We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better restaurants in brighouse!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant

Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant
Huddersfield Rd, Brighouse HD6 1JZ, England
+44 1484 715566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 51 Restaurants in Brighouse
Price range: $37 - $50
Cuisines: English, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: At Prego you will find a great selection of delicious Italian Continental food accompanied by a warm welcome. Whether you're in for a quick lunch, afternoon coffee or a special occasion, you're always welcome at Prego. You can enjoy our Italian Cafe Bar during the day or dine with us in our restaurant in the evening. Our fixed price menu consists of 2 courses at £12.95 From our full a la carte menu. Our blackboard specials are ever evolving and are sure to cater for every palate. Prego - Italian for 'You're Welcome'
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better restaurants in brighouse!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our party were staying in the attached hotel so we decided out of convenience we would dine here against my better judgement after reading previous reviews. The restaurant was badly understaffed and the customer really suffered. It took a extremely long time to order any drinks, we had to literally grab a waiter to take our order. The same scenario with the food order. The food when it arrived was ok. Very average. Perhaps not the best restaurant in brighouse. Felt very sorry for the staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontLodgeHotel, Owner at Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and in a way you are very right. Four of our valued part-time staff have recently moved on (to University etc) and while we have recruited new members to our team, we have been training them over the last few weeks. We are currently back up to speed but our brilliant team have had their work cut out for them!
I realise this is not your issue as a customer and your experience should not suffer. I am very sorry your evening was not the experience it should have been.
I also note that you've stayed in the hotel and enjoyed it - thank you for your review on the hotel's page.

Kind Regards
Lidia Shinwell
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    57
    30
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Slow service - wrong food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I "popped" in to Prego for lunch last Saturday,
There were 6 people in the place - 4 already eating.
we ordered a ham/cheese/pickle bagette (plus fries), plus a bacon/brie/cranberry.

After over 30 minutes, I asked a waitress to chase the food, she was also surprised at the wait for "2 sandwiches". They arrived immediately after (were they just sat waiting I wonder).
I called the waitress back, because both the pickle and the cranberry were missing.
I mean how can you take 40 minutes to get 2 basic sandwiches wrong!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good bar area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Was able to use bar area to work before embarking on a journey back South. Free Wifi which really as I had some job applications to send on the day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another great family meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Today is my daughter's first birthday. We booked into Prego at 5pm. What great service. All the staff are v child friendly. Said to waiter that only want tiny portion for daughter and he was great and said was ok for her to share with her 4 year old brother. The portion was more than big enough for the 2 of them. Hubby and I enjoyed are food too. Fab meal, 4 happy people with full tums!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great place to go as a couple or with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed everything from the drink in the bar then food and then more drinks in the bar.
We asked for them to take time between courses which they gladly did.
We were very happy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Brighouse, West Yorkshire
 
Brighouse, West Yorkshire
Brighouse, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prego Italian Cafe Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.