We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Friendly welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hare and Hounds Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hebden Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hare and Hounds Country Inn
Save
You added Hare and Hounds Country Inn to your Saves list
Lane Ends | Wadsworth, Hebden Bridge HX7 8TN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hebden Bridge B&B and Inns
Whitley Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Friendly welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here overnight as we were going to a party nearby. The pub was lovely and relaxing. They had a good selection of real Ales. Although we didn't have an evening meal we were very impressed with the range of vegetarian choices on the menu. The hosts were very helpful and friendly.We had lovely breakfasts . The rooms were very nicely decorated. There were lovely views over the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be nice. The rooms at the back have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    13
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
27
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royston, null, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Booked for a weekend away so we spent two nights with Jenette & Dave as our hosts they were great and made you feel very welcome, with a nice informal relaxed atmosphere also great pub food, the full English Breakfasts definately keep you going all day. The room was compact but well equipped, nice soft soft bed and lovely hot shower, well priced too. We'll definately be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We felt our stay was good value, with comfortable beds, clean rooms and a tasty breakfast. Our hosts were welcoming and down to earth and we enjoyed a bit of banter with them. If you need an early breakfast, or a packed lunch making up, this is no problem - the owners did all they could to make us comfortable.
The pub is a longish, steep walk to the centre of Hebden Bridge. We took a taxi one evening and the cost was £6 out and £5 return - local taxis don't seem to have meters!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

After attending the Cleckheaton folk Festival for 3 days we wanted somewhere out of town. Hebden Bridge is lovely however the Hare and Hounds is up high in the hills so the views were lovely. We had 2 nghts in very comfortable rooms with beautiful thick white towels. The breakfasts were 3 course with alternatives to a full english. We had good beer and a v good chardonnay with our evening meals which were good wholesome pub food and always served with witty banter from the landlord Dave and his wife Jeanette. The walk into Hebden takes about 30mins all down hill and we had a taxi back up as its very steep. Thank you for a lovely stay. We return someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had two night at the Hare & Hounds a few weeks ago.
We chose it to be somewhere where we could stay that was a good pub and with good food too, as a base.
Lovely people and warm welcome. Even the two pigs in the field outside seem friendly!
The room was small but had everything you would need and cozy too. Bathroom clean and spotless towels etc.
The company in the bar and the good beer and food were just what we wanted. There was live folk music on the first night which was wonderful. And despite thinking it might be audible from our room - it wasn't. The noise didn't carry upstairs.
The only thing I would mention as something that needed some attention was the duvet. The cover was clean and crisp, but when it slipped off a little I noticed that the duvet itself was rather worn and threadbare.
The Hare & Hounds is a great base for exploring the area. A family feel where no one stands on ceremony. We needed to leave early and they very kindly stayed up VERY late to make us packed breakfasts to take with us which they left outside our rooms as we slept. Nice of them!
Highly recommended and we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jojobongo, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi Folks

Thanks for your review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the duvet, we have taken note and have now replaced all duvets and pillows. The only way we can improve our service is to take note of all our customer feedback.

Hope to see you again, with thanks Jeanette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed 1 night in April, small room but very warm and clean. Lots of nice touches like toothbrushes and razors . Extremely friendly service by Dave and Jeanette. Good hand pulled beers. Nice cooked English breakfast. Recommended to anyone who doesn't want to be in the town. £80 for B and B for 2 and none of the credit card on arrival type welcome.(cash or card on departure)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jojobongo, Owner at Hare and Hounds Country Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay in Hebden Bridge. Hope to see you again on your next visit.

with thanks
Jeanette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in January 2013. The rooms are compact but very clean & warm. A double wardrobe, dressing tables, 2 bedside cabinets & a TV. The views are amazing, it had just snowed & the scenery was beautiful. The Hare and Hounds is not in the centre of Hebden Bridge but in the old town, you can get a taxi for £4.50 or walk it should take approx. 30mins to walk in (all downhill) longer to walk home as it's uphill but a nice pleasant walk nonetheless! We paid £80 per night, which included breakfast, which was served between 8.30-9.00am, they also offer veggie options. The rooms include ensuite toilet & shower, with towels, toothbrushes, hairdryer & a bic razor - if you forget yours...nice touch! The hosts are very pleasant & advise you on local activities etc. Nothing seems too much trouble. It's a lovely warm traditional pub, Sam Taylors, with a real fire, which is so lovely on a snowy evening. We checked out at our leisure, no pressure to vacate our room which was lovely - we didn't hear any noise from the pub or other rooms! A lovely, quiet place to stay if you don't want to be in the centre. We will stay here again..thank you!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view, all on the same level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hare and Hounds Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Country Inn

Address: Lane Ends | Wadsworth, Hebden Bridge HX7 8TN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Hebden Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hebden Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Country Inn Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hare and Hounds Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.