We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful woodland walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hardcastle Crags

Hardcastle Crags
Hollin Hall | Crimsworth Dean, Hebden Bridge, England
01422 844518
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Cultural
Attraction details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful woodland walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We went for an easter trail which lead us on and interesting if muddy trail through the wood there is an few alternatives including a pram friendly track. cafe and Gibson's mill at the give a welcome place to picnic. Or eat your chocolate eggs.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    59
    15
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, W.Yorks, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Granddaughter (2yrs)'s longest walk yet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I took my little granddaughter Holly to Hardcastle Crags for a walk in the woods. Although she is only two years old she was really taken with the woodland environment and, much to my surprise, walked almost all the time we were there. We parked near the entrance and walked to Gibson Mill for a picnic. Having been around the museum area we then followed the stream back to the car park. Lots for both of us to enjoy, Holly especially loved jumping over the little streams that were coursing down the hillside into the larger stream. It was a lovely spot for an outing and we'll be back there soon.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Enjoy the hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I've only visited this attraction once and thought it was a lovely day out. Great scenery, lovely cafe and glorious fresh air. What more could you ask for?

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice walking area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you like exploring the countryside it is a nice place to visit with the dog / kids Weather can be unpredictable though

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely little walks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice walks- pushchair friendly too or off road. Nice cup of tea at Gibson Mill. Its a family staple!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hardcastle Crags also viewed

Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Hardcastle Crags? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hardcastle Crags, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.