We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brook's

Brook's
6-8 Bradford Road, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 1RW, England
(01484) 715284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Brighouse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“excellent food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

once again Brook's has not let us down again for a special birthday meal. My husband, son and myself went at the end of August and had a terrific meal. There was a good range of champagne to select from before we sat down and the menu whilst not vastly different from our visit 6 months ago had a good range of dishes to choose from.
All the choices we made were good and the quality of the food was outstanding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    31
    10
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Went with friends on Thursday, 22 August. Our first visit to Brook's as we live in Sheffield so we were in unfamiliar territory, however, our friends found Brook's a while ago whilst visiting the area and have been on more than one occasion (they are from Essex). Excellent service - friendly and welcoming, fantastic food and presentation. I have already started recommending Brook's to my work colleagues in case they are in the area. Well worth a visit and we hope to return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“A gem in the centre of Brighouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visited Brook's on the invitation of our neighbour, who had eaten there on several occasions. There were 5 of us in our party. We were greeted by the restaurant owner as we arrived and were served drinks while we viewed the menu. At the time of our visit, the restaurant was running a 'French' theme week and this was reflected in the menu. My wife and I had a starter and main course, while our friends went for main and sweet. When our first course was ready we were invited into the dining room, where service was prompt and efficient. All the food served was very good and enjoyed by us all. Brook's is a unique little restaurant with lots of 'character'. A different experience for us - which we really enjoyed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spam Fritters to die for....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Always love a visit to Brooks, especially enjoy the Spam fritter starter (wish I could have it for main course too!); the service is always first class, the atmosphere is relaxed and the food is always excellent. Our "go to" place for something special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A true culinary gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My favourite restaurant! Super food, great atmosphere and friendly staff. An absolute must, if you fancy a special treat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brook's also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Brighouse, Huddersfield
 
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Brook's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.