We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kersal House

Kersal House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hebden Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kersal House
Save
You added Kersal House to your Saves list
Hangingroyd Lane, Hebden Bridge HX7 7DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hebden Bridge B&B and Inns
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our experience of Kersal House was not like that described by other reviewers.

The greeting we received was curt, as the booking procedure had been. We'd hardly got through the front door before being asked exactly what we'd like for breakfast and when. It seemed that we were a great nuisance for requesting breakfast at 8 o'clock as "normally people take it later at weekends". We had family commitments to fulfil, but agreed to 8.15.

The bedroom was just about adequate in size (not spacious) and the furniture tired and mismatched. Everything except the bed linen felt like it needed a good clean. There was a sharp nail projecting dangerously from the dressing table surface which the proprietor had to take a hammer to after failing to get the precariously rigged television to work for us.

The bathroom was small and didn't seem to have been properly cleaned since the previous occupancy (residual hair). The shower itself ran either on the hot side of comfortable or stone cold and the soap rack was rusty and not securely fixed.

On the plus side, the bed was comfortable. By the morning, Ron was making more of an effort and breakfast was good.

It may just have been an off day, but we won't go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent three nights at Kersal House on a choir long weekend singing in Bradford Cathedral. We booked Kersal House on the basis of Trip Advisor recommendations and were certainly not disappointed. The accommodation was outstanding - spacious, clean, quiet and really comfortable cotton bed linen. The full English breakfast prepared by Ron was spectacular. Maggie and Ron were friendly, courteous and interested hosts. Ron even gave us a lift to the station when we left. This was quite the best bed & breakfast accommodation we have experienced. We will certainly try to book with them again when we come back to sing in Bradford Cathedral.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my 2 night stay at Kersal House. Maggie and Ron were so welcoming from the get-go and I appreciated so many personal touches like being offered a plate and cutlery for my takeaway, for example!

It is like staying at their home, not that it was a problem due to the welcoming nature of it's proprietors. The twin room I stayed in was very comfortable, spotlessly clean, with a nice little balcony and mainly contemporary furnishings and decoration.

The breakfasts were a treat - a real feast and prepared/offered as requested.

I look forward to visiting again in the future and bringing friends!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Felt more like staying in a family home than a B&B to be honest. Nice big rooms with good bedding. Really good cooked breakfast. Owners very helpful from booking through to advice on where to go in the town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

A proper B&B with nothing at all to find fault with. As central as it gets to Hebden with free parking outside the house. Clean and tidy. Comfortable bed with linen sheets. We had the room with a little balcony on the rear which is nice in the summer to sit out (a boon for smokers would have thought!) and you can leave the door open during the night if its warm. Free wifi. Decent breakfast with genial and accomodating hosts. At £60 it's great value too...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed there for just one night last night. Friends down to earth hosts who are very accomodating in terms of breakfast time and check out time. We stayed in one of 2 rooms here and stayed in the double room (not the one with the terrace shown on the B&B's website). It was large and spotless with a large private bathroom with bath and shower all self contained with a little hallway. Lots of toiletries in the bathroom and every facility and added extra you could wish for. Breakfast was very relaxed and did not feel at all rushed and was a breakfast fit for champions! I honestly couldn't praise this place highly enough and rather fancied moving in, shame it was only one night and was out at a gig in the evening so didn't get to enjoy the room more. When I am next back over this way I will be booking here without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Fate or Karma brought me to Kersal House this week.
There are somethings in life that are special, and for me ''the special'' was the feeling of calm in Kersal House in Hebden Bridge.
I very much felt at home and slept a relaxed night.
A great breakfast and a heart starter arab coffee got me going that morning and my business trip was enjoyable & successful.
Thanks for your hospitality Ron & Maggie and I hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kersal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kersal House

Address: Hangingroyd Lane, Hebden Bridge HX7 7DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Hebden Bridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hebden Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Kersal House Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kersal House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.