We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Gate

The Old Gate
1-5 Old Gate, Hebden Bridge, England
01422-84-39-93
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 52 Restaurants in Hebden Bridge
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“gorgeous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

me and my boyfriend went for a romantic meal in the lovely Old Gate in Hebden bridge to start we had the gorgeous chicken livers with cous cous next I had the ham hock in mustard sauce it was beautiful it just fell off the boneto finish i had a very 70s dessert crpe suzzette washed down with a provence wine wonderful

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    48
    15
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Customers make a pub”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have not eaten or drunk at the Old Gate. When I entered I wanted to look at the beer pumps to see what was on offer, since there were several available. In doing so I needed say "Excuse me" to get past two chaps and a dog who were occupying that space at the bar. One of them took exception to this and started a tirade of limited vocabulary, most words beginning with "F". The barmaid approached and mildly reprimanded this oaf, whose name (Paul) she knew. She asked me politely what I would like but he was still swearing so I left.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Tourist17 Buckinghamshire - Excellence in Hebden Bridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A friend in Hebden Bridge recommended this restaurant. The menu looked tempting, but as we only wanted a light lunch we elected to share the seafood platter. The presentation was great, the taste excellent and the portions generous. We ate in the bar area and the service was very attentive.

All round a very positive experience.

Tourist17 Buckinghamshire

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Spoiled For Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

From a bar snack to a blowout, you can eat in almost any style here, and in style too! Offering much more than mere pub grub, this is a kitchen of some competence, easily the best in and around Hebden. The wine list has been expertly chosen, the service is attentive and professional, the pricing represents good value. Add in Illy coffee and some great beers and you are close to perfection.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great new find for me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

A friend waits in this restaurant and she said try it, so thought i'd give it a go - she wasn't working so I could be objective.
On first entering I thought it was just a pub - with a nice layout and lovely beers - but when I said I wanted to eat was directed upstairs with little fuss. I was met by the general manager who seemed to the waiter and the service was excellent from then on. The seating was good, and even though there weren't many people in on a Monday, we were sat so as to feel cosy, yet private.
I had the lamb special - cooked pink and tasty with market vegetables, and i'm quite happy to say that its one of the best meals i've had in ages; the taste was spot on. I followed it with the baked blueberry cheesecake and ice cream which was just the right size.
The price was around £23 all in which in my book was very good value and I'll definitely go again, but with a friend now I like it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Gate also viewed

Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Mytholmroyd, Hebden Bridge
 

Been to The Old Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.