We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic setting, nice food and pleasant atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rim Nam

Rim Nam
Butlers Wharf | New Rd, Hebden Bridge, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 52 Restaurants in Hebden Bridge
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting, nice food and pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Placed right on the canal, this is a lovely little restaurant. We were especially lucky as it was a really sunny and pleasant evening. So we sat outside, overlooking the canal amongst the other customers. We shared a few different starters; the goong tempura and the gadoong mo ob. Both were delicious. The service was fat and the staff very efficient, not over friendly but professional. The bar staff were more so, very smiley and nice! We went inside for our main, which wasn't as nice as the outdoor area. Very large, and although it held character, it seemed it was just too big to fit. Lovely large windows so lots of natural light and a wonderful view.
Would definitely try it again as the menu was fantastic and varied :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    32
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Probably our third or fourth visit and never been disappointed. This time we opted for the meal for two deal. Mixed starters were excellent. Main courses (three of) and rice meant we were not left hungry. Friendly smiling service throughout even if they were more than a little distracted by the local wildfowl making a beeline for the main door and straight into the ladies toilet! Their efforts to remove them provided the high spot of the night. Happy to recommend Rim Nam Thai to anyone.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“THE BEST THAI FOOD AROUND, SERVICE VERY SLOW AT TIMES.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

As I said in my title the best Thai around from north or West Yorkshire. I am a frequent traveller to Thailand and this is by far the best I have found out of many I have tried. The food is so so good and is real Thai. The service is sometimes a little slow you can find yourself dying for a drink. After serving you once they forget to come back to check if you would like another. You also wait a while for service and find yourself waving like mad for service but all in all there is no where better for Thai.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Celebrated my birthday at Rim Nam with family. The food was fantastic and the service even better. Tuesday to Thursday they have a two course option which is very good value. Without doubt he best restaurant in Hebden Bridge!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were on a Narrow Boat weekend break from Sowerby Bridge and moored opposite this restaurant. Myself, my wife and our two boys (11 & 12) came here for dinner. Food was very good and authentic Thai (I work in Thailand), service was excellent and they packed up what we did not eat so we could take back the non spicy food for the dog. Tom Yam seafood soup was excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rim Nam also viewed

Mytholmroyd, Hebden Bridge
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Rim Nam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rim Nam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.