We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant

Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant
Huddersfield Rd, Brighouse HD6 1JZ, England
+44 1484 715566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 51 Restaurants in Brighouse
Price range: $37 - $50
Cuisines: English, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: At Prego you will find a great selection of delicious Italian Continental food accompanied by a warm welcome. Whether you're in for a quick lunch, afternoon coffee or a special occasion, you're always welcome at Prego. You can enjoy our Italian Cafe Bar during the day or dine with us in our restaurant in the evening. Our fixed price menu consists of 2 courses at £12.95 From our full a la carte menu. Our blackboard specials are ever evolving and are sure to cater for every palate. Prego - Italian for 'You're Welcome'
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have been here many times for different types of occasions and I can assure you that it's great food and service. Worth a visit without a doubt

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontLodgeHotel, Owner at Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write about your consistently pleasurable dining experiences at Prego.
These are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    57
    30
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An enjoyable evening in good company!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

There was a large group of us eating so we were bound to pose a challenge from the start. Service was friendly but slow, however we did all get served each course at the same time, which was appreciated. Unfortunately, we can make better risotto at home and we're not keen on sticky toffee pudding with chocolate sauce over it! The surroundings are nice and the atmosphere was lively, as always. Just wish the food could be a bit more than average.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontLodgeHotel, Owner at Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello there,
Thank you for your review. Saturday night was extremely busy with many of our customers arriving all at once, which unfortunately caught the kitchen by surprise and did result in some delays in the food service.
We are looking into ways of improving this in the future on busy Saturday nights. We are following up your review of the risotto, due to holiday cover this was not to our normal standard but thank you for highlighting this, we strive to maintain quality and here this has not happened.
We do encourage our customers to please inform us at their time of dining if they are at all dissatisfied, as this will allow us to rectify issues and hopefully improve a customer’s experience. We would have been more than happy to change your sticky toffee pudding had this been brought to our attention at the time.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere, surroundings and our friendly staff and hope you will find your next visit even more pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Got food poisoning what else can i say”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Food was disgusting! I had the salmon and The salad which was stated on the menu was just one leaf! My partners pizza was so thin he could hardly cut it and left most. Was a terrible meal give me pizza hut any day! The garlick bread looked as if it was bread that someone had thrown up on. None of it looked appetising. Ive been suffering since early hours tuesday it is now saturday! Will stay clear and is over priced

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontLodgeHotel, Owner at Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Further to your recent visit to Prego and your subsequent review on trip advisor we are most concerned that you were unwell and we have conducted a full investigation and internal audit.

The fresh salmon that you had was purchased from our nominated supplier (a very well respected local company) and all our internal audits indicate that it was stored in the correct manner and prepared within the correct timescale. It was cooked to order. We are therefore at a loss to understand how it could have been the cause of your illness especially as 3 other portions were served that night and we have received no adverse comments regarding them.

We are an authentic Italian restaurant and the pizzas that we serve are the traditional Neapolitan thin crust variety. These are what we advertise and along with garlic bread are one of our most popular dishes.

Since reading your review we have checked with the organiser of your party and have been informed that all the guests had a very enjoyable night. We must therefore question your motives to post such a defamatory review that is at odds with the vast majority of our feedback and our 5 star kitchen hygiene rating.

We hope that you feel better soon but we are very disappointed that you should blame your illness on us, without a proper investigation and on a public forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GrahamW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I went with my family, 9 of us, for my birthday sunday lunch. It was excellent. The 3 grandchildren were looked after with face painting, dressing up etc. Ideal for a Sunday lunch. The staff were top class. It is a very family orientated restaurant, and would recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontLodgeHotel, Public Relations Manager at Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted that you had a lovely birthday celebration with your family.

We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food, shame about....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

went here for lunch last week, very quiet, but good food and service. smaller portions of pasta and pizza available -very good for the new year! waiter very pleasant and helpful. However ,...the covering on the chairs is appalling - extremely stained and dirty -these need changing asap. I have noticed this before as we go fairly regularly, but as it was quiet,we had a look at chairs on other tables and there wasn't a decent one. What a shame, as i do like the atmosphere and the food here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontLodgeHotel, Owner at Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us. You are quite right the chairs were badly stained. They have been on our to-do list for the New Year as all our seating was required throughout the extremely busy Christmas period. We are very pleased to advise you that 75% of our 180 chairs have now been recovered in a lovely faux leather material with the rest due for completion next week.
Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and we hope you will come back to visit us and enjoy our newly upholstered chairs.

Best wishes
Lidia Shinwell
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Brighouse, West Yorkshire
 
Brighouse, West Yorkshire
Brighouse, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.