th January had an excellent meal. My scallop starter and rib steak were both excellent and my wife's salmon starter and turbot main course were pronounced delicious. with two glasses of wine each and two bottles of water the bill came to £101 excluding service.
The service led by Diogo was first class. We shall certainly visit more regularly if standards remain at this level.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fantastic food, we had the winter menu which was gorgeous, there was lots to choice from and the service was spot on too!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Three visits later!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Having moved to Ilkley, we have now eaten dinner at Martha and Vincents, Ilkley, with three different sets of friends and to be completely we will never chose to dine there again! we were all disappointed in the food: It is mediocre at best; the side salad for example was clearly a bag of rocket dumped on a plate with hardly a whiff of a dressing! The prices are well up on other similar establishments in that area and when we wrote to make our feelings clear the response clearly implied that they had no interest in customer relations what so ever. they were 'sorry that we had not enjoyed our meal'! apparently the couple who own it run it as a hobby! So it is hardly surprising that they are not really bothered. Who are these people?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martha and Vincent's also viewed

Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Martha and Vincent's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha and Vincent's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.